Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Onondaga Senior High School

Public | 7-12 | 439 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 21, 2011

I graduated from OCS in 2010. This school is amazing. Very few people in this world can say that their advisor truly cared about his or herself as a person, not only to graduate, but to succeed in life as a contributing member of society. I had Mrs. Kurucz as my advisor and she is but one of the amazing staff members at this school. The only downside of OCS that I can remember is that before, say, junior year, there is a lot of teasing that goes on. But that happens in most schools. The difference with OCS is that during junior year, everyone stops listening to the teasing and the little side comments, and literally about 95% of the class are friends. The other 5% tends to be the kids that continue to attempt to tease the other students and, most of the time, they don't end up graduating. I love Onondaga Central as a school. It gave me an amazing childhood, and if you are worried about the teasing that ensues, I can assure you that the education, the friendships, and the experiences will outway the teasing. I know because I was teased until 11th grade and I still love the school and wouldn't change anything that happened in my time there.


Posted January 14, 2011

I went to school here from 7-12 and graduated in 1959 . I was the only foreign born Jewish student and enjoyed my stay here ! My Favorit, best teach was Mr. Mecalf . What he taught me was, teaching has nothing to do with the amount of money the school district needs or has. He was the best teacher I have ever had. I graduated from Syracuse Univercity in 1964, and prior went to Mohawk tech, in Utica for 2 yrs. to get a Associate degree. I even went to Stanford U. for my Master's degree in 1973 . Now that I will be 71 yrs. young in Northern California, I will never forget or have warm memories of his class and his create ways to present his learning materials ! I will never forget my guidance teacher adviser told me I better take a trade school class, since you will never get into college !


Posted March 14, 2010

I attended Onondaga and the six years I spent there (7-12 grades) were fantastic. I was in the honors and AP classes offered, and the teachers were great and are willing to help you with whatever you need help on. Theres an activity period after school/before practices that allows students to get extra help or work on their homework during athletic studyhall. The extra curricular activities are great too. I was involved in three sports and all of my coaches were excellent. I wish I could keep going to OCS...forever. I loved it that much. I would definitely send my kids there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2010

I go to the highschool as a student and I truthfully really don't like it here. I play for the football team and I think the school has great athletics but the education is rediculous the teachers don't care about the students at all. DO NOT go to this school. Go to Lafayette or tully they are way better educated
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2009

It is just what a high school should be in an amazing location with amazing educators and after school programs for artists and actors music lovers and on and on and state Champion sport teams.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

This is school is alright, academics are exceptional, athletics could be better, and extracurricular activities are alright. It's pretty small, but that gives you a chance to connect more with teachers and seek help if needed, there are many AP and Honors classes. The school is not dangerous, it's about as dangerous as a new born kitten.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 6, 2009

I thought this school was excellent. Children are taught not to bully and the principal is excellent. Kids are in line ! I highly recommend this school. Good academics and athletics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

Dangerous school, too small to have good academics, spends too much on athletics and nothing on education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2007

Teachers are very involved with the students before and after school. Classes are small and teachers & administrators are accessable.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students46%
Female57%
Male36%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population50%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant46%

Math

All Students35%
Female40%
Male30%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged14%
Not economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population37%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students31%
Female39%
Male24%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White31%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population34%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant31%

Math

All Students23%
Female25%
Male21%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White27%
Economically disadvantaged9%
Not economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population26%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant23%

Science

All Students79%
Female87%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
68%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
77%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
96%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
95%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
96%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
86%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
59%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

31 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students75%
Female73%
Male77%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Non-migrant75%

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Earth Science

All Students96%
Female96%
Male96%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%

English

All Students95%
Female98%
Male93%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%

Geometry

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%

Global History and Geography

All Students88%
Female91%
Male86%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant88%

Integrated Algebra

All Students91%
Female93%
Male89%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities40%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant91%

Living Environment

All Students81%
Female75%
Male89%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities70%
General population84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students96%
Female98%
Male93%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities70%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 85% 48%
Black 2 8% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 3% 1%
Hispanic 1 3% 23%
Two or more races 2 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 0% 9%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 20%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 134%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 15%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 20%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4479 S Onondaga Rd
Nedrow, NY 13120
Phone: (315) 552-5020

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Clary Middle School
Syracuse, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT