Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Perry Junior High School

Public | 7-9 | 665 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Posted May 8, 2014

I have gone to this school for my entire childhood and have enjoyed this experience tremendously, yes there are 'clicks' and some bullies but that is the human nature to have more dominate people and less dominate people, as an outcast students were rough on me and my friends in only elimentary school. In a small town of about twenty thousand everyone in the school district knows eachother, I have met my curtent best friend that I have known since the third grade. acedemic wise the school is phenominal with many clubs and excellerated classes. The students are incredibly welcoming to new students no matter what time of the year it is, teachers get on a personal level with you to make classes confortable and couselors guide and help new students thrive and become friends with choice picked groups. I highly recomend Perry Jr. High without a doubt!


Posted April 23, 2013

Horrible horrible faculty! I went to Perry Junior High and I still have traumatizing memories from that school but not because of the students (kids will be judgmental and very mean yes but they're kids) but the worse memories came from the faculty. Based on a "tip" from a bully, the counselors questioned me and MY FRIENDS whether I wore underwear or not! I had never gone to school not wearing underwear but that's none of their business! That is a very personal matter and should be dealt with discretely! When my brother went to school there, they told my mother that even though he got perfect grades and regular classes weren't challenging him enough, he shouldn't be in gifted classes cause he "looked" different and he wouldn't "fit in." He ended up dropping out of school because teachers dismissed him so often (he ended up getting a perfect score on his GED years after high school, first try, no GED classes). Horrible school. DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILDREN! I'm studying to become a teacher and based on what I know now, I'm surprised these teachers passed their classes!


Posted June 26, 2011

New Hartford Schools are not good schools at all. I wen to New Hartford and all the kids would do is judge you for what you were and what you look like. there are always fights happening and the school doesn't do anything to stop them. In my opinion you'd be better off moving and going to a different school because this is a big mistake.


Posted May 7, 2008

This school is excellent in terms of academics and sports. The teachers have a failure is not an option policy. This school is very regulated and students are generally well-behaved. The only problem I have is that this is a very wealthy school . Students can be very insensitive to money issues.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2004

I went to Perry Junior High. The teachers are commited to the students and when midterms came I was ready for them.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 15, 2004

The teachers are willing to stay and work with the students.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

139 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

127 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 88% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 5% 9%
Black 2 3% 19%
Hispanic 1 2% 23%
Two or more races 2 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 28%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 21%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. KEITH LEVATINO

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9499 Weston Rd
New Hartford, NY 13413
Phone: (315) 738-9300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Tilton School
Utica, NY



Parkway Middle School
Whitesboro, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT