Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Darrow School

Private | 9-12 | 100 students

College Preparatory Coed Boarding & Day School
 
 

 
 

Living in New Lebanon

Situated in a rural neighborhood. The median home value is $191,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $834.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 19, 2014

I graduated from Darrow in the 70s, and our son graduated in 2011. The school boasts the best of many worlds: rigorous academics taught in a way that works for each student; a supportive community that gives kids the room to grow; lots of adults who mentor each student and encourage their exploration of topics that interest them. When you go to Darrow, it changes you in a way that stays with you for life. It is located on a gorgeous campus, infused with history and natural beauty. Kids that go to Darrow are the lucky ones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2014

Wonderful environment for learning. The campus is beautiful and the students are respectful and kind to each other. The faculty is extremely caring and works hard to help students succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2014

a prison in principle. The school is going through a lot of change at the moment, but, it's a giant waste of money and a terrible place where every single kid at the school hates it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 16, 2013

I was a student at Darrow 20 plus years ago. As a very young and shy girl, private school seemed incredibly intimidating. What I discovered in myself in those 4 years has been invaluable for the rest of my life. Darrow is an amazing place that nutures young people and allows each student to be who they truly are. I was shocked to see a 2 star rating for my beloved school on this website which has prompted me to post this. Looking through the comments I cannot appreciate where this "average" rating comes from.. Certainly I can tell you for anyone who has a child that loves to learn, loves the outdoors snd may need a little boost to come out of their shell, Darrow was and I believe still is a wonderful school!


Posted July 2, 2013

A great school that gave me so many opportunities to discover myself. I look back at the four years I spent there and wish I could go back!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 1, 2010

Last year our son who previously showed intellectual curiosity and a love for learning shut down in the public school setting. Darrow has been the lifesaver for our son. He is excited about learning again. In addition to excellent academics the community promotes respect in a nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2009

Darrow is a place where every kid can shine!! My son has truly discovered his best self at this extraordinary school. The teachers help students to become motivated learners, they engage the students in and out of the class, and just care about each one so that he/she feels valued. I know that he will graduate in a few years with a curiosity about the world that will serve him for the rest of his life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2008

As a parent of a graduate of Darrow School, I would like to commend the teachers, especially those in the the English and History departments, for their excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

The Darrow School's principled approach to learning and living in a caring community has had an enormous impact on our son. He has grown and developed into a person who now has a clear idea of who he is, what he values and where he wants to go. It is hard for us to ask for more than that. Darrow's small size and energetic, supportive staff and teachers- many of whom also serve as dorm parents, tutors and advisors- promotes and encourages a way of life where self-respect, respect for others and personal responsibility are the rules and not the exceptions. It is a community where doing one s best and playing by the rules trumps your won/lost record and trash talk. Darrow has been a life changing experience for our son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2007

My daughter has been at Darrow for two short months, and already I am completely impressed with the school and grateful for its impact on her life, both academically and personally. Our daughter began to thrive immediately at Darrow, where opportunity has been the hallmark of her experience. Her coursework is rigorous and challenging. Yet, guided and encouraged by her student advisor and academic tutor, she made high honors in her first semester. She has been happily engaged from morning to night in theatre, music, sports, academic projects and social activities. Darrow has offered the right environment for our daughter to step forward as a leader. . The combination of nurturance and challenge at Darrow has been ideal for her growth and happiness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2007

My son was failing in school and hated all his teachers until he went to Darrow. In the small challenging classes he blossomed, doing well and became president of his class. He loved the bright young teachers. I found Darrow to be a caring, supportive and safe environment for my son. The structure and discipline helped him to succeed. I did not feel that parent involvement was encouraged. I was always welcomed on campus and ate many meals there with my son. I also took him off campus for visits on a regular basis. The extra curricular activities and sports engaged him and were of excellent quality. I owe Darrow a debt of gratitute for giving my son a chance to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2007

The educational consultant who told us about Darrow called it that 'strange little school,' which should have been a warning to us. Tiny, isolated Darrow doesn't know what it wants to be: a nurturing community (which is what we thought we were getting), a second-chance school for kids with learning or substance abuse or emotional difficulties, an international school; or maybe they don't care: They'll basically take any students they can get and toss them out if they can't keep up or if they deviate from the many rules the administration imposes to try to keep control. Many of the teachers are creative and dedicated, but as is common at private schools, most of them are inexperienced and don't stay very long. The administration is arrogant and rigid, though capable of turning on the charm for prospective families. Parent involvement is encouraged only if it entails recruiting and/or fund-raising.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2007

As my son approaches the end of his career at Darrow School, I can say without a doubt that it has changed his life. He entered Darrow hating school, disliking his teachers and hiding behind his learning disability. He is about to move on to his next school confident, in love with learning and fully aware of how to take responsibility for his own learning issues. They certainly never coddled him, and he loves them for that. He had to fight to graduate. He is now a tough, disciplined, driven young man, but also kind and gentle and full of the humanity shown to him there. Darrow and the staff and faculty will always be a part of him. As parents we felt we had partners. His adviser checked in with us more than we called him. The Shaker setting, though challenging at times, was inspirational.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2006

This school does have many good qualities. However, I also have to agree the school does not handle the needs of students with learning diabilities well. Most of the teachers are wonderful and go beyond what is required and expected of them. The school did not live up to its promises.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2006

Darrow is very proactive in their approach to learning. Their attention to each child is phenomenal. The staff is dedicated, although many are young. The campus is beautiful, but remote. Parents are active participants in their child's education. Lots of sports and community service.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2004

Darrow has many fine qualities but giving students a second chance is not one of them. They are also unable to deal with children with any special learning needs. They say they provide support but wait until a child fails to put it in operation. I was disappointed in learning that what I thought would be a supportive, individualized environment for my son put all of the responsibilities for accessing information and asking for help on the child. Where are the educators that are suppose to understand teenagers and help them deal with stress and transitions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

The combination of outstanding faculty, exciting and challenging curriculum, private tutoring, fair discipline, and mutual respect between students and faculty has made Darrow a life-changing experience for my child. 'I love school' was never in my child's vocabulary prior to Darrow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

Small class size and individualized attention make this school special, as does the strong hands-on learning/service learning approach. This school has a particularly strong arts program (they just built a new art building last year). Darrow also has a very strong science program. They process their own waste water on campus via The Living Machine. Students, alongside faculty, run the machine and give tours to visitors. Darrow is the only high school in the country to be processing its own waste water. The faculty are warm and embracing and clearly dedicated to the students. Students are empowered to create their own extra-curricular programs with full support of faculty.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 52%
Asian 20% N/A
Black 9% 21%
Two or more races 7% N/A
Hispanic 4% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2013)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Individuali College Counseling
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:45 am
School end time
  • 3:35 am
School Leader's name
  • Nancy Wolf
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Some boarding, some day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • ABS
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (518) 794-7065

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Hybrid
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • STEM
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • French
  • Spanish
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Carpentry

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Individuali College Counseling
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Lacrosse
  • Mixed Martial Arts & Electives
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Ultimate Frisbee
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Mixed Martial Arts & Electives
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Ultimate Frisbee

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Lesbian, gay, transgender club
  • Wide range of ativities
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
More from this school
  • Darrow School provides an ideal environment in which students learn from others in a collaborative atmosphere, develop leadership skills, and cultivate ambitions to pursue.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Individuali College Counseling
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

110 Darrow Rd
New Lebanon, NY 12125
Website: Click here
Phone: (518) 794-6000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT