Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Columbus Elementary School 5

Posted March 15, 2014
- a parent
This is an excellent school. My son is attending Kindergarten his math, reading and social skills have improved drastically. He s reading at 1st grade level. His teacher is constantly encouraging him to do better. Sometimes I get surprise me when I see what he gets for homework. The principal is constantly getting involve, she knows everything that goes on in my son s class.

Columbus Elementary School 1

Posted October 13, 2013
- a parent
This school is horrible overcrowded by one race & forced to base were i can send my child by a lotto system, classes overcrowded total disgrace wake up acting superindendant ! pricipal caters to one race only to !


Columbus Elementary School 5

Posted September 16, 2010
- a parent
Columbus Elementary is a school which exemplifies the very best of what makes America great. It is a place where not only a child's intellectual curiosity is stimulated but where their characters are nurtured and their hearts protected. What Dr. Joseph and his staff continue to do year after year is nothing short of fantastiglorious!!. For a student body which is predominantly English language learners, they continue to exceed expectations when it comes to both the verbal and math state exams. For this last round of testing, New York raised the bar on grading the exams and even with this higher expectation, the school was a shining star. Kudos to a wonderful academic environment and to the principal, Dr, Joseph the assistant principal Ms. Nunez and all of the wonderful teachers and staff that , year after year, continue make this place a true bastion of academic and character building achievement!

Columbus Elementary School 1

Posted December 07, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Columbus Elementary School 1

Posted May 15, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Columbus Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 24, 2009
- a parent
The staff is wonderful however, it seems to have a select group that is favored over the others. I wasn't impressed with the Terc math program nor its facilitator.

Columbus Elementary School 5

Posted November 20, 2008
- a parent
This school has CILA and Bilingual classes. It has a gifted program and ESL. They have more technology than other schools in New Rochelle, like a SmartBoard in every class and in the cafeteria. The older students work with architects and designers to have EXPO. And they have a Literacy Fair by the younger students. They have the highest math scores in the district and the students do very well when they go on to middle school and the high school.

Columbus Elementary School 1

Posted September 19, 2008
- a parent
This school is one of the poorest schools in New Rochelle. The District is well aware of this matter and yes they are very racist. After they fill their 'quotas' they over pack this small school and offer minimal services compared to the other elementary schools. I am not in any way putting down the staff because they do try with what they have but let's face reality the Board of Ed is made of arrogant 'white collar' people. I am not the first to say this and notice this. So if you want your child being in a class thats not even an ESL or CILA class but the teacher still has to waste her time by explaining things twice (in English and Spanish) then this school might be for your child.


Columbus Elementary School 5

Posted July 15, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Columbus Elementary School 5

Posted June 28, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Columbus Elementary School
275 Washington Ave, New Rochelle, NY  10801
(914) 576-4401
Last modified Columbus Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Columbus Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews.