Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 34 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


37 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


New Rochelle High School 4

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
A great big shout out to Mr. Kenny-he is the head of the guidance department. He is really exceptional! He informs all families of the many enriching opportunities offered to our children throughout the year! He answers all questions! He is efficient!! I know that there is a person in this large school who is always there to answer my questions and direct our family!

New Rochelle High School 2

Posted February 28, 2014
- a student
New Rochelle Highschool is a joke. There is a clear segregation between the kids who do well and the kids who might not be living up to expectations. The's kids shouldn't be separated. Not to mention that these kids who are doing better then most are treated with the utmost care, while the others, not so much. The security guards in the school are highly disrespectful and do not, in anyway, model the responsibility that she students should have when they grow up. The general feeling about this school is that it is all for show, and that the kids are not individually focused on. Rather then caring more about ratings and look, look into focusing in educating our future generation so that they may lead us into the future, rather then holding them back.


New Rochelle High School 3

Posted September 28, 2013
- a parent
The school should listen more to the needs of the students that are there to learn and care for their future even, if they come from the South part of New Rochelle. The guidance counselor should do one on one meeting with the students and discuss at large their aspirations, their dreams, their skills, their strongest and guide them to take the appropriate classes. I do not understand why some students are told to take AP Bio before AP Chem and others just the reverse. If someone takes AP Chem before AP Bio is going to benefit from it. Why are the students mislead? Is the role of the school just to fill out classes? What about the students? When the school offers 7:22 AM classes, then more than one nurse should be on the premises. The nurses also MUST answer to an emergency call in a timely manner, not after it might be to late. Time is important when you have a student fighting to catch his/her breath and the nurse arrives after 15 minutes.The nurses should be there for the students. They should realize that not all the students want to cut classes. Some really are sick when they come to their office. Some kindness, and genuine care would very appreciated.

New Rochelle High School 5

Posted November 29, 2012
- a student
New Rochelle High School is an amazing environment. There are various actives that students can get involved in, that range from in school activities to out of school. The population may be large but overall, the school and staff do a wonderful job maintaining, and helping all students. I had the great pleasure of getting to know several teachers, as well as participating in dozens of extra-circulars. Above all, the teachers and staff prepared me for college, by means of class time, revising essays, or help courses for the SAT's. One of the fantastic things I found was, they treated you as if you were already an adult, in some respects; if you asked for help, they would help you, but they would not directly help without interjection first. They allowed you to decide whether you wanted to pass or not. If a student wants to fail, they will fail regardless of the institution, however, if you want them to succeed, then NRHS is the place to enroll.

New Rochelle High School 3

Posted September 17, 2010
- a parent
New Rochele HS is a huge school; the largest in Westchester Co. It has a wealth of opportunity, providing many extracurricula activities for all students who are interested. If, however, your child falls into the middle level of student (as most do) they will get lost and your job as a parent will be more difficult. You MUST, in this case, be overly proactive in tracking your child's involvement and success. You must set clear goals with teachers and make them follow through with what was agreed upon. The teachers will give the info. but if your child is not an advocate for themselves, your job as a parent is to make them be if they are going to be a student at NRHS. Overall, it is TOO big of a school, but does prepare for college.


New Rochelle High School 5

Posted January 14, 2010
- a student
Wonderful resources, teachers who love their jobs and their students, tons of ethnic AND socioeconomic diversity. Absolutely no need to fear the large student body; NRHS splits up students into smaller learning communities... As a senior, I've found that I've had an experience similar to the private school environment (smaller classes, lots of individual attention, etc.) without the limits of the small, mostly upper-class/white private schools that also occupy the New Rochelle area. NRHS allows students to understand the dynamics of the real world and the global community, which is diverse and requires insight from every perspective.

New Rochelle High School 4

Posted September 20, 2009
- a student
NRHS is an awesome school! It has diversity, many advanced classes, and great teachers and students!

New Rochelle High School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
great quality education and atmosphere for learning in one of the most diverse public high schools in the country


New Rochelle High School 2

Posted April 15, 2009
- a student
This is one of those schools that is just too big! In all of my classes except for one(which is Ancient Greek)we have around 30 kids and 3/4 of those kids goof off during class so they can't learn. The school is a 'Football' school, and if you're not a football player good luck getting any money towards gear. Since I've been going here half the way through freshman year( moved from out of state.) My experience here has been disappointing at best. The one of the few upsides to the school is its 'new wing' which has some very good rooms for musical and fine arts, The orchestra room is top-notch, the instruments are not. And the 7 Class schedules are just a joke, 47 minute classes? you get in and the first 15 minutes are gone, therefore you can barely do anything unless you have a 2 block class.

New Rochelle High School 5

Posted January 23, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

New Rochelle High School
265 Clove Rd, New Rochelle, NY  10801
(914) 576-4502
Last modified New Rochelle High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
New Rochelle High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. Top