Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
New Rochelle, NY
Students enrolled: 986
 

5 stars
Based on 40 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

36 reviews of this school


William B Ward Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2013
- a parent
Ward is the largest of all the elementary schools in Westchester. There is just about 1000 students and even so everything runs smoothly. Parking is not the easiest but often timing is everything. The principle Mr. Miele is in his 4th year and seems to be running a tight ship. He is clearly visible every morning and afternoon when the children arrive and leave making it obvious that he is easily approachable for both the students and parents. The parents seem actively involved and constantly helping to improve the school in one way or another. I can honestly say that I have been very happy with the quality of teachers and their abilities to deal with not only the new Core but with the new security measures and risk that now comes with being in a school (words I never thought I would have to say). The school has a new security system and they have been practicing all the drills and it is clear that the safety of our children is of the up most concern.

William B Ward Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2013
- a parent
Although Ward is a big school, as a parent and student you feel like part of a small, well connected community. From the principal, to the teachers, to the staff, everyone makes you feel welcomed and important. The teachers are excellent and the school is a microcosm of our diverse population and cultures. I'm proud to be a Ward parent.


William B Ward Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2013
- a parent
Great teachers, the principal is always there for you, the bilingual program rocks! Yes, it is a large school, but it really feels smaller the way each set of grades is in different parts of the school and because of how everyone in the staff gets to know you pretty fast.

William B Ward Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2013
- a parent
Being that it is the largest Elementary school in Westchester, it is run so smoothly, efficiently & doesn't even feel like a big school!! My kids love it here!! Every teacher we have had is so caring, loving, kind, responsible, organized, smart, & patient!! The school really makes you feel at home! The staff is also so welcoming! I feel like my kids are getting a great education here I am very happy to be at Ward School!!!

William B Ward Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2013
- a parent
I am amazed with the special needs programs that Ward offers to children with special needs. They have a pleasant staff and my child has accomplished more in a month then in a year at a different school. I feel blessed to have the opportunity to have my child in this school.


William B Ward Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2013
- a parent
This school is top rate. With a community school feel and a top rated education that is strenuous and challenging. The teachers are top notch.

William B Ward Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2013
- a parent
We transferred our two daughters from private school because of the well-known superb teachers and differentiated curriculum. We have never regretted this decision. To our delight, we were met by a very active and engaged Administrative staff and a warm and welcoming community of parents.

William B Ward Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2013
- a parent
Beautiful grounds, very diverse, active pta. Many after school activities, even though it is large the staff seems to know the children by name.


William B Ward Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2013
- a parent
I have researched all of the elementary schools in New Rochelle and found that Ward has the most to offer so we moved in that area. They have programs for all types of students, a phenomenal reading department and a dual language program that if your child doesn't get into, they will still be learning a foreign language in the FLES program. AMAZING SCHOOL!

William B Ward Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2013
- a parent
Ward School is a fantastic school with superior teachers & staff. Mr Miele is an excellent principal & has done wonderful things for the school. Parents are constantly encouraged to get involved. There is an overwhelming level of support given by the parents. I am proud to be a parent of students at Ward School.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

William B Ward Elementary School
311 Broadfield Road, New Rochelle, NY  10804
(914) 576-4450
Last modified William B Ward Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
William B Ward Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. Top