Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
41 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 45 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


William B Ward Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
I've only had one teacher so far, with the caption of the specials, however that teacher is Mrs Weinberg. This woman should be canonized. She individualizes each child's reading and math levels and helps to push them to their limits. She gives constant feedback and makes the children want to learn. There is no overload of homework, but the expectations are high. This classroom is the perfect blend and should be emulated by all.

William B Ward Elementary School 5

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
I'm a new parent at Ward this year. We transferred from private school in Scarsdale and needless to say I was terrified of the initial transition. Mr Miele is amazing. He met with myself and my family in the summer to see the school. He is personable and listened to my concerns. Really listened! In September, my daughter was placed in Mrs Weinberg's class. Mrs Weinberg is quite frankly a legend in New Rochelle...and she deserves every complement and accolade. Besides helping children academically, Mrs Weinberg truly "loves" her job and the children know it. My daughter loves going to school again and says she wants to be in school on her days off. She is reading book after book , whereas her passion for reading was dampened last year. I owe a tremendous thank you to Mr Miele, Ms Peluso, Mrs Weinberg, and the rest of the staff at Ward. My daughter even begs to take the bus in the morning. She loves her monitor, Lauren and driver, Joe. Could I have asked (prayed) for better?


William B Ward Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2013
- a parent
Ward is the largest of all the elementary schools in Westchester. There is just about 1000 students and even so everything runs smoothly. Parking is not the easiest but often timing is everything. The principle Mr. Miele is in his 4th year and seems to be running a tight ship. He is clearly visible every morning and afternoon when the children arrive and leave making it obvious that he is easily approachable for both the students and parents. The parents seem actively involved and constantly helping to improve the school in one way or another. I can honestly say that I have been very happy with the quality of teachers and their abilities to deal with not only the new Core but with the new security measures and risk that now comes with being in a school (words I never thought I would have to say). The school has a new security system and they have been practicing all the drills and it is clear that the safety of our children is of the up most concern.

William B Ward Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2013
- a parent
Although Ward is a big school, as a parent and student you feel like part of a small, well connected community. From the principal, to the teachers, to the staff, everyone makes you feel welcomed and important. The teachers are excellent and the school is a microcosm of our diverse population and cultures. I'm proud to be a Ward parent.

William B Ward Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2013
- a parent
Great teachers, the principal is always there for you, the bilingual program rocks! Yes, it is a large school, but it really feels smaller the way each set of grades is in different parts of the school and because of how everyone in the staff gets to know you pretty fast.


William B Ward Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2013
- a parent
Being that it is the largest Elementary school in Westchester, it is run so smoothly, efficiently & doesn't even feel like a big school!! My kids love it here!! Every teacher we have had is so caring, loving, kind, responsible, organized, smart, & patient!! The school really makes you feel at home! The staff is also so welcoming! I feel like my kids are getting a great education here I am very happy to be at Ward School!!!

William B Ward Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2013
- a parent
I am amazed with the special needs programs that Ward offers to children with special needs. They have a pleasant staff and my child has accomplished more in a month then in a year at a different school. I feel blessed to have the opportunity to have my child in this school.

William B Ward Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2013
- a parent
This school is top rate. With a community school feel and a top rated education that is strenuous and challenging. The teachers are top notch.


William B Ward Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2013
- a parent
We transferred our two daughters from private school because of the well-known superb teachers and differentiated curriculum. We have never regretted this decision. To our delight, we were met by a very active and engaged Administrative staff and a warm and welcoming community of parents.

William B Ward Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2013
- a parent
Beautiful grounds, very diverse, active pta. Many after school activities, even though it is large the staff seems to know the children by name.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

William B Ward Elementary School
311 Broadfield Road, New Rochelle, NY  10804
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. (914) 576-4450
Last modified William B Ward Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top