Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Private
New Rochelle, NY
Students enrolled: 195

4 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Iona Grammar School 1

Posted November 18, 2014
- a community member
This school is a horrible learning environment for your child. I wish I could put 0 stars because that's what it deserves. It has horrible campus and faculty who are more concerned about the paychecks and big egos. This school is not also good for people who need extra help, paid yoU thing you can see a teacher after class you wrong, teachers depart at 3:00 pm. Faculty could not be more rude to students here. What is weird about this school is most time there are child bullies at this school there are teacher bullies who make fun of and humiliate your child in front of other student. The faculty are always talking about students in negative ways behind their back. Also if your are late to class you will wait in the hallways to class is over you are not allowed to come in. At the school teachers have a way of crushing self confidence and creativity. I would certainly not recommend this school to anyone, nobody should be put through such pain. Some kids don't want to go to school because they are scared.

Iona Grammar School 1

Posted September 14, 2014
- a parent
Ditto review of April. As one parent observed last year the kindergarten staff are wonderful. However, afterwards, the staff are more interested in their egos and paycheck than in your child. The textbooks are mediocre.. Not worth ANY tuition! Parents have been pulling out their children.


Iona Grammar School 5

Posted June 10, 2013
- a parent
Iona Grammar is the only all boys school in Westchester County. For the 2013-2014 school year, Iona Grammar s name becomes Iona Prep. Sending our son to this school gives us peace of mind knowing he is in a safe, loving environment starting in kindergarten. Enrichment programs are available at all grade levels, there are many sports teams, and the afterschool program was a deciding factor when choosing this school. During second grade, the boys prepare for the Sacrament of Reconciliation and First Communion. Teachers are available for parent/teacher conferences to discuss your son s progress throughout the year. I highly recommend this school.

Iona Grammar School 4

Posted February 26, 2013
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. The early grade teachers, especially, kindergarten are wonderful. While it is true that if your child needs special help, the school may not be able to offer it. However, the school will work with you in getting your child help. Furthermore, the school will get even better with the merger of Iona Prep and IGS. The Prep is listening to the parents' concerns and is already taking measures to address them.

Iona Grammar School 5

Posted February 25, 2013
- a parent
As a parent at the school and reading this story, which of course is fabricated by someone who does not attend our school and is looking to make absurd comments, I find this story both appalling and absurd. # 1, Please get your facts straight, our gym teacher has no children at the school and has no children. # 2. If you want to say something, please be truthful in what you say. Iona Grammar is a great school and if a parent had an issue as such, we have fantastic parent groups that would have assisted. So either this is an unhappy parent looking to say something negative or someone who is no longer at IGS and is just plain bitter. Either way, this story is just not true............


Iona Grammar School 5

Posted November 15, 2012
- a parent
I have been EXTREMELY impressed with the high level of qualifications, commitment, consistency, and accomplishments of our new, full-time headmaster. Along with our existing, dedicated teachers, the administration is successfully navigating our school through tough economic times, as well as technological, cultural and educational changes. The curriculums are creative and challenging, fostering the concept of "learning by doing". Teachers are passionate about their individual subjects but are working in concert with one another so that the students see the connections between disciplines. My family feels VERY welcome and happy here, despite not even being Catholic. We think Iona Grammar is an excellent value, preparing our son for the future in every way. We sincerely feel very fortunate to be part of the IGS community.

Iona Grammar School 1

Posted September 10, 2011
- a parent
This private school has a part-time headmaster. The interim headmaster that was placed in September 2011 after the former one abruptly left in June, is only on the premises less than 3 days/ week. The lack of solid leadership is reflected in the school's inability to offer a high quality education. Research this school thoroughly before you sign anything. You may find, as we did, that you are not getting what you paid for.

Iona Grammar School 5

Posted June 29, 2011
- a parent
My son transferred in last year from a local catholic school. The teachers are great, the boys are really nice (no bullying tolerated), the extra curricular programs (i.e. sports teams, chess team, debate, etc) are really good. No parents coach, the that particular bias is eliminated. The class size was 11, as compared to 30 at his old school. All in all, we paid double the previous school's price and really feel we got our money's worth!


Iona Grammar School 3

Posted June 21, 2011
- a parent
Pressure? Very little to none! School hours are from 8 am to 2:30 pm. After school is an additional cost of $25 per day. Fathers and mothers clubs are VERY active in fundraising activities. Very high parental involvement. School does not appear to concentrate on the latest and the greatest in academic methodologies. There are unutlized smartboards. Socializing aspect of the School is exceptional. Boys look forward to going to school each day. Materialism is non-existent at the lower grades. Overall community tends to look to Religious Schools (Fordham and Iona Prep) as the next step. It appears that most parents are content with the academic structure and average nature of the program. Overachievers must supplement education with home academic workload to be on par with other independent schools. Selectivity ratio is extremely high. it does not appear that anyone is rejected which creates a challenging environment for the teachers with kids that are below and above the mean. As a result, teachers teach at the mean. Program is far from being rigorous. Satisfactory program. Great value.

Iona Grammar School 2

Posted April 11, 2011
- a parent
this school is great for sports oriented boys up till 3rd grade. after that it is very challenging environment for any kids that are not super sports centric. Leadership is lacking in connection with parents, but the parent networking is great.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Iona Grammar School
173 Stratton Road, New Rochelle, NY  10804
(914) 633-7744
Last modified Iona Grammar School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Iona Grammar School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top