Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
195 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
42 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Iona Preparatory School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted December 04, 2015
- a community member
Lots of racism among the staff, and encouraged in the students. They made it clear that you were viewed as lesser if you were not white.

Iona Preparatory School 1

Posted June 24, 2015
- a community member
Horrible school, did not have a pleasant experience at all, very desperate school regarding admissions. The school will accept anyone to make up for the lack of funding.


Iona Preparatory School 5

Posted January 05, 2015
- a parent
We have had our son here since Pre-K and have had nothing but good experiences. The teachers are responsive and have kept us well informed about our son's progress and needs. Most of the facilities have recently been upgraded. The social environment is excellent and the boys are taught important values.

Iona Preparatory School 5

Posted January 05, 2015
- a teacher
I interned at Iona Grammar School and my experience there was fantastic. The students all get along so well with each other. They also seem to all have a very well established rapport with all of their teachers which makes for a better learning environment. 5 stars to Iona.

Iona Preparatory School 1

Posted September 19, 2014
- a community member
This is a school in new rochelle. They are the Gaels. Was that 15 words?


Iona Preparatory School 1

Posted September 14, 2014
- a parent
Ditto review of April. As one parent observed last year the kindergarten staff are wonderful. However, afterwards, the staff are more interested in their egos and paycheck than in your child. The textbooks are mediocre.. Not worth ANY tuition! Parents have been pulling out their children.

Iona Preparatory School 2

Posted December 29, 2013
- a parent
My son attended for 3 years - the first was excellent, the second was okay, the third was horrible. Curriculum is antiquated and the teachers rarely receive staff development resulting in out-of-date practices. With the exception of the kindergarten program, there is a serious lack of understanding of child development on the part of teachers. Like many parents, I was lured by the small class size, the pretty campus and the promises that the staff understood boys and their learning styles. If you are considering this school, be sure to visit first - when kids are in attendance. I wish I had done this rather than putting so much belief into what was presented at the open house. Look at the classroom libraries, what is displayed on the walls (how much is kids' work vs. commercially made products) and how much evidence is there of individual creativity? Are kids engaged in learning or are they sitting listening at length to the teacher hold court? Is the classroom arranged to promote collaboration or is the goal for kids to work in isolation? IGS didn't meet our expectations when we considered the above and so we moved our son to another school.

Iona Preparatory School 5

Posted June 10, 2013
- a parent
Iona Grammar is the only all boys school in Westchester County. For the 2013-2014 school year, Iona Grammar s name becomes Iona Prep. Sending our son to this school gives us peace of mind knowing he is in a safe, loving environment starting in kindergarten. Enrichment programs are available at all grade levels, there are many sports teams, and the afterschool program was a deciding factor when choosing this school. During second grade, the boys prepare for the Sacrament of Reconciliation and First Communion. Teachers are available for parent/teacher conferences to discuss your son s progress throughout the year. I highly recommend this school.


Iona Preparatory School 4

Posted February 26, 2013
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. The early grade teachers, especially, kindergarten are wonderful. While it is true that if your child needs special help, the school may not be able to offer it. However, the school will work with you in getting your child help. Furthermore, the school will get even better with the merger of Iona Prep and IGS. The Prep is listening to the parents' concerns and is already taking measures to address them.

Iona Preparatory School 5

Posted February 25, 2013
- a parent
As a parent at the school and reading this story, which of course is fabricated by someone who does not attend our school and is looking to make absurd comments, I find this story both appalling and absurd. # 1, Please get your facts straight, our gym teacher has no children at the school and has no children. # 2. If you want to say something, please be truthful in what you say. Iona Grammar is a great school and if a parent had an issue as such, we have fantastic parent groups that would have assisted. So either this is an unhappy parent looking to say something negative or someone who is no longer at IGS and is just plain bitter. Either way, this story is just not true............

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Iona Preparatory School
255 Wilmot Rd, New Rochelle, NY  10804
(914) 632-0714
Last modified Iona Preparatory School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Iona Preparatory School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. Top