Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
195 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
45 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 52 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Iona Preparatory School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 25, 2016
- a community member
I find the faculty and staff to one of the best I have come across. The teachers are truly concerned for all students. I do not find there is any racism at all. Issues with students are addressed as quickly as possible. Student behavior is also addressed on an as needed basis. Any student from pre-K through 8th can walk those halls and his name is known by all. It is a great learning environment and a very encouraging environment. This school has more of a family feeling to it.

Iona Preparatory School 5

Posted May 25, 2016
- a community member
I find the faculty to be one of the best I have come across. The teachers do show concern for each and every student. Concerns are addressed immediately and appropriately. The student body is very diverse representing many cultures and I do not see students treated differently. Any student can walk the halls of that school and is addressed by his name. It's like a family and one that I support and highly recommend.


Iona Preparatory School 5

Posted May 22, 2016
- a community member
I find the faculty to be knowledgeable, cooperative, and encouraging. The students get along very well, one can see Christian values lived out by through their interactions with one another, and service trips they perform to help ones in need. The students body is less than 200, therefore the faculty and staff know nearly every student by name. Iona provides a wonderful learning environment.

Iona Preparatory School 3

Posted May 17, 2016
- a community member
The teachers and sports programs at Iona Lower School are fantastic. However, the leadership is lacking and fails to address problems of bullying and disruptive classroom behavior. We are finding instances where students of families that donate to the school are not being punished for bad behavior. It is unfortunate that ineffectual leadership is diminishing Iona Lower School in the eyes of some parents. With changes at the top, this institution could become a jewel of a school.

Iona Preparatory School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted December 04, 2015
- a community member
Lots of racism among the staff, and encouraged in the students. They made it clear that you were viewed as lesser if you were not white.


Iona Preparatory School 1

Posted June 24, 2015
- a community member
Horrible school, did not have a pleasant experience at all, very desperate school regarding admissions. The school will accept anyone to make up for the lack of funding.

Iona Preparatory School 5

Posted January 05, 2015
- a parent
We have had our son here since Pre-K and have had nothing but good experiences. The teachers are responsive and have kept us well informed about our son's progress and needs. Most of the facilities have recently been upgraded. The social environment is excellent and the boys are taught important values.

Iona Preparatory School 5

Posted January 05, 2015
- a teacher
I interned at Iona Grammar School and my experience there was fantastic. The students all get along so well with each other. They also seem to all have a very well established rapport with all of their teachers which makes for a better learning environment. 5 stars to Iona.


Iona Preparatory School 1

Posted September 19, 2014
- a community member
This is a school in new rochelle. They are the Gaels. Was that 15 words?

Iona Preparatory School 1

Posted September 14, 2014
- a parent
Ditto review of April. As one parent observed last year the kindergarten staff are wonderful. However, afterwards, the staff are more interested in their egos and paycheck than in your child. The textbooks are mediocre.. Not worth ANY tuition! Parents have been pulling out their children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Iona Preparatory School
255 Wilmot Rd, New Rochelle, NY  10804
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 52 reviews. (914) 632-0714
Last modified Iona Preparatory School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top