Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
New Rochelle, NY
Students enrolled: 195
 

4 stars
Based on 41 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


42 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Iona Preparatory School 5

Posted January 05, 2015
- a parent
We have had our son here since Pre-K and have had nothing but good experiences. The teachers are responsive and have kept us well informed about our son's progress and needs. Most of the facilities have recently been upgraded. The social environment is excellent and the boys are taught important values.

Iona Preparatory School 5

Posted January 05, 2015
- a teacher
I interned at Iona Grammar School and my experience there was fantastic. The students all get along so well with each other. They also seem to all have a very well established rapport with all of their teachers which makes for a better learning environment. 5 stars to Iona.


Iona Preparatory School 1

Posted November 18, 2014
- a community member
This school is a horrible learning environment for your child. I wish I could put 0 stars because that's what it deserves. It has horrible campus and faculty who are more concerned about the paychecks and big egos. This school is not also good for people who need extra help, paid yoU thing you can see a teacher after class you wrong, teachers depart at 3:00 pm. Faculty could not be more rude to students here. What is weird about this school is most time there are child bullies at this school there are teacher bullies who make fun of and humiliate your child in front of other student. The faculty are always talking about students in negative ways behind their back. Also if your are late to class you will wait in the hallways to class is over you are not allowed to come in. At the school teachers have a way of crushing self confidence and creativity. I would certainly not recommend this school to anyone, nobody should be put through such pain. Some kids don't want to go to school because they are scared.

Iona Preparatory School 1

Posted September 19, 2014
- a community member
This is a school in new rochelle. They are the Gaels. Was that 15 words?
1 person found this helpful

Iona Preparatory School 1

Posted September 14, 2014
- a parent
Ditto review of April. As one parent observed last year the kindergarten staff are wonderful. However, afterwards, the staff are more interested in their egos and paycheck than in your child. The textbooks are mediocre.. Not worth ANY tuition! Parents have been pulling out their children.


Iona Preparatory School 5

Posted June 10, 2013
- a parent
Iona Grammar is the only all boys school in Westchester County. For the 2013-2014 school year, Iona Grammar s name becomes Iona Prep. Sending our son to this school gives us peace of mind knowing he is in a safe, loving environment starting in kindergarten. Enrichment programs are available at all grade levels, there are many sports teams, and the afterschool program was a deciding factor when choosing this school. During second grade, the boys prepare for the Sacrament of Reconciliation and First Communion. Teachers are available for parent/teacher conferences to discuss your son s progress throughout the year. I highly recommend this school.

Iona Preparatory School 4

Posted February 26, 2013
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. The early grade teachers, especially, kindergarten are wonderful. While it is true that if your child needs special help, the school may not be able to offer it. However, the school will work with you in getting your child help. Furthermore, the school will get even better with the merger of Iona Prep and IGS. The Prep is listening to the parents' concerns and is already taking measures to address them.

Iona Preparatory School 5

Posted February 25, 2013
- a parent
As a parent at the school and reading this story, which of course is fabricated by someone who does not attend our school and is looking to make absurd comments, I find this story both appalling and absurd. # 1, Please get your facts straight, our gym teacher has no children at the school and has no children. # 2. If you want to say something, please be truthful in what you say. Iona Grammar is a great school and if a parent had an issue as such, we have fantastic parent groups that would have assisted. So either this is an unhappy parent looking to say something negative or someone who is no longer at IGS and is just plain bitter. Either way, this story is just not true............


Iona Preparatory School 5

Posted November 15, 2012
- a parent
I have been EXTREMELY impressed with the high level of qualifications, commitment, consistency, and accomplishments of our new, full-time headmaster. Along with our existing, dedicated teachers, the administration is successfully navigating our school through tough economic times, as well as technological, cultural and educational changes. The curriculums are creative and challenging, fostering the concept of "learning by doing". Teachers are passionate about their individual subjects but are working in concert with one another so that the students see the connections between disciplines. My family feels VERY welcome and happy here, despite not even being Catholic. We think Iona Grammar is an excellent value, preparing our son for the future in every way. We sincerely feel very fortunate to be part of the IGS community.

Iona Preparatory School 5

Posted January 07, 2012
- a parent
This school helped my son turn into a responsible, secure, thoughtful and positive young man in only one year. I am not sure how they do this but am so thankful to have enrolled my son in Iona. Quality of teaching is mostly very strong. Parents are wonderful and so are the students. We are very glad to have made the change from a so-called "top 100" public high school to Iona. It is just the right environment for a teenage boy.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Iona Preparatory School
255 Wilmot Rd, New Rochelle, NY  10804
(914) 632-0714
Last modified Iona Preparatory School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Iona Preparatory School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top