Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Blessed Sacrament St Gabriel High School

Private | 9-12 | 235 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New Rochelle

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $419,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,460.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 6, 2011

My son attends this school. The best thing I ever did was enroll him at BSSG. The administrators, teachers and other staff go way above and beyond to be sure that my son receives a quality education, all while enjoying school. Mr. Sullivan (the school's Principal) is the greatest asset that a school could ask for. He's understanding, compassionate and cares for each and every student as if they were his own children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

My daughter has been at the school a couple of months now and I must say this is the happiest I've seen her towards a school in a long time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2009

This school is by far not as great as everyone saying. I do attend this school and i love the teachers but the kids arent so wonderful. Its a small quiet school but not a school i enjoy.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2008

The students who go to this school love it. That's really saying something about a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

This high school is by far the BEST KEPT SECRET IN WESTCHESTER COUNTY! The teachers go far beyond what they are required to do. This school has strong academics and dedicated teachers. To me this is a win/win combination. They are so accomodating! They allowed my son to come visit for the day without even knowing if he put them down on the TACHS exam. We were so welcomed when we visited it just felt right. This is the school my son will be attending. Lastly, after speaking with other parents I realized about this great secret high school. All I can say is thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2007

I love this school. My children and I have never been a part of a school that is so much like a family. The teachers there have been so dedicated to my children over the years. They are always there to support the children not only academically but also personally and emotionally. The administration overall is awesome. The Principal and the Assistant Prinicipal are absolutely wonderful. They are always easy to talk to and always call you back. They know every student and are always there. I am lucky to have a school administration and staff to be a part of my children's lives. Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2007

This school is so much more then a school as it is a family. The administration goes out of their way to make it that way. The teachers are solid in their fields and are there for the students. The are always willing to make themselves available for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2006

This School is the best school ever i would know because i go there
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 22, 2003

this is one of the greatest schools for boys and girls but mainly young adolescent women who are looking for spiritual confidence. the girls are so into extracurricular activities like student gov't. however the boys do have there own activities like soccer and track
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 49% 21%
White 26% 52%
Hispanic 20% 21%
Two or more races 3% N/A
Asian 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Edward Sullivan
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

24 Shea Place
New Rochelle, NY 10801
Phone: (914) 632-2595

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Hallen School
New Rochelle, NY


Salesian High School
New Rochelle, NY



New Rochelle High School
New Rochelle, NY


Thornton-Donovan School
New Rochelle, NY


Mount Vernon High School
Mount Vernon, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT