Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Salesian High School

Private | 9-12 | 505 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New Rochelle

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $419,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,460.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 28, 2009

A great Catholic High School with high academic standards in a small school enviroment. Great school where the student gets personlized attention in academics as well as family values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2009

My son seems to really like being at Salesian, however, he is not doing as well academically as I would hope. The teachers and principal seem competent. My biggest criticism is the lack of parent involvement. Also, communication with parents is really nonexistent with the exception of progress reports. The use of educational software like EDLINE or more extensive use of email by the teachers would better keep parents informed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

I'm a senior. It has been a great four years, and I feel they have done well in preparing me for college. The staff is very helpful with assistance. I think it is a great school to send your child.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 28, 2008

I am very pleased so far, my son is an incoming freshman and the teachers and staff have made it a pleasant transition. They are very personable and have made the new students feel right at home. I'll need more time to see how the academics are, but from what I know, it's great
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2008

Outstanding! Salesian High School provides their young men a nurturing environment that challenges them to become both outstanding students and citizens.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2007

Wonderful School. By graduation, your child will be more well-rounded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2007

Disappointed I sent my son here. The school does not do well in making sure they help students who need additional help. Several teachers are in a fog and just do no seem to care.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 52%
Hispanic 27% 21%
Black 16% 21%
Asian 5% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • John P. Flaherty
Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

148 Main St
New Rochelle, NY 10801
Phone: (914) 632-0248

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Hallen School
New Rochelle, NY



Thornton Donovan School
New Rochelle, NY


New Rochelle High School
New Rochelle, NY


Mamaroneck High School
Mamaroneck, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT