Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Mandell School

Private | PK-6 | 191 students

We are best known for commitment to our community.

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 
 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $799,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,580.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 19, 2013

This school is a disaster. It has financial problems, a declining enrollment and the good teachers keep leaving. The Head of School/Owner is megalomaniac!! Avoid this school
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 5, 2013

The Mandell school has been a wonderful environment for our daughter to thrive academically, socially, and culturally. The teachers are by far the best in NYC! Gabriella Rowe is doing an incredible job, and her team of administrator are continually striving to raise the bar. Our daughter loves going to school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

My daughter's 6th grade class is more diverse culturally than at her public elementary school. It is a self-styled "middle class private," which gives financial aid to those who need it. The teachers are dedicated and the courses are challenging and varied from drama, chorus and wind instruments to the core English, Math, Science History, and languages. They have gym almost daily and twice weekly community service after school. We have been extremely happy here so far and our daughter is flourishing academically and socially.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2012

shaking my head at some of these negative comments as a parent there. a) in terms of student body this is one of the more diverse private schools in Manhattan (at a minimum). Kids are from all different cultural and ethnic backgrounds and they teach kids to be incredibly sensitive to others and the larger community- it's a huge theme of the culture. b) it is far from unstructured, although "recess" as referenced in another post is rarely a bunch of kids in a single file line walking calmly around a playground (not sure why would one even post such a ridiculous comment). c) both our kids never once uttered "I don't want to go to school today" and always loved their teachers, the school and learning. Most of the negative reviews are clearly people who have never gone here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2012

Mandell is a great school. My son can't wait to go to school. The staff is extremely professional. The head of school cares about the children and the quality of education. I am happy Mandell has expanded and iam also a proud to be a parent at the Mandell school.Excellent education and excellent facilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2012

It's frustrating to see people posting here about our school based on little pieces of mistaken or out-of-context information. The students, in fact, are seen outside during the day: the younger grades each walk to Central Park for one recess period, and our library and technology and invention labs are in a building down the block. Sounds like this neighbor just doesn't like having a drop-off and dismissal near his building entrance. As far as the Dominican Republic, we have a service mission to an orphanage every year that is very meaningful to our families and the children there, and integrated into the school's overall mission of raising "good citizens." I am a very critical parent, and an educator myself. Since I enrolled my first child in Mandell four years ago, I have been nothing but impressed with every aspect of the school. The teachers are masterful and creative and the parent community is a wonderful, down-to-earth group of people. For some reason, people seem resentful of our Head of School's seeking attention for her institution. I see it as trying to build her school. Either way, she cares deeply about the students and the input from her talented educators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2011

The Mandell school is amazing. We are starting our second year and my child loves school, loves his teachers and his class mates. He can't wait to go everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2011

Mandell's only goal is to profit from wealth people. They give off the image that they are a good school dedicated to giving children the best education. If this is true does the owner even have an Education Degree? Everything they do is just to profit, sadly even taking a trip to the Dominican Republic. How many dominican children will you find at Mandell School or even latin? Unfortunately parents are not experts in education so it's easy to be fooled! Parents find another school!


Posted April 26, 2011

We have been at Mandell since they started their Kindergarten. We love this school and find it wonderfully diverse - in terms of learning style as well as other differences. No place is perfect, but Mandell is a great combination of nurturing and academically challenging. They put the kids first and it shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2011

this school is filled with nothing but white kids which makes me extremely concerned!i higly think that the staff should present their school more to be a more mixed school


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • New and Noteworthy Private Elementary at The Blackboard Awards (2008)
  • Gabriella Rowe: West Side Star Educator (2008)

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Gabriella Rowe
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Non-Denominational
Fax number
  • (212) 665-0665

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • Mandell School is a co-educational institution for Toddlers through the Eighth Grade located on the Upper West Side since 1939. We are committed to providing a nurturing educational environment for children and their families, which through intellectual stimulation and emotional support, enable them to become responsible, active citizens of the world. Mandell School curriculum is well balanced, exceptionally rigorous, yet flexible enough to allow for a range of leaning styles. Mandell uses both traditional and progressive approaches to teaching, incorporating use of manipulatives, collaboration and hands on experiential learning. Good citizenship at Mandell is the first and most important element of our philosophical blueprint. It is a constant awareness on the part of our students, families and staff of the feelings and challenges of all other human beings as well as a heightened consciousness of our potential impact, both positive and negative, on the world around us. Our approach to the development of &#34Good Citizenship&#34 is incremental and continuous. Our low student-teacher ratios and carefully designed classrooms encourage small group work and support risk-taking on the part of the students at all age levels. In this way we build the children's self-confidence as well as their belief in one another.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

103 W 96th St
New York, NY 10025
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 222-2925

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Studio School
New York, NY






Holy Name of Jesus
New York, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT