Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Benedict Day Nursery

Private | 5 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $535,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,210.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 18, 2013

I went to St. Benedict's Day Nursery as a child. Graduated from there and went to Manhattan Country School. My cousin just graduated from K and is going to Spence. We are a blessed family to have had a great education. Great school!!


Posted April 3, 2013

The teachers do a very good job in teaching but it appears that resources are lacking. I was suprised there was no parent association. The school needs to encourage more parent input. Since September, there were no trips to musems, zoos, or other educational programs. It was great that Harlem School of the Arts came for a period to give lessons to the students on site. The space for learning and play is cramped. The Director tried to get a space for the children to exert their energy through the use of a recreational facility but we were told that the arrangement fell through. Also, the Director should be more on hands and present in helping students get into private schools after Pre-K 4 and Kindergarten. It was great that Harlem School of the Arts came for a period to give lessons to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2011

My daughter just started St Benedicts and thus far I feel the school, teachers and administrators are beyond GREAT!! Her teacher, Ms. Mallison, is terrific and comes to the school with an extensive background in education. She truly cares for her students and their educational growth. I am very pleased with St Benedicts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2009

Great school. My grand dausghter left St. Benedict's a strong reader. The teachers are wonderful. Best preK program I know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2008

I have to say, this is the best school ever. The curriculum excels every thing. They truly do an outstanding job and the children graduate knowing all they need to know. My daughter is currently in PreK4 and the things she knows is amazing. She knows how to read, write, put sentences together, subtraction, addition, fractions and so much more. They can go any where from this point. Im glad my daughter will be going there for kindergarden - it will open more doors for her as far as schools. Love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

This is a wonderful, structured and well educated environment. The students leave this school one grade level ahead! My daughter attends St. Benedicts and because of this, she was accepted to The Spence School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2008

My Child enrolled in St. Benedicts in September, and I must say I am very pleased with the service that is provided, my child is happy and her learning skills has been enhanced. She looks forward to her daily class participation and homework assignment. I would definitely recommend this school to other working parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2007

Outstanding school. Great support system for families. They do an outstanding job of getting the children ready for the challenges of primary school. They also continue to provide support to the children after they have left St. Benedicts. I am happy and my daughters happy at St. Benedicts. What more could a parent ask for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2006

Wonderful school. Great atmosphere for Catholics and non-Catholics alike. Children learn both social and academic skills. Supportive parent group. Both parents and administrators are focused on finding good private or academically challenging public schools for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 90% 21%
Two or more races 5% N/A
White 5% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 6%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 21%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Geneine Morris
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

21 West 124th Street
New York, NY 10027
Phone: (212) 423-5715

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT