Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Yorkville Community School

Public | K-2 | 290 students

We are best known for Progressive Education.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2014

YCS is new in this neighborhood and can be hit or miss. My son is in 1st grade. Kindergarten was good, he had warm and engaging teachers who really got to know him. This year however his teacher seems overwhelmed by a large class and has not been able to recognize my son's strengths. She takes a very long time to get things done and routinely blows off requests for improvement. The principal, while strong in many ways, is strongly against having assistant teachers which has a terrible effect on the classes. Having a second or third caring and helpful body in the classroom would make so much difference, yet the PTA is unable to make her budge on this. It is also very hard to communicate with the teachers as the parents are not allowed to email them. In this day of technology, it is somewhat crippling to restrict email communication. It would also be a nice use of technology to have the teachers prepare periodic emails showing the parents what is going on in their child's classroom, as occurs in other public schools in this area. The teacher this year is vague when updating parents and clearly barely has much time or attention for my son. I wonder what will happen next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2014

YCS is truly an excellent school which fosters a warm environment. The school focuses on the individual needs and encourages each child to reach their full potential. With the school's support, my second grader is on an advanced third grade reading and math level and continually thrives in all other areas of the school's enhanced curriculum and enrichment programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2014

We moved to NYC in the summer of 2012 and were very nervous about schooling for our little ones (at the time entering Kindergarten and 1st grade). We toured almost all of the upper east side public schools and felt so wonderful after seeing YCS!! It was very warm and welcoming from day one by both the teachers/staff and the families. Our 1st year at YCS couldn't have been better. My children both had absolutely amazing teachers - warm, friendly, outgoing, creative, and we truly can not say enough good things about them. YCS teachers and staff are all great and combined with the active PTA make Yorkville Community School the extra special school that it is! If you're looking for a school that is warm and welcoming that fosters children's creativity and love of learning then this is the school for you! We hope you will love it as much as we do!! YCS Mom of a current 1st and 2nd grader (2013-14)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

YCS is a wonderful school. We moved form Long Island from a very highly regarded school district to YCS last year. We could not be happier. The academics, the enrichment programs, and the overall atmosphere of the school is great. The teachers are attentive and the Parent Body could not be better. Kids come first at YCS. Both the principal and the assistant principal are always there to assist. Both of my children are happy to be going to school everyday. I think that says it all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2014

My daughter is receving an excellent edication at Yorkville Community School. I am an educator and have taught in the US, Europe and Latin America. I can see how involved my daughter is in the arts and sciences. My daughter, like me, does not have high mathematical intelligence but she excels at music, drama, PE and robotics. My daughter used to attend a Catholic School and she did not get all the classes offered at YCS. When I hear parents complain especially in NYC,, I ask them, how involved are you with the school, how often do you volunteer your time . It is easy to sit back and complain yet it is hard work for the doers to make things work. It really takes a village...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

YCS has been a terrific school for my child. The teachers are all enthusiastic and child centric. They seem to truly care about the children and their educational needs. My only concern is with a few of the enrichment classes, which seem to focused on the arts and not on academics. While dance, music, art and drama are wonderful--I would like to see language or math enrichment. In addition, while the leadership is excellent in many ways, they do not seem open to constructive criticism.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2013

Great parent body, excellent administration and warm environment. The new building is great and the children are well-supported both academically and emotionally. Our daughter was born too late in the year for most private schools, and didn't get a G&T spot despite a 99th percentile GT and Hunter-qualifying score. We were a bit worried initially, but couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2011

My daughter attends YCS and she dislikes this school. She's being picked on and the teacher doesn't seem to care. There's probably a few people "watching" the children during lunch but there's lack of supervision. The curriculum could be better. Although we hear how great YCS is, unfortunately this school is not for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2011

We are pleased that our son attends this school. All of the students seem to learn well here, no doubt because of the extraordinarily talented and caring teachers and staff. Perfection cannot be expected but improvement over time should be. There seems to have been a learning process for the Administration regarding rough behavior by the inevitable but rare problem students during recess. After a rocky start they seem to have learned to primarily monitor rough students, as the potential victims need less supervision. All problems appear to be resolved now, indicating an Administration that does not rest on its deserved laurels. We look forward to our second year at YCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2011

The above reviewer must be referring to a different school. The current classes are under-enrolled. As a teacher myself I have never been in such a nurturing school. No one, not the office staff, pc or principal are snobby. They are always available as are the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2011

This has been a great experience for my son and absolute loves it. He has excelled academically. We are so happy that we picked this school all the teachers are great and amazing with each individually student. The teachers and principle are always there for the students and the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2011

I don't agree with the previous review. My son comes from private school and we are much happier with this school. All the teachers are young, dynamic and handle the kids very well. The principal is very hands on and really does everything she can to make it a great school. The only not so great thing is that some of the kids are a bit tough/wild. Otherwise, we love the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2011

Upon entering school there is a noticable lack of a warm and inviting atmosphere for children. I entered my son here because I had no choice, he was zoned for this school. The classes are overcrowded, and some of the staff are obnoxious (in person and over the phone). Understanding that this a NYC public school there is overcrowding, but there should be less judgemental attitudes from staff or teachers and a more understanding of the lives and cultures of the families that live in the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 49% 48%
Hispanic 1 29% 23%
Black 2 12% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 9% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 26%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 234%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 14%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 19%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • OTTY Award (2009)
  • Blackboard Award (2010)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 209 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.7
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents18556%
Teachers2492%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. SAMANTHA KAPLAN
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (212) 427-8069

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Asphalt Green Partnership
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Asphalt Green Partnership
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Performing arts
  • Dance
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school


 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

421 East 88th St
New York, NY 10128
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 534-1627

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


P.S. 51 Elias Howe
New York, NY





Brearley School
New York, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT