Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

East Side Elementary School, PS 267

Public | PK-3 & ungraded | 198 students

o

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 18 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 18, 2014

I feel so lucky that we were zoned for PS 267. I have 2 children in the school one in 2nd and one in kindergarten and love the school. Most importantly the teachers are amazing. They learn in a creative and nurturing environment. The children regularly go on field trips and are excited going to school. The art program with Ms Akiko is unbelievable as are all the specialty teachers. The parents for the most part are lovely. As in all public schools the classes have many kids although I have not seen a teacher who couldn't handle their class and didn't know what was going on at all times. Looking forward to seeing the school continue to develop.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

This is our second year at East Side Elementary School PS267 and we are so happy to be back. Our son is in 1st grade and was very anxious about being split from his friends from Kindergarten but after the first day back his comment was " No problem Mom, I love all the kids at my school!" The teachers are all fantastic and we have experienced the special education programs as well and are thrilled that there is so much support for the children who needs it. It feels good to be back "home" at PS267.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

We are entering our second year at East Side Elementary school, ps 267 and are thrilled. Our son is very happy and has an active, hands-on creative curriculum that is academically challenging. He loves science and art particularly, and the fantastic staff know him by name and by personality - engaging with him and making him feel welcome every day. There is an active and welcoming PTA with many opportunities to volunteer and support the school, allowing you to feel a part of your child's education and development. We feel very lucky to be attending ps 267.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2013

We are incredibly happy to be a part of the PS 267 community. Classroom and specialty teachers are fantastic. The building is beautiful. The principal is a true leader. We have a wonderful afterschool program as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2013

PS 267 is an impressive school with a real sense of direction thanks to a strong Principal who has in turn, recruited some talented teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

PS 267 is everything we could dream of in a school. The school is bright, spotless, looks brand-new and has a warm feeling with the halls and individual classrooms reflecting the spirit of the kids and the teachers. The principal is brilliant, not only does she seems spot on in terms of education, but knows every child's name and greets them every morning. We also have lots of specialty classes music, art, dance, gym, and theater. The parents are involved and we love being part of the school community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

PS 267 is a new school on the Upper East Side with excellent facilites, dedicated teachers and a very good parent community. It is a public school but has all the attributes of a private school. Students have art, music, dance, theatre and PE every week. The school's focus on science is par excellence. PS 267 could benefit from additional outdoor space though the school has recently added imagination blocks in the limited outdoor space. The PTA works very hard to raise money to meet all the needs of the school. The parent community is commited to making the school a special place for our children. We are privileged to be a part of PS 267.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

PS 267 Eastside Elementary school is a gem on the upper east side. It is run by wonderful principal and great teachers whose love of learning inspires their students. Students are lucky to have specialty teachers for art, gym, dance & theater which is unusual for public school. My children are lucky to be part of this school community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

PS 267 is truly a wonderful school with amazing parent involvement and great teachers. We feel very lucky to have now two children attending this school starting in the fall of 2013. Others should know that the staff and principal are warm and caring, but also create an environment condusive to learning. Teachers are top notch and put in the time required to make for a great classroom experience. We were truly surprised to find the quality in everything from facilities, to leadership, to parent involvement, to the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

Our son has been attending PS 267 for two years and could not be happier! This school is absolutely AMAZING!! It is truly a hidden jewel in NYC. I can not say enough good things about it. The teachers are amazing, caring, nurturing, and extremely competent. The PTA is very active and very strong with caring parents that help build a strong sense of community. The principal is incredible, she has a clear vision for the school and focuses on hiring teachers and staff that are passionate about teaching and this translates into a wonderful experience for the children. We could not have asked for a better learning environment for our son. He is truly thriving and loves going to school everyday!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

Our daughter, a very sensitive kid, started kindergarten at PS 267 in September 2012. We were very worried that she would have difficulty making friends. But we were very pleasantly surprised that the kids here are nice, and down to earth. Quite a relief from what you might expect from a Manhattan neighborhood. She did have some "normal" problems with some kids who don't really know how to behave. In those cases, the school administration was really on top of the issues. I am so impressed by how well the teacher knew her kids! I felt that, for a public school, the parent-teacher contact was very good, once the school year got going. My daughter can't wait to start first grade! Academically, the school is also very strong in our experience. Our daughter is a ferocious reader going into first grade. The science program piques the kids' interests, we get our daughter's interesting creations from the art program on a frequent basis, and the afterschool programs are also good if you wish to pursue them. Overall PS 267 is the only reason we stay in NYC and pay these ridiculous taxes. If not for PS 267 we would be long gone from the city.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

PS 267 is an amazing school and I feel lucky to have two children there. The principal and teachers are extremely caring and hardworking. Every morning the principal stands outside and greets each student by name. The front office staff also know the students by name. Overall, I feel the curriculum is excellent and the art and science work they do is incredible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2013

This is an incredible school and every day my husband and I thank our lucky stars that we found it! We were about to opt for private single sex schools and were not even zoned for this school. It is a wonderful school with an amazing principal with great vision who knows every child by name and greets them every morning. Our child's kindergarten teacher is fantastic - she knows each child inside and out. We were honestly amazed by the comprehensiveness of our child's mid-year report. Our child started K reading already but has literally jumped 5-6 reading levels in a few months. PS 267 is more like a private school - it offers dance, theatre, art, music and is in a very nice, clean, new, green/LEED certified building. The parent body and student body are warm, educated and genuinely care about the education of the kids and every teacher we have encountered is fantastic. I would highly recommend this school to anyone - I am afraid word is already getting out and soon it in going to be overcrowded! The 2 negative reviews below don't make sense to me at all. Our child is a product of 2 very different cultures and races and we have found that this has been embraced by the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2013

PS267 is an amazing school and we feel so lucky to be a part of this community!! We originally moved to our current address in anticipation of putting our boys at PS183. A few months after our move we found out our kids would be starting at PS267 due to rezoning. Needless to say we were very disappointed since PS183 had a great reputation and we felt uncomfortable about being part of a new school. In retrospect I cannot believe our luck!! The principal is a force to be reckoned with yet very approachable, all of the teachers at school are excited to be there and you really get a sense that they truly know and care for every kid in their class and the specials are fantastic! What other public school offers art, science, music and theatre to its kindergarteners on a weekly basis? There are great guidance counselors, reading specialists etc. The PTA is also very involved, there are always community building events and fundraising events and you really get a sense that everyone (both parents and staff) is working together to give the kids the best education possible!! PS267 is the best kept secret on the Upper East Side....but not for long! I hear the word is getting out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2013

I'm surprised to see those 2 reviews added on Feb 9, 2013. We've had totally different experiences at this truly fabulous school. We are not a part of the neighborhood (have to take subway), a minority family, yet we did not experience what the other parent called 'discrimination' at all. One time a kid said some not-so-friendly words to our son, no big deal but we didn't know how our son should handle it properly so we emailed the Principal for her suggestions. She immediately talked to his class teacher and the school counselor, and they got the issue solved right away. I believe this kind minor conflicts happens everywhere, with some are more serious at other schools, but the way the school principal and her staff handled it amazed us. Our son loves this school. We feel so glad and lucky we found this little gem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2013

PS 267 is the most wonderful school. The principal is so involved and approachable. She has assembled an incredible staff of teachers who really care about the children and helping them learn. My son needs some extra help with reading and he loves going to the "Early Bird" program Tues - Thurs. He enjoys all of the specialty classes including science, art, theater, music and history. I cannot say enough about this school and the fantastic education that my son is receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2013

We can't say enough about how amazing this school is. After meeting the principal, we were certain her vision for the school and mission statement were aligned with our goals for a high quality, public school education for our children. The reality is PS 267 has exceeded our expectations, starting with the all the classroom and specialty teachers and school staff, enrichment arts that are provided (art, music, dance theater), related services that are offered (OT/PT, speech, English Language Learners, reading recovery, school psycologist, guidance counselour, etc) - all housed in a newly renovated, clean, safe building. the principal is responsive to all parents and extremely accessible. The school has very strong PTA and parent involvement is encouraged and welcomed. But most of all our children are thriving - and as a family we feel privileged to be a part of the fabulous, tight-knit community at PS 267.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2013

Be very careful before putting your kid in this school. We had a terrible experience of discrimination and felt it was based on race. This was supported by the staff whose solution for bullying was to further isolate the child. If you are not a part of the neighborhood clique then beware.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2013

Worst front office staff ever. My child started at this school this year, it was horrible. Everyday he was crying not wanting to go.It was funny because he actually love school, learning, and playing with friends before he came here. He didn't say anything to me yet so after many meeting with the principle nothing was resolved. Until then I learned from my child how he was being made fun of and bullied everyday at this school. When I went back the principle said nothing like that happened there. She knew the other students well and their parents who were well known at the school. It was torture sending my child there so I removed my son and started home schooling. He is now very happy. I haven't seen him this happy before we sent him to this horrible excuse of a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

Absolute top-notch. The primary focus is on education, with an impressive element of community involvement, social and emotional learning, art and physical education. They have it all. There is a lot of homework, but the proof is in the pudding: my son has learned a TON, and has enjoyed doing so. He is even learning chess as a part of his everyday activities. The principal is such a great mix of authority and tenderness and very obviously loves being an educational leader in the community in which she was raised. Teachers and staff are excptional. This school is such a gem!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 48%
Hispanic 12% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 9%
Black 5% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 18%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 212%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 13%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 25%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Italian
Japanese
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 130 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.4
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.4
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.0
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
9.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents11773%
Teachers13100%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:40 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Medea McEvoy
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (212) 371-2891

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Turtle Bay Music School
  • Road Runners
  • New York Historical Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Kickball
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

213 East 63rd Street
New York, NY 10065
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 888-7848

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ella Baker School
New York, NY




The Browning School
New York, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT