Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Lang School

Private | K-8 | 22 students

We specialize in the academic & social/emotional needs of gifted children.

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Living in New York

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $870,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 5, 2014

My son in the middle of his second year at Lang and I think they have done an excellent job addressing and supporting his learning and attention issues. He was diagnosed with ADD, auditory processing disorder, speech and language disorder and Autism spectrum disorder. He has always had crippling anxiety about school and deep insecurity about his abilities. At Lang, his uniqueness is embraced and he is valued part of the community, where a team of teachers, a para, the school psychologist and related services providers have worked with him to help him overcome his anxieties and supported him so that he can perform at his very best with confidence and enthusiasm. He has gone from being a lonely, frustrated and unhappy kid who hated most academic subjects to one who is excited to go to school, has become a leader in class, both socially and academically and who loves to write, read, do math and learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2014

Finally, you'll feel like you're exactly where your child should be, and without compromise. The Lang School is unique. Most of the families come from school experiences where their child has been rejected, under-stimulated, misunderstood and frankly bored and not supported. Public schools don't have the right programs for 2E kids. Private schools may love that these kids are gifted, but can't deal with their behavioral and/or emotional issues. Lang is a G&T school with Special Education supports. Finally parents aren't apologizing that their child is ADHD, sensory, Aspie, etc. Instead, we celebrate all the amazing things about them. Every class of 8-12 kids has a G&T teacher and a Special Ed teacher. Social skills, therapy, OT and PT are part of the curriculum as well. Sitting still is not a prerequisite. My son learned about phases of the moon, circumference and diameter, and weather systems in Kindergarten, all while jumping on a trampoline to calm his body. And that is just fine with me. My family is very grateful that a school like Lang exists. Period.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

The Lang School goes to great lengths to support children with learning and attention issues, although it is geared specifically for children who are twice exceptional -- that is, children who are both exceptionally gifted intellectually and exceptionally challenged by a learning disability or another issue that gets in the way of their learning, i.e. attention deficit or anxiety. The school is unique in its approach to these problems, providing instruction by both gifted specialists and learning specialists and teaching children to embrace all parts of their personalities and accept themselves for who they are. The school values the special gifts that these children have and the unique ways in which they contribute to society and the kids really benefit from all of the positive feedback they receive and the intense supportive environment they find themselves in. The Lang School is an amazing resource for these children, who really just don't fit in anywhere else. Thank god this school exists!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

The Lang School has been a terrific find for our son. They challenge him in a truly supportive environment where he is able to learn effectively. They have the resources to develop a custom learn plan for students that takes into account their special needs as well as their exceptional skills and abilities. What it means to us is that our son, is learning and enjoying school more. We are so fortunate to have The Lang School in NYC.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

Our experience has been overwhelmingly positive. Our son has a significant expressive speech delay with minor sensory issue (a suspected auditory processing disorder). Although he is an academically gifted child, it is not obvious, and with his speech delay, it was not demonstrated in his previous private school environment, despite a very small class size. He was anxious, sad and developed a halting stutter. We feared he would fail, develop low self-esteem and no confidence. Reading was also a concern as he showed no interest and was apprehensive just trying. This was a stark contrast to the brilliant guy we knew at home. Within a very short time period at Lang, he truly blossomed, reading beyond our expectations, sounding out every letter and putting it altogether! He has healthy self confidence, preservative and great self esteem. His stutter is minimal at best and his speech has exploded. He loves his teachers, classmates and school. Tears and frustration has turned to pure contentment. We are immensely thankful and grateful to the Lang School for providing a challenging and enriched curriculum, and enabling our son's very bright star shine!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

Our son has severe ADHD and we have been overjoyed with Lang's ability to minimize his attentional difficulties. They worked with us to settle on an appropriate medication schedule and use behavioral therapy including TCIT and Daily Report Cards to modify his behavior. In addition, they do all the intangibles right to turn Lang into a desirable place for our son where he wants to please and follow the rules. He always wants to go to school (at previous schools this was never the case) and is so proud of himself when he does well at school and brings home a good daily report card. His academic performance has gone through the roof and his social progress has blossomed. He loves the staff and his classmates. There is never any punitive discipline (something he bridled at in previous classrooms) and Lang has worked with our behavioral therapist and us to achieve continuity at school and home. We would highly recommend Lang to any parent with a child who has attentional difficulties.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

Lang is a perfect fit for my child. It challenges him academically while supporting his special needs. The school has a large support staff - psychologists, speech and occupational therapists and lots of specialty teachers - engineering, music, art, drama, gym. For a small school it delivers a lot. For the first time in his life, our son loves to go to school and learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

To correct my earlier post regarding our "overwhelmingly positive experience", it is supposed to say "perseverance", not "preservative". Thanks again!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2014

I would not recommend the Lang school for kids who need an individualized program. If your child has a complex set of verbal and non-verbal difficulties, and / or social skills problems. There is very little psychological support for kids with co-morbid emotional issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 25, 2013

Lang school is the first and only school I encountered where teachers and staff work endlessly for each individual child. They initiate communication rather than us having to ask for meetings and receive less than exciting welcomes. The curriculum is so interesting that I personally enjoy doing the assignments. The homework is never the same and my son likes doing it. They tailor his assignments to his level and everything is truly indiv customized. The principle knows everyone and cares about each and every student. Micaela works tirelessly to make every kid succeed. However, the most important thing is that all the kids I met say that they LOVE LANG. My son cries when I threaten to transfer him back to his old school. He loves his teachers. Lang is not perfect but no school works harder for each of their students than Lang. Between my son and two other children I am speaking from experience of dealing with 7 different schools. Yes, I am a picky parent and I do switch schools when I am unhappy but NO ONE ever worked harder than Lang to educate my child. He learned far more this yr so far than in the entire last yr. Thank you LANG!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2013

Lang has been an incredible find for our son. This school is unlike any other in NYC and quite possibly the entire country. Our son had been a great student, community member and a voracious reader. In 3rd grade he developed significant anxiety over writing and test taking. His former school could not find a solutiion. Since he entered Lang, he is learning again, pushing himself and is in fact HAPPY. Nothing is ever perfect, but Lang is a small school with tremendous focus on every child as an individual. Our son is challenged day in and day out to grow, and we are convinced, with the help of the leadership at Lang, that he will develop into a stronger student and a more positive community member. We could not be more supportive of the mission of Lang. Twice Exceptional kids want to learn and push themselves, but they need a supportive environment. They get both at the Lang School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2013

When determining what school best fits your child with special needs, don't ignore what counts most...your childs emotional needs. Think About It : You would not send your car to a repair shop that is known for doing great repairs to the outside of a car while damaging the seating on the inside of the car.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

We would highly recommend Lang to the parents of any child who is high functioning but unable to meet their potential in a traditional classroom environment. We couldn't be more impressed with the hard work and perseverance of the teachers and staff at Lang. And their facilities and curriculum are perfectly suited for children who, like our son, have special needs (ADHD-related in our case) and require a challenging educational environment. Until we found Lang, our son had an extremely difficult time staying engaged in the classroom. Even at an excellent school (Williamsburg Northside) they were unable to handle his inattention. And it got to the point that he was asked to leave his school last year and hated the one he subsequently attended because they were too punitive in response to his inability to sit still and concentrate. But he absolutely adores Lang. And we are extremely happy with their individualized and positive approach to learning and behavior. They have also shown an extraordinary willingness to work with us and our son's doctors to find the right conditions to unlock his potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

My son was diagnosed with having autism, although he's very high-functioning. He entered Lang school this year as a kindergarten (but the class he's in is K-2), and he's really having a very positive experience! He loves doing his HW every night and always has something great to tell us about his day! I know that he's learning new things because if all the things he's able to tell me now about his day!! The staff is very open and loving towards him and us as parents. They even have an approximately monthly support group that's open to all parents of any 2e student, but free for Lang parents. My son already found so many friends there. The only downside I can see is that unfortunately, you need to be able to pay out of pocket or through loans at the beginning of every school year since Lang is not yet an approved school with the DOE. But I've heard that other parents have had great success with getting reimbursed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2013

I'm a current parent who is determined to find another school for my child. Due to lack of experience, the school management is overwhelmed with too many problems. The academics are not bad but the are not great. The school is constantly changing things. There is very little consistency.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

This school is like no other. It is an amazing place for children who are twice exceptional...really bright yet need a lot of support. My 11 year old son and I consider it a community as much as it is a school. He has learned more here than any other school he has been at, mainly because of their teaching methods...collaboration, thoughtfulness, inspiration and engagement. We are blessed to have found this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

The Lang School is absolutely amazing. My child is academically strong and ambitious yet requires significant emotional support. The Lang School meets all of her needs in both areas. There are few schools in the region or the nation that can do that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2012

We worked really hard (2 years) to find the right educational fit for our son (now 10 y old) and are so grateful and pleased that we found The Lang School, which is an extraordinary and unique place. The Lang School provides an incredibly rich academic environment. The students are intellectually challenged - some of the first time in their academic careers and their focus/sensory issues (e.g. ADHD, Anxieties or Asperger's) is also therapeutically and positively addressed. The Lang School is only three years old and there is literally no other school like Lang in NYC, or in the region, that is built to address both the gifts and the challenges that 2e - twice exceptional - kids like our son have. Great commited teachers, wonderful parent community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2012

I don't like how this school raises money. I couldn't get funding even though they provide legal referrals for reimbursement. Usually NYC is an absurd cash cow for funding disabled kids of all levels but they are tightening their belts like everywhere else. The school is utterly unaffordable if you don't have a great lawyer. Also, while it looks like a nice place, the kids can't learn social skills from one another, they should consider integrating it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2012

We were initially a bit nervous about enrolling our son in a newer school, but we are so glad we made the jump. Our local public school was a real struggle for our twice exceptional (gifted +ADHD) child. The best way to describe it is that he was an outsider there, misunderstood by both teachers and students alike. At Lang, he's incredibly engaged and hard-working, loves his teachers and classes, has made a wonderful group of friends, and has truly grown academically, emotionally and socially. All because Lang "gets him" and is a place where he can feel comfortable and excel. The teachers are fabulous and truly care about the children in their classes and, as the previous poster said, the curriculum is innovative and the children are happy. It took us a long time to find the right school fit for our son, but was well worth the effort. If you're a NYC-area parent of a 2e chlid, I highly recommend checking out Lang.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
Visual arts
  • Architecture
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Textile design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Therapeutic
Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (212) 977-1047

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Teacher-run
  • Therapeutic
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Special education
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Textile design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Math club
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


1 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
15
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
200
Students typically come from these schools
Packer
citywide gifted progreams
CTT classrooms

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
mainstream public setttings
mainstream private settings
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11 Broadway
New York, NY 10004
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 977-7777

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Blue School
New York, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT