Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

High School for Environmental Studies

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1384 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 11 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

49 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 6, 2011

My friends son recently graduated from the school, and she was happy he was out, I'm not sure why the school has taken a down fall, it's not what it use to be. It use to be a caring environment where teachers and students cared about education(I know because a long time ago my daughter spend the best four high school years a teen can have) . I believe administration needs to put its foot down and take over the school instead of the students having the last word. Parents, educators, and future students need to know that once this school use to be great school, not sure why it changed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2011

I'm a recently departed teacher from this school. Maybe I'm biased, but most of the teachers there are very good. Nonetheless, I'm surprised by some of the positive reviews. The Principal is universally despised and is an impediment to the success of the school. We lost a lot of good teachers every year, and the vast majority of those that are left would leave the moment a decent opportunity opened up. All for the same reason - escape Shirley Matthews. Even her own "cabinet," the Assistant Principals, do not trust her. Everything is personal with her, nothing is business. Disagree with her once and you become a target. No one can understand how she has held this position for so long. The DOE must know. Perhaps they are ok with a decent school, even though it could easily be an excellent school. Eventually it will all implode. Maybe this year? Maybe next? I would NEVER send my child here.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 17, 2010

Honestly the school does not live up to your individual expectations. Though it has a smaller student population than most high schools, the hallways are still way too crowded which causes tardiness. There are some dedicated teaachers but the others are not motivating you in anyway. As a student, I was disappointed, expecting a school where intelligence was a key factor in acceptance, to find that almost anyone was let in. It saddens me to see irresponsible and unwilling young minds roaming the hallways and being loud. I honestly regret my choice to attend this school and now it's too late. Everyday i cannot wait to graduate not because it's a highlight in my life but in fact because i want to put my 4 years here behind me as quickly as possible. The school is challenging i admit but it drains its students. i have yet to experience anything memorable.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 19, 2009

My teen ateends there nad she is very happy considering she must deal with ignorance from other students that feel they don't need an education they rather population. overall my teen is happy and that puts a smile on my face :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

this is my first year in the school and i'll have to say i've been here for about a month and i still don't like it. it's very boring! i was expecting a school i could learn while having fun. the hallways are wayy toooo crowded and i just wouldn't recommended it to anyone. you also have to pay for lunch $1.25 a day. that's 6.25 a week, making it about 25 dollars you have to invest in lunch that is suppose to be freee. the bathrooms are closed the first 10 minutes and the last 10 minutes of every period!..what happens when you are having a emergency? honestly.. i really wouldn't recommend this school to anyone. if you are willing to put up with all of that then yeah, academically.. it varies on the teacher u get. you just have to pray you get a good one.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 21, 2009

it provides the students so much opportunities
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2009

Its only my first week of school and i feel so welcomed. I love my AP teachers and i enjoy going to school because my environment is so caring,socially & academic wise and we care for the environment as well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2009

this high school has a lot of excellent teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

I love this school, i made tons of friend my first 3 weeks now im a junior and its still awesome, the teachers are nice and so are the deans, you can somehow always find help in this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 17, 2009

Best School Ever. It has it's highs and lows but the highs outweight the low. A great range of programs and best of all a flexible schedule. The Honor Academy Program is really strict and has tons of work but the normal classes are just as good. You won't regret going here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 18, 2009

Hses is one of the greatest schools out there. In this school i really feel safe. Also this school knows that keeping their students informed on what is going on in the school, is one of their top priorities. Yeah it maybe a B school, but its only from the kids that dont care about school. Just come to Hses for one day and there will be a smile on your face at the end of the day.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 13, 2009

I came to this school thinking that my life was over but with the amazing things that this school has done to help me i only have good things to say. you may see some data that says HSES is just a B school but i can asure you that we are better then then that. Beacon high school is also a B school and is great in its own way but in a big school like HSES only the students who can handle some independance but are willing to get help when they need it will fit in. we need better students like myself who are willing to learn and excel.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2009

the honors program is excellent but the normal program is less than desired
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2009

HSES is a great NYC public high school. The administration and teachers are terrific -- very dedicated to the students. The School was just awarded a 'Silver rating' by U.S. News and World Report and HSES recently became a high school partner with the Alvin Ailey Dance Program -- the students love it. The PTA is getting more involved with fund raising and parent workshops, and the security force is much friendlier to parents now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2008

I agree with some of these comments. I would like for those parents who feel the school is underperforming to get together to try to make the school better. We are consumers and if the product is not up to par we should do someting about it. Unless we are taking our kids out we need to help make HSES a place that serves our children well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2008

Academically this school is above average, but morally, socially and even structurally this school fails. They force schedules on students (electives? what electives?), the counselors refuse student opinions on their education and insist on giving them classes simply for the sake of raising their percentage of graduates with advanced diplomas, and don't expect a sit down to discuss your child's future unless they're a delinquent. Speaking of which, the office and security staff or horribly blase' to parents, teachers, and students alike, and use their position as a conduit for rudeness. Did I mention the halls are packed due to the one way staircases they use to shuffle students to class? Parents, how can your child thrive is an environment where 3/4 of the students walk down the halls attesting to how crummy the school is? A good school isn't just a novelty curriculum and four walls, and Environmental so poorly demonstrates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2008

I transfered to HSES the second semester of my junior year. it was a bad idea. this school is not a good choice for transfer students. i've had to make sure that i was getting all the credits i needed and i had to learn a lot of things about the school by myself. Staff at HSES isnt very helpful. there are some good teachers but others never should have gotten a degree. it's incredibly boring with barely any activities and the dicipline is lax. if you're looking for a nice interesting school look elsewhere....i wish i had.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2008

I love this school. The teachers actually make time for you if you need tutoring and the'yre so many ways to get involved.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2008

My daughter is a freshman in this high school and it's been only three weeks and I see a great improvement in her grades and attitude about school. She came for a Catholic School and had a bad experience in middle school so I give the teachers and the staff two thumbs up for making their students feel they can accomplish anything and also in preparing them for college even though they are freshmen. THIS IS A GREAT SCHOOL IN NY! Submitted by Ileana Rivera, a parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2007

this school isnt good for transfer students. only the AP classes are worth showing up for. They valued attendance alittle too much in this school. Overall this school is okie, there are not enough clubs of interest or sports.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
69%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

181 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
66%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

338 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

25 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

192 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

398 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
70%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

338 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
69%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

22 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

304 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
85%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
74%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

126 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

366 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students38%
Female37%
Male39%
African American24%
Asian/Pacific Islander68%
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White37%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities33%
General population39%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant38%

Chemistry

All Students71%
Female73%
Male70%
African American63%
Asian/Pacific Islander77%
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population72%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English72%
Not migrant71%

Earth Science

All Students43%
Female38%
Male47%
African American44%
Asian/Pacific Islander62%
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White30%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities26%
General population47%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English47%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant43%

English

All Students73%
Female81%
Male64%
African American65%
Asian/Pacific Islander85%
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities36%
General population81%
English language learners29%
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant73%

Geometry

All Students86%
Female87%
Male85%
African American78%
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities80%
General population85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%

Global History and Geography

All Students68%
Female67%
Male69%
African American66%
Asian/Pacific Islander87%
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities35%
General population74%
English language learners33%
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant68%

Integrated Algebra

All Students62%
Female63%
Male61%
African American59%
Asian/Pacific Islander98%
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities32%
General population72%
English language learners21%
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant62%

Living Environment

All Students70%
Female68%
Male71%
African American70%
Asian/Pacific Islander89%
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities38%
General population76%
English language learners34%
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant70%

Physics

All Students50%
Female42%
Male57%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander68%
Hispanic37%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English50%
Not migrant50%

U.S. History and Government

All Students81%
Female85%
Male77%
African American73%
Asian/Pacific Islander97%
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities51%
General population86%
English language learners37%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant81%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the high school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 57% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 17% 9%
Black 1 15% 19%
White 1 11% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 8%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 17%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 36%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 1%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 1155 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.5
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.0
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents13110%
Students95474%
Teachers7099%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • MS. SHIRLEY H. MATTHEWS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Environmental
  • Humanities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Busses - M10, M104, M11, M20, M31, M5, M50, M57, M66, M7. Subways - E to 50th St; N, Q, R to 57th St - 7 Av; 1, A, B, C, D to 59th St-Columbus Circle
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Sofbtall
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

448 W 56th St
New York, NY 10019
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 262-8113

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Beacon High School
New York, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT