Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Beacon High School

Public | 9-12 | 1162 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

149 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2009

great teachers, small enough high school to notice everyone, big enough to have a diverse array of activities, great college advisors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2009

Attending the The Beacon School is one of the smartest moves I have ever made in my life. The teachers are more than educators, the curriculum is more than books and lectures, the environment is far, far beyond that of an average high school in NYC. The Beacon School is where every high school student wishes they could be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2009

Going to The Beacon School was beyond my wildest dreams of what high school was like. It's an extremely caring and loving environment with some of the best teachers around. Every teacher is there because they want to be teaching and because they care about their students. As an alum of the school (Class of '08) I can say that Beacon truly prepared me for college. Many schools put stress on test taking and the SATs. Beacon, however, teaches you more than that. I learned how to write 10 page papers, how to deconstruct text, and how to properly do research. On top of all that, Beacon provides a fantastic social environment, amazing arts programs, and opportunities to travel. Because of Beacon I'm at a great college, doing very well, and will always be able to look back at high school with fond memories.


Posted September 26, 2009

All the programs and the traveling abroad opportunities, and the exchanges with spain/france/ etc. the teachers know how to relate to kids and keep us really interested in what they are teaching
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 25, 2009

I couldn't have had a better High School experience. Go Beacon! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

Beacon was a place that brought together students from all parts of NYC. The teachers are very supportive and the education received is amazing. I wouldn't have gone to any other high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 25, 2009

Beacon is wonderful school because it is a place where learning is a conversation. Our experience is hands on and propelled by technology, Socratic dialogue and art. The administration believes in preserving programs that most school budgets slash first, and they inspire and enable us to offer courses as diverse as the students who travel as much as two hours in each direction to be part of the Beacon community. Being a New York City public school teacher is by no means easy but being at Beacon ensures that most of my days are inspiring and filled with moments of unimaginable pride and joy.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 25, 2009

Beacon is the BEST high school! I enjoyed my 4 years of high school because of beacon! The atmosphere, the people, the relationship that a class has with one another. It's just amazing! Sports and the arts are a major focus in out school. I was part of the theater program and without that program who knows where I would have been during my four years of high school. Both sports and the arts brings our school together, everyone supports all programs. It doesnt matter if you like the sport or the show or the art that is on display, everyone in the school is there to support eachother! Without these programs our school wouldnt be a 'family' and it would just be a school that all you do is learn math and english etc. these programa make school fun, so keep our school fun please!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 25, 2009

Who wouldn't love a school that opens up opportunities for a wide variety of inner city kids to express their fullest views? This school definitely impacted a major part of how I see the world and the only reason anyone can hate it will be all the drama and extreme testing. But then again, what high school doesn't have these elements? Let's here it for Beacon!


Posted September 24, 2009

Great Staff, Who care about you from beginning to end. The students are self motivated to succeed and they do. Beacon has changed my life and has given me confidence.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2009

As a senior at Beacon, I've really come to see that in no other school will a teacher stay with you for hours at a time after school to help you get a better grasp on the topic. Some of the teachers there are some whom I will never forget.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

Everyone fits in at this amazing, culturally diverse school. I would never go to another high school........ever
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

The teachers at The Beacon School have pushed me to become a better student and a better person. The bond that students create with their teachers makes learning fun and productive. Students learn for the purpose of curiosity, not simply for passing a test.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2009

There is no environment quite like that of The Beacon School. With opportunities available far beyond those at most high schools, the student body is almost surrealistically happy to be there. As a student, I looked forward to each day with excitement and anticipation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

Beacon's approach to learning is unique in that it actually prepares you for life beyond high school, giving each and every student an ability to develop themselves intellectually, academically, and socially.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2009

My daughter attends the Beacon High School, and does so well...The school helps and supports student to become successful achievers. I recommend this school for its high learning standards and core values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

Simply put, Beacon changed my life. I'm a very proud Beacon Alum, and I reminisce on my high school memories every day because they were truly beautiful and special. Beacon was a place where both my creativity and intellect had the ability to broaden. I discovered my loves and passions there and made life long friends. It was really like a second home where I felt totally comfortable. Never have I met such compassionate teachers who love their students and love what they do. And never have I met such hardworking, motivated and artistic kids. Beacon really helped shaped me into the woman that I am. I could go on for days. Beacon is amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

Beacon is an amazing school, that offers something for any type of student. Our academics are fantastic, and beyond that, there are a lot of clubs and extracurricular activities to get involved in. That's why Beacon is so great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

It used to be and should be and still has potential to be really really diverse. The teachers are SOOO amazing, and extremely overqualified theyre really doing what theyre doing because they love it. Great atmosphere!


Posted September 24, 2009

Beacon is amazing. You rarely feel upset about the fact that you have to wake up, and go to school. The teachers keep things fun most of the time, and it is a great mix of people! The teachers, and faculty really do care about their students. They are always there to help, or listen if you need anything! Of course there will always be high school drama, but going to high school is much more enjoyable when you go to Beacon. The sports are great, and people are very supportive! I love Beacon!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

304 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
100%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Earth Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a

English

All Students99%
Female98%
Male100%
African American100%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic97%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged99%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilities95%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Global History and Geography

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Integrated Algebra

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Living Environment

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the high school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 48%
Hispanic 23% 23%
Black 15% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 123%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 55%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Hebrew
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 1501 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents41534%
Students103883%
Teachers4884%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. RUTH LACEY

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Humanities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Hebrew
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Transportation options
  • Busses - M10, M104, M11, M20, M31, M5, M57, M66, M7, M72
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Soccer
  • Sofbtall
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee

Arts & music

Music
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

227-243 W 61st St
New York, NY 10022
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 245-2807

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT