Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

High School for Health Professions & Human Services

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1763 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 26, 2014

Time to begin my rant. I'm currently a freshman at the school and I think the only thing the school could be even slightly proud of is that it's the old Stuyvesant building. There are only 6 teachers out of the 11 I've had so far that are at least decent and 3 that care if you are properly learning or not. The students in the school are not all bad, but those who aren't bad are mostly the shy ones who are unable to learn because of the latter (students and teachers). The staff is incredibly rude, and some of them even call students improper names (not exactly profanity). When I came to the school, I expected way better. But instead, after taking 2 and half years of French and passing the proficiency with a 97, I was FORCED to take Spanish which is not a language I really prefer learning. Even after that mishap, turns out I got a terrible teacher who takes off points for no reason. I've always got 95-100 in French but now I'm finding myself receiving erroneous zeros. There is even a Geometry teacher I have whom jokes around with the class, shooting curses here and there, that cannot teach properly. If I fail the Math regents, I'm blaming it on him. I've already excelled with two.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2014

I graduated from this school in the year of 2006. I had experiences with this school, and I am proud to say that I graduated from this school. I am currently a nurse and I believe it is through HPHS.


Posted September 10, 2011

I am currently a junior at this school and I have to tell you that this school is not as great as it sounds. There are some extremely rude and disrespectful students. There are only some teachers that are actually involved in your work. However, the AP teachers are great. They work hard to make you succeed. Those classes are excellent but of course very hard. The science programs are good. They give you a lot of knowledge you need to go into the medical profession. This is not the worst school ever but it's not the best either.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 25, 2011

I am a former student who graduated in the class of '09. As other reviews have stated, there are quite a few negative points to this specific high school, however, there is some good. Unfortunately, the former outweighs the latter, so let's start there. Everyone in their high school years have a few teachers that were difficult or strict, but at HPHS, there are some surprisingly terrible teachers; there are some that are actually manipulative and intentionally insulting. However, there are others that give extra attention, care and pleasantries to their students - yet this is rare. I had more problems with the teacher's lack of concern than I ever had with any of the students. Upon entering college, I felt unprepared and only taught how to pass a test rather than a deep understanding of any applicable concepts. For a public school, this is not the worst school, but it is lacking in many regards; school spirit, parental involvement, funds for recreational activities (such as trips or more sports teams or more instruments). I do not regret going to this school, however, a part of me - whenever I listen to others talk about their high school experience - feels gypped.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 3, 2011

I am currently a junior here at this school and I must say that even though I can see that the current principal is trying his hardest to try to make this school into something that someone can be proud to go to, but it just seems a bit hopeless. The teachers are horrible there are only a handful that actually helps you to succeed and really are anxious and trying to provide tutoring after school in their subject, but the rest of the teachers are people who can't even teach or care. The names of their programs SOUND great, but they are just a veil of words to cover the below average work. Now it is mandatory for students to take the foreign language regents,but how can anybody possibly score a passing grade at all when the teachers don't even know how to teach their own students the language at all!! I don't really recommend this school because it is over crowded and most of the students are bad and rude. Some of the teachers even disregard their disruptive behavior! It's absolutely ridiculous!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2010

I attended this school from 2004-2008. First of all I must say that the only good thing that I took away from this school were the lasting friendships that I made. As far as teachers go, I can literally count on one hand the amount who truly care about their students. I can personally write a novel about the all of the situations in which teachers were rude and inconsiderate towards students. Allow me to say here that I was an AP student and I am currently attending a highly prestigious four year college. NO thanks to health professions high school. The teachers are mediocre and although it is a math and science school those who teachers these subjects are the worst in the whole school. Please do not send your children to this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2009

The school is awesome, the teachers are great & every student should come and see this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

i love my school becuz it rocks it give you everything yu need and pushes yu to do yur best and be yur bestt :))
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2009

My daughter is now attending this school and has great subject scores and learns alot of stuff. She could even teach me
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2009

This is a really great school and I loved my time here. I will never for get them class of 09 stand up
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2008

i am a proud alumni student in which benefited alot from here great school , will recommend to other i loved it and helps u reach for the stars teaches the value of the choice is withing yourself to be great mady alumni class 05


Posted December 2, 2008

Hi, I am a freshman here at HPHS..and so far...its actually a good school .The teachers are very sociable, good at making kids feel motivated and confident in their school work. Overall the school is well but needs more extra curricular activities..and more student invovlement...The school is also over populated with crowded hallways and that may be a disadvantage but you could make alot of friends at this school. So far I made alot of new friends. The school aids are very helpful and cool. With 3 schools in one big school.. it could take up a whole lot of space.HPHS is ok so far..lets see wat the rest of the freshman year brings me..Well I hope this helped the parents or the students that want to go here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 8, 2008

This high school is well maitained, and good teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2008

My daughter went here for two years. I only regret not getting her out after her freshmen year. It requires an 80-85 average in math for admission, then it rides out those junior high school gains w/o adding to it. After two years of math taught by a teacher who either did not know how to teach math b or wouldn't, my child was failing in math and convinced she was not smart in this area. When I sought help from the math teacher, head of department, even the principal, I was told that math b was 'hard' not 'easy' like math a, which she took in junior high. I transferred her to Benjamin Banneker in Brooklyn. My daughter's an A student in math again. She's being taught the steps to solve math problems. My child enjoyed Health Prof socially, but it was abysmal academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2008

I am currently attending this school as a senior. This school makes each year great. I really like this school. I would recommend to everyone who has a love for learning.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 16, 2008

well this school is a very calm school although it gets roudy in the hallways... its crowded but managable .... the teachers are fair graders but sometimes can be a little unfair.. they help you alot and there is alot of tutoring available but the students dont go... there are sports but they should have more programs... students need to be more involved... if you want to excel in health careers i think this is the school to go to...
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 12, 2008

I think that it is a very great school, At first my daughter was a little skeptical about it, but now she says that it is okay. Also they offer tutoring which is great. The teacher is really helpfull with the student. I think they offer lots of education and activities is just that you have to ask question in what's available, which every parent should do. overall I give this school a 4.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2008

I go to this school and it offers a challenging environment ith a lot of extracirrulars
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2008

Dont Worry About What People Say About This School Its A Really Great School And Yes I Am Attending It
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 30, 2007

i am currently attending this shcool and i have to say its terrible. The best thing would have to be the clean bathrooms. I mean for me i this is only my opinoin but i must say as i walk along the halls of this school i feel like kids could care less about their education, and the teachers could care less about the students. I mean certain teachers cant even control their students and they wont do anything about it. there is no discipline. As for the school uniforms no one wears them yet theres no punishment for thoes who dont wear them. So why should thoes who do wear them have to suffer in wearing the school uniform? Frankly i cant wait to tranfer out of this school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

341 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
54%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

253 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
65%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
46%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

445 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

27 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

544 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
74%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

583 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
68%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

539 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
69%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

424 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
76%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

199 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

466 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students57%
Female60%
Male53%
African American54%
Asian/Pacific Islander70%
Hispanic51%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population59%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant57%

Chemistry

All Students84%
Female83%
Male90%
African American76%
Asian/Pacific Islander86%
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Non-migrant84%

Earth Science

All Students65%
Female62%
Male71%
African American60%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population69%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English65%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant65%

English

All Students83%
Female83%
Male83%
African American81%
Asian/Pacific Islander91%
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities37%
General population88%
English language learners29%
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%

Geometry

All Students61%
Female63%
Male57%
African American54%
Asian/Pacific Islander76%
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities11%
General population65%
English language learners18%
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant61%

Global History and Geography

All Students66%
Female67%
Male67%
African American60%
Asian/Pacific Islander86%
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities27%
General population73%
English language learners16%
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant66%

Integrated Algebra

All Students67%
Female69%
Male63%
African American57%
Asian/Pacific Islander91%
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities38%
General population76%
English language learners48%
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant67%

Living Environment

All Students74%
Female72%
Male78%
African American58%
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities29%
General population84%
English language learners32%
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant74%

Physics

All Students94%
Female91%
Male100%
African American93%
Asian/Pacific Islander98%
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant94%

U.S. History and Government

All Students82%
Female85%
Male76%
African American74%
Asian/Pacific Islander93%
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities40%
General population89%
English language learners42%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the high school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 1 50% 23%
Black 2 24% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 21% 9%
White 2 5% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 14%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 189%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 5%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 57%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Medical
  • Science

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Medical

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
School leaders can update this information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 2302 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.4
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.2
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents68742%
Students152891%
Teachers8799%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 am
School end time
  • 3:45 pm
School Leader's name
  • MR. ROBERT GENTILE

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Medical
  • Science
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Busses - M1, M101, M103, M14AD, M15, M2, M23, M3, M34A-SBS, M8, M9. Subways - 4, 5, 6, N, Q, R to 14th St-Union Square; L to 1st Av
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Sofbtall
  • Track
  • Volleyball
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

345 E 15th St
New York, NY 10003
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 780-9175

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ps 226
New York, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT