Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jacqueline Kennedy-Onassis High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 721 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 28, 2009

everyone accepts everyone else's differences, and it's a place full of unity.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 25, 2009

I love JKO because everyone makes what we have work. Itz a good school and had dedicated teachers. I LOVE JKO:)
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2009

The school may be small but it has some of the most amazing teachers you could ever find. They're always watching out for you no matter what and are always there when needed. They've got great leadership skills and always inspire you to work harder.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 21, 2009

Work so hard to compete on all levels and to provide everyone with the same education as private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

I love jko b/c its a gr8 school and the teachers actually show an interest in their students.


Posted September 21, 2009

The most diverse & brilliant collection of students, teachers & administrators in the five boroughs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis HS, aside from having introduced me to some of the greatest people I've had the pleasure to meet, also introduced me to the city's hardest working and most dedicated teachers. I've never felt more at home in a school, than at Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

jacquline kennedy onassis dedicates itself about students needs nad it so versatile in many different aspects. JKO has a great learning environment and is like no other school
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2009

My school is really great. The teachers are really encouraging, and we are right in the heart of NYC. It doesn't get any cooler.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

JKO is the best. The teachers not only teach us, but actually care about our futures and help us create a school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2009

Being blessed to be a Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis H.S Graduate, I can definetly say the teachers, the students, even its location has prepared me for the future. It sounds a bit cliche but this fits the school to a T. Being a Business major, Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis H.S has demonstrated in countless ways on what I should expect in any business career with its classes and programs such as Virtual Enterprise, Junior Achievement,etc. The teachers are encouraging, they realize every students full potential and they make it a point to push each and every one of them beyond it. The teachers of JKO are also the most down to earth teachers you will ever meet, they are not ones you run from if you happen to meet them on the street. This school is a great school and after graduating I really can say I am proud to be a former JKO student.


Posted September 20, 2009

My school offer great educational opportunities and the teachers are helpful. They are also are very caring and dedicated to their jobs. In JKO, the atmosphere is awesome, welcoming, and friendly.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2009

Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis has a selection of the greatest teachers who make it their goal to help students succeed. They made us feel like we had a friend to talk to instead of a superior.


Posted September 20, 2009

the teachers are great and so are the kids in the school, i love jko! the spirit is so high. Love everyone in there and my friends
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2009

The business programs are great and prepared me for my business classes in college. The VE program was an invaluable experience!


Posted September 20, 2009

I walk into school everyday exited because I'm going to see my teachers. Everyone knows me by my name in that school even teachers I've never even had! Our principal is our friend hes the coolest most supportive principal I have ever had. My counselors are amazing. The students are great and friends that I will have forever! The school has many problems like any other school but nonetheless it is an amazing school and I look forward to waking up every morning.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2009

I love this school because they interact with the students. The teachers are great fun and you actually learn. I love this school because they care about their students unlike any other school. They make you want to be in the school. I love it!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 25, 2009

I love the school, it is a little crowded because it is a small school but the staff there are great. Due to its smaller size you really get to know them and become fond of them. The halls are a little crowded but after the bells ring its all good, u'll have a blast at JKO!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2008

JKO is an okay high school. I think it could be better. The halls are crowded...the teachers could be stricter. There are a lot of bad behaving kids. But there are also some good kids. The teachers aren't the best...the facility isn't the best either. But the small school is kind of safe. I hope that JKO will improve by the time I graduate.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 14, 2007

JKO could not have been a better match for my child. The environment is warm, welcoming and always friendly. From the security personnel to the administrative staff. The principal can be approached at any time, for any concern. Keep up the good work JKO.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
26%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
32%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
25%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

172 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
60%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

236 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
68%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

199 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
40%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
70%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

130 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
81%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

180 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students24%
Female20%
Male29%
African American0%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged14%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English24%
Not migrant24%

Chemistry

All Students72%
Female67%
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population72%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English72%
Not migrant72%

Earth Science

All Students43%
Female47%
Male38%
African American35%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities36%
General population44%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English45%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant43%

English

All Students65%
Female69%
Male61%
African American60%
Asian/Pacific Islander75%
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities38%
General population70%
English language learners30%
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant65%

Geometry

All Students41%
Female44%
Male37%
African American32%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities17%
General population45%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English42%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant41%

Global History and Geography

All Students49%
Female48%
Male52%
African American44%
Asian/Pacific Islander46%
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities32%
General population51%
English language learners19%
Proficient in English52%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant49%

Integrated Algebra

All Students63%
Female59%
Male68%
African American69%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities37%
General population67%
English language learners32%
Proficient in English67%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant63%

Living Environment

All Students64%
Female59%
Male70%
African American55%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities45%
General population68%
English language learners33%
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant64%

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students64%
Female64%
Male64%
African American53%
Asian/Pacific Islander75%
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities50%
General population68%
English language learners44%
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant64%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the high school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 70% 23%
Black 1 23% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 5% 9%
White 1 2% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 110%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 179%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 9%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 40%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 2%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
School leaders can update this information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 634 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.4
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
6.8
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents8313%
Students52377%
Teachers2858%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • MR. EDWARD DEMEO

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Business
  • Global
  • Humanities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Busses - M1, M104, M11, M2, M20, M3, M34A-SBS, M4, M42, M5, M50, M7. Subways - 7 to 42nd St-Bryant Park; A, C, E to 42nd St-Port Authority Bus Terminal; B, D, F, M to 47-50th Sts Rockefeller Center; N, Q, R to 49th St; 4, 5, 6 to Grand Central; 1, 2, 3, S to Times Square-42nd St
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

120 W 46th St
New York, NY 10036
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 391-0041

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ps 35
New York, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT