Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chelsea Career And Technical Education High School

Public | 9-12 | 465 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 16, 2009

I'm an alumni from Chelsea, I attended from 2004 through 2008 and I enjoyed my years there even when it wasn't as safe as it is now. Back then, you would walk into the building knowing there was going to be a fight that day but in the last couple of years the former principal (Timberlake) and his A.P.'s made the environment much safer and saw a drop in violence. I can surely say this school's employees are the most resourceful group of people I think I'll ever meet. I don't think Chelsea is the best school but if you attend it it's not the worst thing that can happen the teachers are great and teach you how to make the best of the situation.


Posted December 13, 2008

I am a sophomore currently attending Chelsea High and I really like it. I transferred there this year because I didn't like my last school. I loved how we can go outside for lunch and hang out. What I really noticed during my first couple of weeks was how friendly people were to me. Everyone has their cliques and stuff, but most of the people there are friendly. Sure every once in a blue moon there's a fight, but what school doesn't? The teachers there are also very cool. I've always been bad at math, but I went to one tutoring class in the morning and I already understood what to do! And then I passed math with an 80. The only problems I see is that there is low attendance sometimes, and the principal is really strict. I still enjoy this school a lot.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2008

I don't know what they are all talking about because the school is not all that great .the best part of it is lunch just because we can go outside. I don't like how you guys left everything else out why you guys talk about the gangs all the fighting .why you guys don't talk about that and classes are crazy the school is most likely to drop out of our school then go to college.so why you guys talk about that Chelsea high school is not a good school at all
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 1, 2008

I attended Chelsea High School and i have to say that i loved it. In my opinion the teachers were not only there to teach but to mentor the students through the daily troubles each and everyone of us faced. I also loved the neighborhood, where else could you visit the local art galleries, and shop at SOHO's boutiques all on your lunch period. The environment alone fostered to a daily learning experience. Yes, academically I would say that its an average school, but this is not due to lack of support from the teaching staff, or poor curriculum.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2007

I'm an alumni of Chelsea High School. I'd say the fondest memories are of being in that school. The teachers were always helpful and showed that they really cared about us, as students, learning. The friends I made are never to be forgotten. The parents I believe could be a little more involved. The academic programs are the best- C-Tech and CISCO Networking are two of the programs I was part of. As for extracurricular activities, I do wish the school had a proper music and art program. While in school I was surrounded by many talented kids. As for sports, the school would need a much bigger gym.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 17, 2007

I am a student who attends Chelsea High School. This school is just above average. I believe 50% of the students are here to learn and pass, 40% are not learning and are messing it up for the rest. The remaing percent are in between. They want to learn and are very smart but are just involved with bad association. I would grade this school a 6 out of 10. The teachers are here trying as hard as possible to help the students (us). The teachers are always involved and are trying to help those who want help, even those that dont.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
73%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
93%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
58%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
90%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
72%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
92%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
44%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

31 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students44%
Femalen/a
Male50%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant44%

Chemistry

All Students74%
Female80%
Male69%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population74%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%
Non-migrant74%

Earth Science

All Students73%
Female83%
Male67%
African American71%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities63%
General population76%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%

English

All Students93%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%

Geometry

All Students90%
Female96%
Male86%
African American87%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities80%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%

Global History and Geography

All Students76%
Female73%
Male80%
African American88%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities48%
General population87%
English language learners20%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%

Integrated Algebra

All Students72%
Female70%
Male75%
African American71%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities46%
General population82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant72%

Living Environment

All Students83%
Female74%
Male91%
African American76%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities58%
General population88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students89%
Female89%
Male90%
African American85%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilities90%
General population89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the high school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 61% 23%
Black 2 29% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 7% 9%
White 1 2% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 1% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 16%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 176%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 39%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
School leaders can update this information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 543 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.4
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
6.9
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents11929%
Students39795%
Teachers2782%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. BRIAN ROSENBLOOM

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts all
  • Technology
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Busses - M20, M21, M5
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Sofbtall
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

131 Ave of the Americas
New York, NY 10013
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 925-1080

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Nyc Ischool
Manhattan, NY




LREI
New York, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT