Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Norman Thomas High School

Public | 9-12 | 1131 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 23, 2007

I graduated from Norman Thomas three years ago. In contrast with the other reviews Norman Thomas offered me many opportunities and prepared to attend a top 10 liberal arts college. If the student is committed to learning he/she will find many opportunities and great mentors. While at NTHS I had great mentors (Ms. Ofeck and Mr. Ravage and Ms. Darios)they help and guided me with the college application process. There are many resources available, to help the student become involve in a variety of academic programs inside and outside NTHS. If you attend this institution make sure to become involved in different extracurricular activities, take a few AP classes, maintain a good GP and you will most likely be accepted in a good college. Make sure you visit the college office, maintain good relationships with teacher and the administration they will defiantly help you in the college process.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 11, 2005

The school has a great business program but overall it needs quite a bit of work. The principal and parent coordinator are very helpful, but I'd like to see a bit more enforcement by them in terms of the teachers and students acting out. I went here last year and now am in a way better school and a way better environment, overall. I do sincerely hope they get their acts together.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 7, 2005

I believe as a student of this school that parents need to be warned before sending their kid(s) to this school because it is nothing like they say it is. Teachers dont want to teach, security needs improvement. Something needs to be said and done in order for something to get done about this matter. Sincerely, Damien Robertson
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 3, 2005

I went to this school and I feel that I does not prepare you for college. The environment is very hostile. The students seem to be more concerned with hooking up, rather then learning what is need to succeed in life. If I had to do it over again I would go to a liberal arts school, which would prepare you better for college. Business courses can always be learned in college but without a good foundation of liberal arts, it makes college life very difficult!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 27, 2004

I went to this school for my freshman year only (2001-2002). I really did not find this school too satisfying. I do have to say that there were a few good staff there. Other than that, my favorite thing about this school was the extracurricular activities, which I definately participated in. The quality of teaching is much better, I am now a senior in another state and I can say that I learned more the days that I showed up in class freshman year than I have since moving before the start of my sophomore year.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 15, 2004

The school so far seems to be good but I don't agree with the fact that the kids cannot have a cell phone. After 9-11 and the black out I am shocked that the kids cannot have cell phones. God forbid something was to happen to my daughter on the way home or another terrorist attack how will I know where she is? At least with a cell phone if she can't contact me she can contact someone I know and we would keep in touch. It's not like you can trust the public phones that more than half the time do not work. I think something should be done about this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2004

I just Graduated in June of 2004 and I must say that the school and teachers provided me with all the techniques I needed to start off my college experience. However, the security in the school must be changed. The security guards are to friendly with the students and most of the time let the students get away with a lot of things.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 16, 2004

While I respect Mr. Satin for trying to make Norman Thomas a better school I have to say that the students that hang out on the 6th floor need to be removed from the escalator area. As a parent I expect that my child goes to school to get an education that will help her excel in life. Everytime I visit the school I see students (female) who are more concerned with their lovelife than their classes and the male students are too busy trying to prove they know more than the teachers. In conclusion it would be a good idea if the teachers would utilize the disipline codes rather than waste their time trying to go toe to toe verbally with students who haven't got a clue. There are enough security in the building; utilize them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2004

My Daughter currently attends this school and she loves it. Since she started Norman Thomas in 2001 the school has added programs that seem to interest the students. Like any other public High School there are fights but since the arrival of Jean Pierre violence in the school has gone down. I think Norman Thomas is a great school and that Mr. Satin and the teachers, security guards and other staff should keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2003

I graduated from Norman thomas last year, and to be honest this school did not approach all my need as a student.


Posted August 26, 2003

My 3 sisters-in-laws attended this school. I am appalled to see the quality of education in this school right now. My two children currently attend this school. I am saddened to see that the dress code is not enforced, and the number of gang members attending the school. The fights occuring almost daily outside the school is of great concern to me. I am hoping my kids come out with a good education to start them in at least a part time job to help them through college. The teachers are to be commended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

this is a grate school and its an individual kind of setting for students. In general you will get what you put in from this school . awsome business programs!!!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 64% in 2012.

31 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
8%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 78% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 73% in 2012.

232 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
16%
English

The state average for English was 82% in 2012.

463 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
72%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

6 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
66%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2012.

31 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
25%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2012.

396 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
41%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 72% in 2012.

280 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
37%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 78% in 2012.

248 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
49%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 79% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

86 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 79% in 2012.

474 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students22%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

Earth Science

All Students19%
Students with disabilities3%
General population23%

English

All Students62%
Students with disabilities27%
General population68%

Geometry

All Students13%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population13%

Global History and Geography

All Students30%
Students with disabilities7%
General population33%

Integrated Algebra

All Students26%
Students with disabilities5%
General population31%

Living Environment

All Students49%
Students with disabilities21%
General population53%

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students40%
Students with disabilities7%
General population44%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "F" for the high school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 71% 23%
Black 26% 19%
Asian 2% 9%
White 2% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 21%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 79%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 61%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 488 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
6.7
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
6.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
6.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
6.8
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
6.6
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
5.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
6.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents8520%
Students37364%
Teachers30100%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. PHILIP MARTIN

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

111 E 33rd St
New York, NY 10016
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 576-0500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Aaron Academy
New York, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT