Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Norman Thomas High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1131 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2013

I live across the street. NTHS is probably the worst school in the United States. Fewer than TWO PERCENT of graduates are ready for college and I would wager that a significantly greater percent will spend time in prison. It is that awful. Admin told me they had a good business program; no it doesn't. It is a terrible, rotten school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2012

This school is awful, it's a good thing there's closing down, as the parents can't even get the info they need to find out how their children are doing, with their classes, grades, etc. Parents are calling all the time but can't get through, and if the children won't let the parents know, how else are they to find out? There's NOTHING listed on the school's schedule for up coming events, even though there's an important parent/teachers meeting coming up in two weeks (Oct. 25 and 26th). I realize the school is closing, but why won't they keep parents abreast of what's going on? This is crazy people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2012

I love this school and I love the teachers and the administration!!! Principal Martin is the kindest person. He is always available. This school should not be closed!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 18, 2011

Page 1.1/7 As you continue reading, I tried to explain these factors and things we can do to stop this oracle of educational failure and apartheid. a) The excessive infusion of politics and control by the mayor and his minions; b) Changing dynamics of the students' population c) Unrealistic expectations as reflected in the designed curriculums and performance rubrics d) Incompetent leadership within the school and the district superintendent's office e) Lack of parental engagement, ineffective use of observation as a form of evaluating performance over capacity building f) Excessive focus on teaching to pass the state test NTHS, however, continues to offer some of the most innovative vocational programs to our learners that proved very effective in highlighting essence and relationship of their core academic courses with real life situations. They brought in a new principal, vigorously supported by faculty members, students and parents. The superintendent's announcement, amidst the visceral and quantified positive changes, that NTHS could not rehabilitate itself.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 20, 2011

NTHS is an upstanding school. Big schools have the luxury of basketball, baseball, gyms, libraries. Well organized with secretarial staff including payroll, pupil accounting, Principal's & Assistant Principals, Record Keeping, Attendance&Programming, Senior's & security dept. & treasurer secretarial staff. We offer students opportunities daily w/afterschool programs, and weekend Regent's prep & SAT's. Because we are a big building we have dances and lots of student athletic opportunities; 1 student was endorsed by the Yankees. 73% of our kids are Hispanic making it difficult for them to find schools and possibly dropping out. Charter schools do not compare to the quality of a big building. In small schools 1 secretary has to do all of the segmented organized secretarial roles listed above. We need support from parents/students to show up to school for all the carte blanche programs we offer to facilitate higher scores, finals, regents and report cards. Merging schools in a big building is the most efficient way to run a school; we can have several schools in the same building and run with a proficient system.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 8, 2010

Norman Thomas High School is a good school offering many programs such as Big Brothers and Big Sisters, Future Business Leaders Of America, the best classroom with rugs for the double period virtual enterprise class.Every Academy has their own President,Vice President,and Secretary.The staff and teachers really care and love the students.I get phone calls and letters of my progress in school: wether its bad or good. The majors that are offer in this school are nice. Travel And Tourism,Accounting,Fashion Marketing,Entrepernuership,Media Technology.....The School is divided into 3 Academies.People from Outside might see the bad side but the school is good.Many students walk around with a 90n and above average and getting accepted to Berkely college,St. John's.....etc. NORMAN THOMAS SHOULD NOT CLOSE!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2010

4 year graduation rate: 37.0% 9th-graders reading on level: 23.6% Tell me again why it shouldn't close?


Posted November 5, 2010

it is an embarrassment that such a illustrious school not too long ago is allowed to be part of the NYC Mayoral and Electoral politics. While the teachers are attempting to continuously motivate students with plethora of difficulties, with a large number of special needs, the forces at helm in Tweed and the DoE have thrown all sort of tricks into the mix to prevent the school from achieving, such as budget cuts that prevents effective teaching. Meanwhile, small schools get everything done with a flicker of their fingers. So much history, from Central Commercial High School to Norman Thomas High School cannot be bought but earned through the annals of history. It is amazing that the school can achieve some much, of which the City has determined is not enough.


Posted October 6, 2010

For a moment I thought that the principal was doing a phenomenal job. I realized that his change agenda was based on the premise of the "impression of change." His leadership can be defined as simply obtuse: lacking sensitivity to the faculty who supported him, inept cognitve perception of what must be done to make swift meanigful reforms to save NTHS and the now apparent truth that he, like all the remaining administrators in school, are just as good in terms of the self interest. Looking back, Mr. Satin did everthing he could to save the school. He fought to keep the school open. He wrote an op ed in one of New York's leading newspapers. The problem we faced was that the vision was not really his. It was theMayor's. That made it difficult for him and leaders of other schools in New York City to implement.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 4, 2010

The new principal is overall excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2010

I am a freshman who started of in NTHS, but moved to connecticut, norman thomas is ther best school , like how can i explain the vibe is qreat teachers motivate you, you have fun daily, for fun we would do dances w, every grade its so fun, since im a freshman i dont knoe how it was b4 but i knoe its great now, mr. martin is so unique he shows us he loves & cares for us myy favoritee JP lol he would constently fool around w, me make me laugh care bout my health he would allways make my day i woould just go to his office everyday to see himm his like ah father to me i love him, but i moved to CT , so i wish qood look to NTHS
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 16, 2009

Norman Thomas Is The Best! I Love All My Teachers! With Our New Principal Mr. Martin The School Has Gone Better.Every Morning When I walk to school, i literally see kids runing to school and wit our old principal, it was like he did'nt care.Were Glad To have Mr. Martin Because At least Now It Feels like Someone Cares about us.All the teachers care about us.Its the students that starts problems.Last Year in the staircase students were hanging out and now this year so far...everyone's been in their class..A Few Of my favortie teachers is Ms.Cordero,Ms.Diaz,Ms.Perri-King....
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 2, 2009

I attend Norman Thomas right now. Norman thomas is not a bad school it the kids that make it bad. Norman thomas won the division A championship in baseball. A student from Norman thomas was drafted to the Yankees in 2009. it a good school. that why i would never transfer from thomas. NTHS is the Best. the New principle Mr.Martin is doing a good job, along with J.P.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2009

I graduated from there in 2006, and I have to say that there are some great teachers there and there are lots of opportunities if the student makes an effort. Also I think its important for the student to be part of extracurricular activities and be informed about career opportunities, like the CENTER FOR THE ARTS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2008

I ike the location of the school. i also have to say that one of my favorite teachers would have to be Mr. jensen helped me get prepared very well for the regents. I believe it's not the students failing it's the teachers not getting us prepared and ready enough for big new york regents. if there was anything i could change about this school it would have to be better teachers, better lunch food and better staff.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2008

Teachers are very helpful; specifically DrLevine for global history. He is also my favorite teacher I will be the first of my family to graduate from nths; my brother attends here, too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2008

I am a student at this school and I am transferring out. The reason is because there is a fight like about week and most of the time the teacher is always interrupted by an annoying kid/student that doesn't really care about HS. Most of my fellow class mates are failing there classes and they blame it on the teachers. I think that the school and teachers are great its just that the kids/students in the school are the ones that mess up Norman Thomas as a school and its name.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 14, 2008

This school its really not what many think. Its the worst. This school is in need of a better teaching program and teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2007

Well, now as I look back at this statement, I can truly say that Norman Thomas has improved its standards. Mr. Satin has done his best, security has improved, Teachers are on point. I am glad that I am a graduate of Norman Thomas(class of 06'). It's so funny how i don't even remember writing this review before. But as I look back I can say that there has been a change. Damien Robertson
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 8, 2007

I attended Norman Thomas and I have to say that honestly the school it's not bad at all. In fact, there are many opportunities that the school provides and plenty of help from the teachers and staff, but it all depends on the student. Through Norman Thomas I was able to get involved in many programs including art and business programs, that prepared me for college. I took AP courses and was involved in extracurricular activities. So, there are alot of opportunities,it's just that student has to be interested in participating.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
8%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
16%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

185 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
72%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

6 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
66%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
25%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
41%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
37%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
49%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

86 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

291 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Earth Science

All Students9%
Female13%
Male7%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic10%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged10%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities7%
General population10%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English15%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant9%

English

All Students39%
Female46%
Male34%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic37%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities20%
General population43%
English language learners25%
Proficient in English46%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant39%

Geometry

All Students18%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant18%

Global History and Geography

All Students34%
Female42%
Male29%
African American43%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities14%
General population38%
English language learners10%
Proficient in English38%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant34%

Integrated Algebra

All Students49%
Female44%
Male51%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic49%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities7%
General population61%
English language learners52%
Proficient in English48%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant49%

Living Environment

All Students37%
Female30%
Male42%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities8%
General population40%
English language learners54%
Proficient in English32%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant37%

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students53%
Female60%
Male48%
African American54%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities23%
General population58%
English language learners45%
Proficient in English56%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant53%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "F" for the high school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 1 71% 23%
Black 2 26% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 2% 9%
White 2 2% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 221%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 279%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 61%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 488 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
6.7
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
6.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
6.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
6.8
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
6.6
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
5.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
6.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents8520%
Students37364%
Teachers30100%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. PHILIP MARTIN

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

111 E 33rd St
New York, NY 10016
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 576-0500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Murray Hill Academy
New York, NY



Aaron Academy
New York, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT