Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 3 Charrette School

Public | PK-5 | 813 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 13 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

60 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 16, 2009

i have told all my friends in sweden and the uk about our incredible experience we have had at ps3 for the last 3 yrs. the school s staff and teachers and its solid parent community has given us as a family so much love and given our children courage, strength and a sense of purpose as well as an appreciation of diversity and individuality that has no comparison with anywhere else in the world that we have experienced so far. the joy of learning is infused in everything that the school is about and the love and compassion for each other stretches across the age groups, genders and nationalities. i love ps3, what it stands for and what the school has taught us and shared with us as a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

What a great school. The staff the culture the families are so special. We moved to this neighborhood so that our 2 daughters could attend ps3 and we are so very happy with our decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

My daughter was learning about famous artists like Jackson Pollock in Pre-K here!! I have never seen a school with such parental involvement and teacher so involved in the development of their class before. Great family support and involvement! The children all are well balanced-ready-for-the-world type children. I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The teachers and administration really put the students first while maintaining a rich, varied and challenging academic environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

P.S. 3 Charette School understands children and how to help them learn. The principal, staff, teachers, and environment all contribute to fostering a life-long love of learning. It's a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

It is a great place for kids with special educational needs - all kids are welcome and appreciated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

My son's attitude about school has changed 180 degrees after 1 week at PS 3-- and that's a good thing! I have 2 kids there and I love everything about it so far...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Our school is a wonderful melange of superb academics, wonderful arts and loving, lively personalities. It is an incredible school filled with professionals who nuture as well as educate the terrific children who attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

A caring, creative place with great teachers, a fantastic principal, and kind staff too. PS3 nurtures both intellectual curiosity and individual expression and my child loves going there every day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

PS3 is a community of smart, loving, creative, community minded families dedicated to the education of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Its a non-traditional, creative, inspiring, community giving school. Children are taught to thinks outside the box.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

great community, progressive academics, caring staff, innovative curriculum, active parents, value the art curriculum which is robust.. we love it as does our son, who is in kindergarten there. we feel lucky.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2009

Rather disorganized and falling apart...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

This school is excellent. We love Lisa, Principal of the school. She is a very warm person.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2008

It interests me to hear that PS 3 is 'loose' or 'hippie' my experience over the 5 years of my son's education have shown me that PS3 teachers teach to the individual and assist each student in finding their own level of organization and self-regulation. We are also pleased to know that the school values the enviornment, collaboration, and peace.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2006

After moving to New York in 2003, PS 3 was a breath of fresh air for me and my son. This has got to be one of the greatest schools in New York. My son was welcomed in with open arms. He's made so many terrific and wonderful friends. The staff loves him and I love the staff. The children are exposed to so many different cultures and activities. After coming to PS 3 my son was one of the only students in the school who scored perfectly on the state math test. Which proves that given the proper enviornment and dedicated teachers are children can be productive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2006

The class parents have been great at coordinating after school events for families to bond. Overall - we enjoy the dedication of the school: faculty, kids and parents have respect for one another and consideration for the community - local and abroad, (exemplified by our support for a sister school in Afghanistan). We love how PS3 breeds creativity - the 4th graders, teachers and parents collaborated on a song (book, lyrics and score) featured in the Tribeca Film Festival doc. 'When Fried Eggs Fly'. PS3 nurtures, challenges and encourages exploration/individualism with support. It rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2005

This school is a gift. the teachers are wonderful, motivated educators - they find amazing ways to bring heart and soul to education - challenging children from as early as kindergarden to 5th grade - to be smart thinkers, involve them in problem solving and the creativity of being educated. they use the it takes a village attitude and apply it to students of all levels. everyone takes the time to meet, understand and value each other in a very meaningful way. my two children are completely different - one a straight, easy academic - the other a more out there flightly creative soul - both flourished in this environment. it is known as the hippy school, but dont think for one second they dont challenge your children to greatness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2005

It's a great school. Not just for the kids but for the parents as well. The social life at the school is wonderful. Most of the parents are interesting people who think outside the box. One of the reasons they choose this school over ps 41. My child has just loved it and is sad to be leaving. He made wonderful friends with both the kids and the teachers. The teachers truly care and try to help as much as possible when a child is having difficulty or is falling behind. Not an easy feat at a public school where they don't have as many resources as the private. I wish they had more afterschool electives. I think this is very important and after having read a study from california showing how much it improved the children's social life and general well being...I would push for this!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2005

I love this school for my very self-motivated and creative child. They seem to really try to individualize the education for each child. Teachers have lots of autonomy and tend to stay longer than at many schools. They try to match the child to the teacher's style. High scores, high parent involvement. Kids get dance, music, computers every week, and a potttery workshop once or twice a year. 4/5 grade did a series on food last year that included going to markets, cooking and going 'behind the scenes' at some fancy restaurants.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 65% 48%
Hispanic 1 15% 23%
Black 2 9% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 8% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 2% 1%
Two or more races 2 1% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 4%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 17%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 6%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 43%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 515 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
9.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.0
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents46974%
Teachers4694%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. LISA SIEGMAN

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Fencing
Girls sports
  • Fencing

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

490 Hudson St
New York, NY 10014
Phone: (212) 691-1183

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Lukes School
New York, NY




LREI
New York, NY



City Country School
New York, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT