Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 33 Chelsea Prep

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 459 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 20 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 31, 2014

PS33 is a great school with some of the best teachers in NYC and a very strong principal. It's too bad that some parents have to report erroneous information about the school when they can't get their way about something....it just damages their own child's education. The school has been an "A" school specifically because of the principal's leadership - she is the one that took the helm of a failing school 10 years ago and made it one of the most sought after schools in the city. PS33 remains the one of the most diverse schools in the city and all students, whether in general education or G&T, receive a first rate education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2014

As a P.S. 33 parent and former PTA member, I've witnessed the decline of this school under the directorship of the current principal. The school has a lot of programs, but often are geared towards the families that have a lot of extra money to spare. When families can't pay, they can't participate. In the neighborhood, the school has a reputation for marginalizing students who are not "gifted and talented". Those students get the better programs and resources. The special education at this school is terrible. I'm pretty sure they are breaking some laws because there are NO 12:1 classrooms. I've heard similar things from other parents. The discipline is also the worst. Kids are rough housing and cursing at each other. The only factors keeping me in the community are the stellar teachers and my daughter's social circle. The teachers are the ones that keep that place together. My daughter has been at this school for the past 5 years and have had an excellent teacher most years. I've become good friends with a few of them and have told me they don't support the unethical decisions the principal makes, but fear for their jobs if they speak up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

My schools has the best teachers in the city! My son is having a great experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

The school is little bit disorganized, but all staff are dedicated to improvement. They work really hard to make good things happen to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

PS33 is a very good school for my daughter. Since my daughter was enrolled in this school two years ago, she has made rapid progress in class. The principal, teachers and staff are very kind. My daughter really enjoy her study here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2013

PS 33 is an excellent public school with top notch teachers and principal and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2013

The Principal, admin staff and teachers at PS33 are exceptional. They have shown so much care for the children throughout the school year. My daughter has learned a lot while strengthening her love for learning. I cannot ask for more. She already cannot wait to be back in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

Chelsea Prep's Gifted and Talented program is amazing. My children's kindergarten experience was outstanding. Their teacher was so enthusiastic, thoughtful and creative. She was in constant communication with parents and is a devoted teacher who clearly loves teaching and her students. The school is racially diverse and has a strong sense of community. Parent involvement at school is strongly encouraged. The PTA is committed to maintaining high standards for the school. And the principal provides strong leadership, is very hands on and practically minded. She is also accessible to parents and very present at the school. I feel very lucky my children got into this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2013

Amazing kindergarten experience for our 6 yr old daughter at PS 33. She was in G&T K117 and had an incredibly motivated and committed teacher. Lots of field trips, engaging course units - our daughter not only advanced by leaps and bounds in reading, but developed a passion for writing as well, creating books of her own at home just for fun. Homework load was more than we would have liked, but at least with this teacher it was due on a weekly basis, allowing for more flexibility and keeping it from crushing our daughter's natural interest and excitement about learning. While the school as a whole is subject to many of the administrative difficulties common to NYC public schools, and we're not entirely happy with the segregation of G&T and regular track classes, there is a very committed PTA and a good feeling of community among many of the parents - this is a school that is improving every year, and is definitely aiming high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

The Principal, Asst. Principal ,Teachers and Administration Staff of PS33 are the best! The PTA Body is very strong and dedicated that assists in the success of our children and school. Safety and excellence is given high priority at all times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

PS 33 Chelsea Prep is home to some of the best teachers I have ever had the pleasure of meeting and working with. Each teacher gets to know the strengths and weaknesses of every student and then works to create an environment that seems custom tailored to specifically meet those needs. The teachers reach out to parents with useful feedback regarding their child's academic performance. They also reach out to parents when there are concerns regarding social development as well (whether it be a concern about bullying or basic growing pains). I love that the teachers form bonds with the kids making the child want to show his/her accomplishments to all of his/her previous (and very interested) teachers. The school also brings in fantastic enrichment programs in the arts. I do feel that the children and teachers are unnecessarily stressed out about the ELA and math tests; I have seen children crying before and after these tests and know that many of the children are so fearful of these exams that they become physically ill over it. I genuinely believe that the children would do even better if they were not led to believe that these tests are the be-all and end-all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

PS 33 (CHELSEA PREP) is an amazing learning environment. Our daughter is going into 4th grade and has attended the school for 3 years. The principal and the teachers really care about the academic, social and personal development of the students. They allow for a dynamic learning environment, where there is not only a focus on developing core math and reading skills, but utilization of the arts, field trips, nature and community as teaching/learning experiences. The parents are incredibly active and support the school. Every time I attend the school for an event, I am absolutely impressed with the achievements of the students and the ongoing support of the faculty, parents and community. The G&T program is amazing and our daughter has flourished as a result. I cannot say enough great things about PS 33. The reviews speak for themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

Our daughter attends the G&T program at the school and we love it. The teachers are incredible -- kindergarten teacher Ms. Akin sets the standard on what "teacher" should mean. I am constantly shocked by the amount our daughter has learned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

We are thrilled with our son's experience at PS 33. His teacher's have been extraordinary. There is so much offered to the children--we feel very lucky that he is there. It's a smaller school--so we don't feel lost in a big school environment. The quality of the work the kids do is amazing. The kids are challenged, but learning still remains fun and exciting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

Chelsea Prep is a thriving community. Under the leadership of Principal Lindy, with incredible support from the staff and the PTA, this school continues to gain momentum. It is a diverse community, with families from all walks of life. What we have been most impressed with (we have two children enrolled) is the scope of education provided. Principal Lindy encourages the teachers to reach beyond the school walls for learning opportunities, and provides them with the support and freedom to do so. We are thrilled to be a part of this exciting time at Chelsea Prep.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

I am very impressed with PS 33. My child attends a G&T class, and we chose to enroll at PS 33 rather than our zoned downtown school. It was a great decision for us. The families are wonderful. The kindergarten teachers are excellent. And many many field trips are included in the curriculum, which provides a much more experiential component to learning-- which is a great fit for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2013

Our school has been really wonderful for our son. The teachers are very dedicated and the principal is fantastic. We have collaborations with many NYC institutions. We are very pleased with our choice - the G&T is amazing and the student body very diverse
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

My school - Chelsea Prep PS 33 is an amazing place for children to learn. Our principal Mrs. Lindy has done so much to create a great collaborative alliances with The Audubon Society, The Whitney Museum, Google and others. She attracts amazing teachers who are very committed to the students. The physical plant of the school may not be the fanciest but the school has a lot of heart. The parent body and PTA are doing more and more to make the school the best it can be. We are very please to be a part of the PS 33 community
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

PS33 was such a surprise when our kid was accepted at Chelsea Prep. We dud not know anything about the school and the district. We are now so happy about the school, the principal; and the teachers that we would not even consider another school in the area. Our son is thrilled about the program at G6T, the friends he made from different parts of the city and the teachers he cherished throughout the years: A lot of parents should know about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

I can't say enough great things about our school PS33 and it's staff. The teachers are very helpful to the kids and the parent as well. Our PTA doing more and more thing for the school to be more successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students59%
Female61%
Male55%
African American8%
Asian/Pacific Islander89%
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population63%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant59%

Math

All Students73%
Female67%
Male80%
African American54%
Asian/Pacific Islander89%
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students52%
Female45%
Male58%
African American29%
Asian/Pacific Islander72%
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities20%
General population57%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant52%

Math

All Students50%
Female39%
Male63%
African American21%
Asian/Pacific Islander85%
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities10%
General population57%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant50%

Science

All Students94%
Female100%
Male88%
African American85%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students30%
Female31%
Male29%
African American40%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic22%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population35%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English33%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant30%

Math

All Students14%
Female10%
Male19%
African American10%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic6%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population16%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English15%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant14%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 1 36% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 26% 9%
Black 2 17% 19%
White 1 16% 48%
Two or more races 2 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 111%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 164%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 6%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 48%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 395 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.9
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
9.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents36283%
Teachers3392%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. LINORE LINDY

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

281 9th Ave
New York, NY 10001
Phone: (212) 244-6426

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Corlears School
New York, NY


New York Hebrew
New York, NY


City Country School
New York, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT