Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

P.S. 40 Augustus St.-Gaudens

Public | PK-5 | 582 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 14, 2014

We are so grateful to have our son enrolled in Kindergarten at PS40. We have been thilled from day one with the teacher, the school administration and PTA. This week the school is organizing a reading Olympics which is a fantastic way to encourage your young children to read. They also have Family Fridays when we can come into the classroom and participate in a family project with the kids. In December it was the book fair, the healthy bake sale, the international potluck lunch, the school is active in so many ways and provides so many opportunities to participate in your child's everyday school life! Especially as working parents to know that your child is excited to go to school, is learning a tremendous amount on a daily basis (our son is now reading to us and he is not even 6!), more importantly maybe that they have the patience and profesionalism to channel positively high energy kids is also a total relief for us. We have been very impressed with the school in general, its leadership and organization. From workshops to field trips to special days we have really felt like this was the perfect environment for our child and we are extremely grateful for that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2012

I really love PS 40. This is my second child who has been part of the NYC educational system. The first child experienced private education as her primary school experience. PS 40 is the best of all worlds. The teachers follow varying teaching styles, so your child will have experience with a variety of personalities,. While this may seem disappointing to some parents, it is a necessary skill for children to have. All the teachers are invested and good at what they do. The staff and faculty is receptive to parent discussion, and doesn't spend useless time wasted on the parents who constantly complain but instead remain proactive about educating. The neighborhood is community oriented and the parents all hang out at the parks surrounding the school. Everyone pitches in to help each other. And honestly, the Halloween party is the best i've ever seen at a public school. It should be written up as an event must go. No school is perfect, but this is as perfect as it gets--true community, true educating, true parenting. Yes, they have gossip, and the rest-- but come on... we are talking humans, people. All schools are subject to humanness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2012

Very disappointed. Principal has favorites. Does ZERO about the bullying going on here (rampant). PTA bickering and gossiping. Happy to be out of there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

just testing to see whether this review system works thank you. I will be posting a longer review shortly.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 31, 2011

We entered this school cautiously after considering private school, worried about academic rigor and class size. After a few years I can say my concerns were totally unfounded. With a middle class-to-affluent zone area (downside: not that ethnically diverse), these kids as a general rule behave well, come in socialized to the school situation from nursery school, and have involved parents. That, plus strong teachers means that classes of 25 have really not been a problem. My son adores his teacher and LOVES this school. We will have to pry him out with a crow bar after 5th grade. The reading program is intense, starting in kindergarden, and each kid is assigned an individually-tailored reading level that pushes them to maximize their abilities. The district 2 math program "TERC" is different from the way I learned and so I was suspicious, but it seems to work. There is more emphasis on concepts and logical problem solving than rote memorization. A lushly funded PTA provides things like chess, visiting authors etc. The principal is warm and thoughtful and knows every child by name. And with a neighborhood school, all my son's school friends live in the neighborhood!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2011

Lousy staff who yell and punish kids for any small infraction. The Parent Teacher coordinator talks to parents as if they too were 6 years old. BEWARE
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2011

Incredibly satisfied with the school. Amazing teachers in every grade and subject One of my kids has been there since pre-k and is now in 4th grade. The principal gets an A++++ for everything. PTA does amazing work for the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2010

Both my children have had a fantastic education and have been extremely happy at PS40.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2010

We joined the school this year and felt very welcomed. It is like a family. Class size could be better but it is not so bad. A lot of activities and PTA involvement. I wish it had some G&T or advanced curriculum. Overall, we made a great choice and I wouldn't change it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

Teachers are great. They really teach well. My son is learning so many things. But you can tell they don't have enough man power as it is always a case for a public school. When a student gets injured or gets sick, they ask two other students escort that student to a school nurse even in kindergarten.


Posted November 10, 2009

Very negative teachers and staff. Happy to be out of there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2009

We love PS40/NYC because its our home away from home. A place where children are learning, are happy and well nourished. A parent can't ask for anything more. Great community, principal, Teachers and staff who truly works above and beyond the call of duty. Such a blessing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Great sense of community spirit enhanced by Teachers and all staff making students enriched with pride and enthusiasm!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2008

I am an alumni student from PS 40. I love PS 40 so much, i find it as a second home. The teachers are warm and friendly, but teach you lots, if you just listen. That is a thing i learned at PS 40. If you listen, you learn. PS 40 is great for literature and science. 40 isn't as strong on math. Our principal is okay, but sometimes she is not fair.


Posted August 22, 2007

My son who is now 17 yrs old graduated from PS 40. It is here where he got the solid foundation for his successful academic life. He went on to School of the Future and excelled in every aspect. He will now be attending Binghamton U and continues to have the love of books and hunger for knowledge that PS 40 instilled. I am glad to say that my daughter who currently attends PS 40 (3rd grade) is receiving the same caliber of education, although many changes have taken place since my son attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

My two children attended this school for several years until we moved in 2004. It is highly supported by the loyal and dedicated parents from the neighborhood, predominantly Stuyvesant Town. The principal at the time was wonderful but was recently promoted up in the BOE. I'm told the new principal is very good. The facilities are old but well maintained. The teaching staff is very strong and dedicated. Class sizes were relatively small (20-25). We miss the school very much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2006

My son entered PS 40 in the middle of 5th grade. I was extremely impressed with the quality of the instruction and the positive community spirit of the school. There was a wonderful music program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2005

PS 40 is a very good public school. There is a strong emphasis on reading and writing, but a weak science program. Once a week the students participate in science, art, music, gym and library. It is a very warm and cozy school with great community spirit. Many of the teachers are innovative and enthusiastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2003

It was a difficult decision for us to decide between public or private school for our 2 kids. My gut told me that PS 40 was the right choice for our family. My son is now entering 2nd grade at PS 40. We are so happy and feel a part of something truly special! The principle is loved and supported by the teachers and it feels like there is someone at the 'helm of the ship'. Our principal knows every students name in the school. She even knew that my son was excelling in math. I have been very happy with the teachers. They have been warm and nurturing yet excellent educators and very receptive to parent involvement and concerns. My son is happy and very comfortable in his environment at PS 40. He is truly proud of his school. The families also make the school special. It is a diverse group of families that are very supportive and approachable. We have been thrilled with our experience at PS 40! It is a strong neighborhood school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2003

My daughter's Teacher is a really nice person and try hard to work with the children she helped to booste my daughter's confidence that was kind of destroy by her previous teacher (in the same school). I do spend a lot of time in her classroom and I feel that they don't spend enough time learning. The Principal usually don't have time to return phone call or to have a meeting with a concern parent unless is with a parent that has donated money or has some type of power. Overall the School is average, the principal is leaving, maybe we will be lucky with the next one.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 64% 48%
Hispanic 1 15% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 12% 9%
Black 1 6% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 2% 1%
Two or more races 2 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 12%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 215%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 7%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 47%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 247 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents22541%
Teachers2263%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

320 E 20th St
New York, NY 10003
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 475-5500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ps 226
New York, NY



Friends Seminary
New York, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT