Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

P.S. 51 Elias Howe

Public | PK-5 | 288 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 31, 2013

I am a parent at 51 and love the school. Everyone is working very hard to make sure each child's needs are met and the math common core presentation for parents understanding was excellent. The arts and music program led by those teachers is simply outstanding. My child is playing 2 instruments, reading music and involved in too many actives. This school and commuinty has grown in excellence every year. The teachers are passionate and there is even a health clinic. What I love about the school is that they are responsive to concerns always and finding ways to improve. This school is strong. They have met every challenge and used it as a chance to grow. I hope more positive strong people will join our "family of learners" back on the west side! PS 51 Rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

The new building is beautiful and staff and student moral has definitely improved since returning to Hells Kitchen. My child is very happy and enjoys school. Administration does not always communicate and seem welcoming to solving problems with parents. The best teacher is the music teacher! She really cares and there are many opportunities available to all students. There is so much potential for 51 to become one of NYC's best schools, however changes must be made to improve the learning curricullum and get on board with common core standards, test prep and workshops for parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

PS 51 is a great school with quality, caring teachers. I have always felt welcome and appreciated by the administration and staff. I've seen the rigorous work the students do (it is especially apparent in the many art and music presentations throughout the year). The many ensembles and afterschool enrichment programs offer a great variety of teaching styles and situations for all types of young learners. If your child was not "chosen" for a certain group, I'll bet you money he/she is already included in at least 1 other activity (or performing ensemble). There's so much that PS 51 has to offer our children. Let's support them instead of tear them down!! Go Elias Howe!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2013

As a teacher at PS 51 (of 5 years), I feel proud- and blessed- to work beside such dedicated and talented educators. I have witnessed first hand the hundreds (literally) of hours spent developing the new rigorous curriculum that is closely aligned with the common core standards for all grades. Teachers are constantly engaged in research involving the most effective teaching techniques. (This semester's focus is academic conversations in the classroom.) Most of this work is done before or after school in addition to the countless hours we spend differentiating our instructional materials for each and every student. I personally spend almost every lunch and prep working with the lowest and highest performing students to supplement their classwork in ways that will help every single child continue to achieve growth in their studies. I worked in 4 other schools before joining 51. Our administration is constantly walking in and out of classrooms and rehearsals offering support to teachers and students, unlike the other admin I've worked for who remained behind locked doors all day. I have never met a principal who spends more time with her students in the classroom than our principal.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 6, 2013

A relatively small school; staff know all children by names. My child has never felt unwelcome or bullied here - in fact, the school has a character education and other programs to help children treat each other with respect! Never heard staff "shouting" at children (unless in the crowded and noisy gym during recess or dismissal) or behaving towards them in a manner other than respectful and compassionate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2013

While the school administrators are rather unfriendly and very hard to reach, my child had a great relationship with his teachers, especially the music and art instructors. The overall level, however, is rather mediocre and the children don't get enough opportunities to learn beyond the very basics. The methods they employ are also rather archaic: one often hears teachers shouting and reprimanding the children as well as humiliating them in front of one another, marking certain children as "good" and others as "bad" very early on in life. Do not attend this school unless you have no other choice as the principal will not release your child if you wish to transfer to a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

This school's has went downhill in the past 3 years. I can count the good teachers with one hand. This kind of school is not suited for bright children. My child has become bored with the curriculum it's far too easy. The level of education is far below average. I believe once the renovating began last year the school went downhill. The bus strike was the WORSE. i havent been happy with ps 51 in about 3 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2013

School children's security is so bad its scary!!.. anyone can walk in and out.. have we not learned from this!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2013

Communication from school to parents is virtually non-existent. During Hurricane Sandy we did not receive a single email from the school for the entire two weeks. The website is useless, there is also no communication with parents as to when to expect their children to be home. There have been several occasions where my child was two hours late getting home--I was a nervous wreck. There is no outreach. Cannot recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2011

Very poor teaching quality compared to other PS in the neighborhood. School seems very poor, begging for donation every other week. Always asks for parent volunteers, without tightening children's security. Parents definitely need to work with children after school, you can't just rely on teachers at this school. Cannot recommend. Most parents took their kids after a year of attendance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2011

Thanks to Principal Ms.Sing-Bock and her STRONG leadership this school contuines to evolve... I'm just grateful for the commitment through out the years. I have two children who attend and a 17 years old who attended at one time. This school has great involvement of the arts...love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Excellent Principal, great teachers...small and intimate. individualized attention...good writing, math and arts programs/teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Challenge bring this school to great heights! Bravo!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

This school has to be one of the best schools in New York City. Its a small school that believes in the arts. Its amazing how the children learn with the arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

As a Pre-K parent this year I was made to feel very welcome in this small, family-feeling elementary school. With a great leader in the principal, Ms. Nancy Sing-Bock, this school has a wonderful heart and a strong arts emphasis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2006

The staff at this small school is wonderful and lead by a very accessible principal Ms. Singbok. They really encourage the children and provide lots of feedback to parents. In kindergarten, my son even attended music classes at nearby Turtle Bay and loved them. They also had ample opportunities for nearby trips to a bakery, fish market, etc.. This lovely little school has the most diverse population, with my son's classmates hailing from China, Egypt, and elsewhere. Parents and children are very welcome here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2005

I believe that having an open relationship with the teachers is the number one thing to do as a parent. My relationship with my daugher's teachers for the past three years have been great. Kindergarden was the first and most important year. Ms. C made that year so easy for me as a parent she communicated with me as well as I communicated with her about my daughters development. First and Second grade were wonderful as well. To summarize: The teachers all care for the children's social and academic developments. Good luck to you all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2005

The academic program in this school is good. Ms. Perlas, the fifth grade teacher, is WONDERFUL! She stimulated my son academically, while motivating him to strive for more. They also have an on site nurse. This was an added bonus because she could do routine check-ups, prescribe medications for colds, etc., & was onsite in case of an accident. They do not have an inside gym. They utilize the cafeteria at least once a week for gym class, but just installed an outside play area/jungle gym. Overall I like the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2004

I have been a teacher at PS 51 the Elias Howe School for the past twenty years and have seen tremendous growth. We are a small school with a diverse and rich multicultural student population where each student is given the support needed to succeed academically and socially. Students participate in computer, art, music and library along with other extra activities in the theater arts. Parents are involved both as decision makers and classroom support. Some awards: Winner of the No Child Left Behind Blue Ribbon School Award November 2004, Joel Klein s Top 200 List 2003, Pathfinder Award 2002. Come visit our school. You might find me working with a small group doing guided reading or maybe I ll be in the Computer Lab teaching the kids how to put together a PowerPoint presentation, make a graph or navigate the Internet while researching information for a class project.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
36%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 1 56% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 16% 9%
Black 2 13% 19%
White 1 11% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 3% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 15%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 281%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 22%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 30%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 213 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents18981%
Teachers2496%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. NANCY SING-BOCK
Fax number
  • (212) 315-7165

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

525 West 44th Street
New York, NY 10036
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 315-7160

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Dalton School
New York, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT