Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 59 Beekman Hill International

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 520 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

48 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 16, 2014

I have two kids at PS 59 and we love it. Yes, the PTA asks for a lot of money, that's part of what makes the school great -- parents in K and 1st self-fund a TA + the PTA pays for some amazing programs/school has enough in its budget to offer classes beyond the 3 Rs: weekly art, music, gym, science, library (all in dedicated classrooms) + special music programs, chess and technology (not all programs offerered for the full year). Three complaints: (1) we've had years with okay class size (21 kids!), but this year is a bad one with 26 kids in K (2 teachers) and 27 in second grade, the rumor is that the school still had a wait list (true?), so why not clear the WL and add another K class to reduce class size? I don't see how a second grade teacher can effectively teach 27 kids and this is really what may drive us to the burbs this year. (2) the school has a lot of international kids/ex-pats which is a wonderful learning opportunity, but it also means that there are always kids coming and going. Add to that kids moving to scarsdale, etc. and its tough if you have a sensitive kid who doesn't easily make new friends. (3) If you're buildling a new school, why not put in 2 gyms?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2014

I recently visited the school and have to say this school's principal and staff are amazing. Our child currently attends one of the 'best' private schools in this great city, but I have to say that pride, resources and community behind this school were impressive. The auditorium and technology in the school are so well equipped, it exceeded all the private schools we visisted The only question is student ratio, however, glad the parent body supports teaching aides in each classroom.


Posted January 23, 2014

A kindergarten child was just lost and left unattended in the school and walked out to his home block away lucky his parents where home . (Just like avonte) Please talk to your children and the board of education has a lot of explaining to do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

This is the IKEA of public schools. It is clean and shiny and has many, many options to choose from. On the other hand, it is huge, can be impersonal, is always asking for money and you'll have navigate much of your experience on your own. This elementary school feels like a college. On the plus side, the academics are solid. My son is pretty smart, and he's constantly challenged by both the volume and level of class work and homework. There are many "electives," from after-school clubs and chess to track and chorus. The kids also get science, technology and drama. On the minus side, it is huge - 600 kids over seven floors and two lower levels. I could see how a young child might be intimidated. Also, the size makes it seem under-staffed, and you really have to push to get personal attention. For example, there is only ONE parent coordinator for 600 families, so you'd better make friends with her if you want to know the inside scoop on things. Also, be prepared to pay up: the PTA is always asking for money or holding fundraisers. It would be good to have more info on where that money goes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2012

My daughter began Kindergarten at PS59 this year and I can verify that the hype is justified! This school is incredible. Highly involved parents, very generously funded PTA, dedicated staff, a welcoming family feel, and incredible extracurricular as well as regular day specialty offerings. The children I encounter in the halls, of all grade levels, all seem to be very happy with smiling faces and terrific manners! It is very endearing to consistently see the older kids stopping to hold doors open for me (I'm pregnant) and my Kindergartener. It is no surprise why this is the most sought after school zone to get into! Oh, and the brand new building on 56th is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2012

The school is fantastic! Amazing staff, facility, PTA, and after-school programs. We feel very blessed to have our son in this school and he LOVES it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2012

We have two sons in 59 and we can testify it has been just fantastic for us. We have been here for a year now and were very lucky as we arrived in time to benefit from the schools move into its brand new building. Our eldest joined in 1st grade and was a year behind after moving from out of state, the reading recovery program, along with the early bird support program means he is catching up to his peers much quicker than I thought possible. Our youngest is in Kindergarten and loves it. They both don't want to leave every evening! The PTA is amazing, very energized and manage to fund classroom assistants for most if not every k and yr1 classroom. I am not aware of a single negative issue at this school, and I am including feedback from all other parents I have spoken to as well - Cannot recommend enough!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2011

My son is in 1st grade and we have had a wonderful experience since his kindergarten year. His teachers have been excellent and are extremely responsive and accessible. The emphasis on reading and writing little stories starting in kindergarten is impressive. The parent body is very nice and down to earth and the PTA is very active and involved. I wish the science program was more robust and I'm hopeful that it will happen once we move into our new facility in Sept 2012. There are so many benefits of a neighborhood school that cannot be replicated in a g&t or independent school setting. Its so nice to walk around our community and recognize the other children and families from our school. It creates a sense of community in a very big city that is really heartwarming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2011

Teachers are excellent, Principal and her Assistant are great, PTA is taking care of everything happening at school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2010

The teachers and staff at this school are amazing. Our daughter has received an excellent level of attention in her kidergarten class and left school this year reading at almost a second grade level. The teachers are all very communicative with parents, and very helpful with respect to pointing out weaknesses and areas of strength for your child. The administration of the school is phenomenal, and and very inspirational to the kids (and me as a parent). It is perhaps the most well maintained school facility I have been in, public or private. We decided to keep our daughter in this school over moving her in the G&T program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

The teachers know our kids very well and know how to teach them, they have been very helpful in giving extra challenging work when appropriate. Admin is very focused, rightly so, on what is best for the kids; they could be better at giving advance notice of meetings/ events so that parents can plan. PTA is very active and raises money for many extra programs/ assistant teachers which are critical to the school's success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

It is the greatest school ib the world with the best teachers,staff and students.


Posted September 26, 2009

The school is new and conforms to the new Green standard that all schools in the future will be built on. Our teachers and facilities are 2nd to none. Our PTA is wonderful. And my son loves going to school. Why? 'Cuz it's fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

Because they welcomed so greatfully my kids that just arrived from France and did not speak any word of English at this time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I love Beekman Hill because of the incredible teachers, staff and the PTA. The teachers are amazing. Teaching is a passion for them not just a job. My girls love going to school everyday and are developing well in their academics. The teachers are always willing to meet and listen to my ideas or concerns regarding my girls. The entire staff is always helpful and friendly. And of course the PTA folks are always willing and able in helping the school, parents, and students in anyway they can. The school operates efficiently as a result.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

We love P.S. 59 because our teachers are loving and truly concerned about our children's growth and education. Also, P.S. 59 is a beautiful new school. The first 'Green School' in the state on NY! Go GREEN!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

It truely is more than a school where a sense of community and inclusivity are paramount. My child loves it here and I see her reach her full potential!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

It is a wonderful neighborhood school that empowers our children to be curious and be excited about learning
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

It is a dynamic school that embraces all its students and their families and encourages growth and learning to each child's fullest potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Wonderful teachers; a supportive, active and very present principal. This is the perfect spot for my daughter and our 3rd year at the school. A wonderful school with wonderful teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
87%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 59% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 16% 9%
Hispanic 1 16% 23%
Black 2 6% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 2% 1%
Two or more races 2 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 29%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 116%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 13%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 26%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Urdu

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 334 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.8
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
9.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents30263%
Teachers3276%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. ADELE SCHROETER

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Urdu

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Monitor the playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

233 E 56th St
New York, NY 10065
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 888-7870

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Saint Albans
New York, NY



The Browning School
New York, NY


The Family School
New York, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT