Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 75 Emily Dickinson

Public | K-5 | 635 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 26, 2013

This is an excellent school serving a very diverse populations. There are excellent teachers, strong leadership, and academic programs that take children from where they are to the next level. The arts programs are superior and the after school options are fantastic. As the parent of two children at PS 75, I cannot speak highly enough of my experience at the school. One of my children even qualified for city-wide G&T, and I decided to leave him there. I still believe it was the right decision!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2009

I am very happy with ps 75 it has been a great experience this year.My son was in kindergarden. I have told everybody that i know about the different programs that this school offers. Along with the diversity in families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

This is a great school. I've got 2 children in the dual language program and they both love it. The teachers are unbelievable. They seem to know each student very well. My daughter's been there since pre-K, and she has yet to have a teacher we've not been thrilled with. And we're picky. The principal is incredibly commited to a high quality education for every student. The diversity and dedication of the families is great. Other things that make a difference to me: an excellent art program and library! I went to a decent school in the suburbs, but it was nothing like this one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2007

We are very happy with the school in almost all respects. While it is a big, old NYC school building, the excellent teachers and principal have created a warm environment where children can and do learn. The extracurricular activities (chess, spanish dual language, mandarin after-school, etc) make for a very well rounded experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2006

My daughter has had a wonderful experience at P.S. 75. She enjoys music, art, chess every week and in second grade is now writing very creative stories in writers workshop. The Everyday Math program works for her and being in an inclusion class has not slowed her down one bit. The PTA hosts many family events throughout the year such as movie nights and chess nights so there is always something to do.The parents are very involved and the principal meets with them monthly to hear their concerns. Ballroom dancing for the 5th grade and an excellent children's chorus were recently added to the extracurricular enrichment activities. I think we also have one of the best afterschool programs in the district. This is a school worth considering.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

I think PS75 is a great school and the teachers are very understanding to I also went to this school in the 70's 2006
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2005

It's absolutly great! My two kids love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2005

Despite a dedicated principal and a wonderful teacher, this past year was disappointing. A new special ed program introduced was not successful & affected the quality of the school experience. The teacher was overwhelmed and not trained to handle the 'inclusion' children, who were extremely disruptive. Although some of the kids in my daughter's class were fine with the slow pace of her class, my daughter was bored and unhappy. Her kindergarten class had 3 or 4 totally unmanagable kids in it. Her class went on only one school trip the entire year. Overall, the school did not meet my expectations. Now, the art teacher has left the school which is a great loss and three of the first grade teachers have left for various reasons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2005

The principal, staff and teachers are excellent and the curriculum is challenging. My daughter learned alot in her first grade class. I found some of the students in her class to be a little 'rough.' But overall, my husband and I were pleased with her academic achievements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2005

I have twins in the dual language Kindergarten classrooms. There are 25 students in each class, and the diversity of the students really mirrors New York City itself. My children are very happy. They eat lunch in their classrooms, attend gym twice a week, & had an artist in residence working with them on a shadow box theatre puppet project for ten weeks. Last year, The PTA started a wonderful program of after school enrichment classes, including Dazzling Science and Art, Orff Music, Ceramics & 3 Dimensional Art, Cooking, and Ice Skating. The school's principal hosts a monthly parent principal chat, and has assembled a staff of dedicated teachers and administrators who work tirelessly to benefit the school community. We are moving to another state and I wish we could take the school with us!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2004

I wanted to love it, but had to move my child after 3rd grade. It all became a big remedial reading program and my child didn't feel safe outside the classroom. In general, classroom teachers were strong, but other adults in the building were mediocre to bad to worse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2004

My oldest son goes to PS75 and I am not happy with the school. The afterschool program fees go up considerably every year. The principal does not respond to personal requests to talk about the curriculum. The teachers barely give any homework, my son has not done a book report yet, he is in 3rd grade. The teachers only care about reading, they forgot there are other subjects like penmanship, language arts, math, etc. I feel his brain is not being developed in this school and I am looking into transfering him. I myself do homeschooling to make up for the lack of education that he gets in this school. PS75 is a social meeting place for him not an educational one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2004

PS 75 is a wonderful school with great teachers, and a lot of different programs. My daughter in fifth grade said: 'I don't want to leave this school, it's so much fun! I've learned so many things.'
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students25%
Female34%
Male19%
African American3%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged12%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities20%
General population25%
English language learners7%
Proficient in English27%
Non-migrant25%

Math

All Students43%
Female46%
Male39%
African American19%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic34%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities30%
General population43%
English language learners29%
Proficient in English44%
Non-migrant43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students25%
Female33%
Male17%
African American16%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged14%
Not economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities10%
General population28%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English29%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant25%

Math

All Students37%
Female40%
Male35%
African American24%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities0%
General population42%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English43%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant37%

Science

All Students85%
Female83%
Male87%
African American89%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities63%
General population88%
English language learners33%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students25%
Female30%
Male21%
African American20%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic15%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged14%
Not economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities14%
General population29%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English29%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant25%

Math

All Students28%
Female32%
Male24%
African American20%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities9%
General population33%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English32%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant28%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 52% 23%
Black 2 26% 19%
White 1 16% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 5% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 1% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 215%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 261%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 4%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 44%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 2%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 276 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents23647%
Teachers4093%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. ROBERT K. O'BRIEN

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

735 W End Ave
New York, NY 10025
Phone: (212) 866-5400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






The Studio School
New York, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT