Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 111 Adolph S Ochs

Public | PK-8 & ungraded | 587 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 15, 2014

Our children used to go to a top # 3 school on the Upper East Side before we moved to Hell's Kitchen and switched to PS 111. We were surprised how good PS 111 is, despite not so high ratings. It is actually better than the previous school: more honest and friendly. And we are very happy with the teachers at PS 111, they are so dedicated to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2014

Situated on the west side of mid-town this wonderful school has not yet received the rating it deserves. The entrance in the building is clean and bright. The Pre-K Coordinator, Ms. Zaida is wonderful and very professional. The pre-K Classroom is bright with large windows and well stocked. It is a safe and nurturing environment and parents are encouraged to participate on Family Fridays. The Pre-K playground is well equipped and a great place for kids to use each day. The pre-k class goes to the library a couple times a week and goes to music class. The Pre-k goes on several awesome field trips. They are currently constructing an amazing new playground that is state of the art with an outdoor classroom. The lunch room is large and surrounded by windows letting in wonderful light. I recommend this school for Pre-k. Take a tour and see what you think.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

my 3 children attended this school and i have to say it was the best decision ever, the teachers and dedication was amazing my son always looks back and says wow i miss that school he is in the air force now, my oldest daughter Bianca Soto also graduated from this school in college now and my youngest Isabella is in 8th grade time flies. awesome memories.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2012

I rate this school as a final product due to the teachings and values instilled in me when I attended it back in the day. This school has always impressed me profoundly and the teachers were so supportive which is why I am now who i am...a successful citizen in the U.S.A Hence, in memoriam I thank all the following teachers in my day: 1st Grade: Ms Valvo 2nd Grade: Ms. Silverman 3rd Grade: Ms. Dubow 4th Grade: Ms. Boyer 5th Grade: Ms. Korn 6th Grade: Mr. Moriarity Principals- Dr, Greene, Mr. Applebaum, Mr. Boyer


Posted November 8, 2010

it has been a home to my 3 children, my oldest graduated from there, my son and now my youngest is attending it is clean, the teachers are amazing, and I would recommend this school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

My daughter attended this school last year for pre K and the experience was truly extraordinary. The teacher she had was Bank Street College trained and very nurturing and bright. The teacher's aid was an invaluable addition to the class, especially since many children were going to a "big" school for the first time. She was patient, kind, and funny, gently turning those seperation anxiety tears into big smiles! I strongly recommend the lower grades, but I hear mixed reviews on the upper ones. PS 111 was a great start to public school for my daughter and I plan to send my son next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

I used to teach there, and the kids, parents, teachers, and administrative staff are great and deserve a helping hand up.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 7, 2009

The reason why I love my School, P.S. 111 is because the teachers and the administration go out of their way to do the best for their students and the parents. Within the last few years the school has grown so much. We now have great PE teachers (intermurals and sports teams), Music teacher ( who has created chorus and band classes), and a Science lab (Science fair). Great work P.S.111!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2008

After a terible experience at our zoned school, we are so pleased to bring our son to this nurturing and safe environment. My son is extremely happy at this school and the small class size allows for a great deal of individualized attention and invaluable parent teacher communication. I will tell any parent who is apprehensive about bringing their child here because of the school's mixed reputation to see for themselves that this is a very good school with the potential to be a great school especially since they are aquiring a gifted and talented program next year. I have great hopes for this school and give credit where credit is due to the teachers and administration who have been very welcoming and supportive of us this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2006

PS 111 is such a great enviornment for kids. I have a child in first grade who loves going to school everyday because of her two teachers and because of the student teacher she has in her class. They motivate her and truly inspire her learn. Everyday when I pick her up she tells me how she had a god time at school playing math and literacy games and doing science activities and art. She loves her class and her teachers. A great caliber of teachers!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2006

I have two grandchildren in the first grade (two different classes. I find the teachers and there support staff (special reading needs, speech impediments) to be excellent. The one thing I would hope that P.S. 111 would improve on is their absenteeism policy. If you have a very smart student that just happens to get sent home sick often, there should be a program that they can attend, whether after school hours or earlier than school hours to help them catch up. Parents who keep their children home constantly, should be reported. I give a big applause to Ms. Dwyer and Ms. Hernandez and think they are doing an excellent job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2006

The 'progressive' teaching methods used although seemingly stimulating and diverse in their initial phases are quite flawed. As a result of the lack of a more structured curriculum, difficulties and academic skill gaps during state standardized testing become glaringly apparent. Mathematics, writing and grammar are areas of serious weakness and private tutoring (at parental expense) of these subjects should be expected during the 5th 8th grade. Also not recommended for children with chronic physical disabilities. The lack of textbooks makes it impossible to follow their freestyle of teaching and although listed as a NYS SES provider they have no program in place for children that experience multiple absences due to illness. Such children may be held back no matter their intellectual abilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2005

Good teachers with a good heart... good mix of students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 9, 2005

A horrible experience. The biggest lie is that they want or have parent involvement. If you have a child with special needs you will be able to get those services here. Providing you stay on top of the administration. There are no music classes no science lab and for lower grades no gym. Run as far away as possible from this school and the insanity that the goes with the politcal hijinks involved with deterring people with any kind of common sense from participating in their childs education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2005

School potential relies heavily on Principal and teacher involvement. This school had great teachers and my children have done very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2005

As a former substitute teacher of 111, I have to say that the students of this school are undisciplined, disrespectful and the administration needs to focus on the behavioral problems of their students. I looked over the test scores and/or ratings and I am not surprised that this school does worst than average. You cannot teach a class if the class is 'over the top' and out of control. Most of the teachers are very young and they are just educations and they do not know how to discipline their class. Of course, this is a parents should have taught this to their children, but if they have not been taught, the teachers have to toughen up and gain control of their class. The principal of this school is not supportive of her staff. She is very condesending and wants a bunch of 'yes-men' in her staff.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 21, 2004

This school has an excellent academic curriculum, great extracuricular activities, and great after-school program.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
38%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

46 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
33%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
22%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
7%

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
25%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
13%

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
20%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
11%

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
38%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary and middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 60% 23%
Black 1 15% 19%
White 2 14% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 10% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 1% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 121%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 191%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 12%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 33%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 2%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 295 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.4
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
5.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
6.9
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
5.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
5.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents9822%
Students17893%
Teachers1933%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. IRMA MEDINA

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

440 W 53rd St
New York, NY 10019
Phone: (212) 582-7420

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ps 35
New York, NY



Ps 212 Midtown West
New York, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT