Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 116 Mary Lindley Murray

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 789 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

73 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 30, 2009

Academic environment is excellent. Field Trips are relevent and very substantial experiences for our childre, i.e. learning about the NYC water supply by visiting Acquaduct in Ossining, learning about Immigration by visiting Ellis Island and the Tenement Museum. Our children are challenged and have fun, lots of positive energy in the schcool despite tight conditions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

My daughter goes there. We love the atmosphere created by the teachers, other school personnel and most of all the students who study there. It is in the middle of vibrant neighborhood and the diversity of the culture is reflected in the teacher and student population there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

PS 116 gives my child a great education and also has a good sports and chess program with a track team and chess in the schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

the incredible responsibility and difference that parent involvement can contribute to excellence


Posted September 30, 2009

Impressive academics, incredibly well-trained teachers... A great education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

It is a great public school in Manhattan. I am a true believer of a public school system, both as a former student in the NYC public school system and now as a parent of a kindergarten child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

I have been a 116 parent for 7 years and have watched my 2 children thrive. The teachers and administrators are top notch. The sense of community is evident every day in the yard, the classrooms and on the 116 website! And there is NO OTHER school that has STEVE ZOWNIR! That's Mr. Zownir for all the k-4th graders!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

Wow there is just so much I can say about PS 116, my eldest son attended 116 and now my youngest is attending and all I can say is the Kids Club is amazing and Sandy is just so wonderful, always patient. We have the best parents, staff and educator's. I will also never forget Ms. Abbie my son's 1st grade teacher she was the best and it was her 1st year teaching. I thank you so much Abbie for all your hard work. What other school has such great teachers who really care about there students. I love P.S. 116.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

My granddaughter is now in 1st grade. Both, in kindergarten and now, the teachers and other staff members have gone out of their way to comfort her (she's a crier); it seems the first month of school is the hurdle; after that she's fine, and enjoys it. She loved her kindergarten teacher, and this year's teacher is 'awesome' (I'm quoting my granddaughter).


Posted September 29, 2009

PS116 is awesome- great teachers, students and amazing PTA!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

P.S. 116 has the most dedicated teachers and the most supportive, involved parents. The kids are intelligent, creative and cute!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

We have wonderful music and art classes and an amazing social studies curriculum with lots of informative field trips. The teachers are amazing and the administration has managed to keep the school strong and well balanced despite overcrowding issues like those felt in many of the best schools in Manhattan. The PTA is strong and the parents help raise money to provide additional art programs, recess programs and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2008

this has been my school for the past six years and i love it!! All of my teachers are very kind and i love to go to school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2008

My daughter is in 4th grade and I have had some issues during her course at the school. My daughter s experience with teachers was not very positive. During kindergarten, the teacher left in the middle of the year and was replaced by a brand new teacher who did not have experience teaching on her own. She did not have good control of the class. Also the assistant teacher s were always quitting and we have several during the year and many days without an assistant for 24 kindergarteners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

I have (3) children, all of whom have attended PS 116. My oldest daughter has since gone on to middle school, and my son and youngest daughter are in the first and third grades. This school has proven its self to be dependable, nurturing, and highly attuned to the needs of their students. My children thrive in this community, and there is never a day that they do not want to attend school. The teachers and administrative staff are highly capable and prove themselves time and time again. And in the few instances that my children or I have had an educational issue that needed addressing our voices were heard, and the matter dealt with in the most courteous and sincerest of ways. I love this school, and anyone would be hard pressed to find a NYC public school better than this one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

I have yet to meet a teacher who I would not want my child to have, and the specialty teachers are equally as good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2007

I would ordinarily rate this school as a 5 but here are the items they could work on to become the top shelf school I hoped they would have been: Until the 4th grade, there was not nearly the emphasis on standardized tests as I would have hoped for. The 4th grade teachers are excellent and are the exceptions to the rule. Most of the teachers do not focus on exceptional talent that I was used to growing up in public schools. Top talent and ability draw attention, and most teachers do not emphasis academic success and effort required in a competitive work place. We are asked to donate what seem to be on a weekly basis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2007

The Prinicpal of PS 116 is dedicated to improving an already excellent school program by getting parents involved at home and through after school programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

P.S.116 comments. The quality of school is pretty good and programs are knowledgeable. There s a lot of after school programs like Music, Art & Crafts, Sports, Homework, Magic, Chess, Music, Swimming, YMCA and much more. What Events are there? The Activities are nice especially for Halloween that my kid loves the most. You even get a haunted house. P.S. 116 are much funded to make a good school for your kids! For 5th graders there are a lot of field trips and in 5th Grade you even get one to PEEC (Pocono Environmental Educational Center). PEEC is even an overnight trip, it s like camping. We even got a fun party the day of graduation. How do I know this? This is because my kid was once at that school. My kid went from kindergarten to 5th grade and he changed a lot from that school. If you plan to sign up I hope you enjoy the school! Visit http://www.ps116.org/home.aspx
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2007

We were initially apprehensive about 116 because we had seriously considered private school (due to the negative image of the NYC public school system). What we found was a school that went well beyond our expecations. The key to any school is the teaching staff and 116 has a dedicated group of talented teachers. My first grader is already reading at a 3rd grade level. She is writing stories every week. The facilities are not up to private school standards but that's okay because the money we save on private school can pay for college. I give the school an A+ on academics and a B on facilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

111 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

114 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

103 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

126 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

128 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 45% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 23% 9%
Hispanic 2 20% 23%
Black 2 10% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 2% 1%
Two or more races 1 1% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 26%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 130%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 17%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 26%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 7%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 381 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents33352%
Teachers4889%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

210 E 33rd St
New York, NY 10016
Phone: (212) 685-4366

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Murray Hill Academy
New York, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT