Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 124 Yung Wing

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 920 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

My son just began attending PS 124 in the G&T Kindergarten class. Thus far, I am so impressed with how the school under-promises and over-delivers. Delivering some of the best testing results in the state with the common core curriculum, the administration is quieting reaping the benefits on having the foresight to embrace the new system ahead of the curve. Bravo to our teachers and administration!!! The one thing this school lacks is a PR machine. PS 124 quietly works at continued improvement and excellence without the notoriety that it assuredly deserves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

I think this school has been a great place for my daughter. She has had excellent and caring teachers. She really enjoys going to school and has been offered a very well rounded education. I have been very happy with all the offerings in this school; from chess, to studio in the school for art, cooking clubs, theater and glee clubs. I am impressed by the hardworking principal and staff. The school has gotten so much better than when I attended decades ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2012

Great amenities: Ice Cream machine. Movies during rainy days. Large play yard. Good food in the cafeteria. Wonderful teachers with well rounded curriculum.


Posted June 25, 2012

The teachers are very proactive in teaching the kids new curriculum. There are teachers who actually try to teach kids more advance materials because the kids are up to the challenge. The principal is very involved with the teachers, students, school leadership team, parent teacher association. She gives 100% back to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2011

The teachers that my children have had provided them with great assistance to excel in school, from a general education and a gifted and talented standpoint. The teachers are dedicated and will make themselves available before, during and after school hours to allow for more parental contact. Many of them will even communicate with you via email. Although some of the curriculum seems to be beyond grade level, the kids do apply themselves and eventually come out ahead. The school also has extended day which allows student to benefit from a small instructional group setting. The only problem I have is that some of my kids' classes have too many kids. In some instances having a 32:1 ratio a bit high, but this only applies to the upper grades. Great school overall and my kids have great memories of the school and love the teachers they have had so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2011

Cutbacks and the exodus of teachers were difficult, but I'm still glad we sent our kids here. Time Warner did present Alice Hom with a 2007 Principals of Excellence award for her leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2011

Totally agree! I make a very big mistake did not transfer my daughter to the other school when she was 1st grade. Now she has a friend and refused go to other school. The teacher go back to teach 4th grade this year. You have to bet how much luck you have. My daughter "has"luck this year to have good teacher but don't know next year.My son will be in kindergarten this sept but I'm not sending him to this school. And also the CPC after-school program, you can cut the line if you know someone. I'm waiting more than 3 years, still waiting...fair? I give up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2011

This was a great school when it was administered by Janet Won. Since Alice Hom took over leadership, there has been an exodus of great seasoned educators out of P.S. 124M for the past two years. 13 Teachers transferred to other schools, and even the two assistant principals also left for betterment elsewhere. My child was in the gifted program until the first grade, it was a total nightmare for her. She was taught by a fourth grade teacher from a catholic school who admitted to the parents she could not handle/or teach 6-7 yr. old children. Neither administrator knew what curricculum was to be taught for that TAG class. We transferred our child out to a much better school nearby, Hernando DeSoto has a fantastic program for all levels. Don't send your children to this school. You'll be sorry.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2009

My daughter is in the gifted kindergarten program. She tested well, and PS 124 was not our first choice. Now that she is here, we are amazed at how much she learns. The teacher is very serious about making sure each child fulfills their academic potential. The culture of this school makes it a truly NYC gem. It is as good or better than any NYC G&T program. Impressive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2006

This school has a variety of children's programs including special education, general learning, gifted and ESL. The principal is especially involved and can be easily reached and communicated with. The classroom curriculumn includes whole language and TERC. Drama, Art and Science are available weekly and are often used as partners in the whole language approach to literacy. Recess is not employeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2005

Excellent school with a gifted program. One of the best attendence records. Level of excellence is higher than in most schools.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 13, 2005

This is a fabulous school . The teachers and all of the staff are dedicated , hard-working , kind and creative. The PTA works every day to support the school, the children and the entire staff.Parent involvement is amazing . The children are enthusiastic and want to learn.It is one of the best large schools that I have ever seen.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 5, 2004

This school has given my brothers and me a great education and has lead us to a great future. I will never forget about my years in Yung Wing because I have experienced everything I've needed for my future. This school has prepared me for everything waiting for me in the future and I know that they will do the same for others.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

134 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
59%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

134 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 92% 9%
Hispanic 1 4% 23%
Black 2 3% 19%
White 2 1% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 225%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 282%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 5%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 59%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 778 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.0
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents732100%
Teachers4677%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ALICE HOM

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

40 Division St
New York, NY 10002
Phone: (212) 966-7237

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 1 Alfred E Smith
New York, NY



St Joseph School
New York, NY




Ps 2 Meyer London
New York, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT