Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 126 Jacob August Riis

Public | PK-8 | 785 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

I taught at P'S 126 for many years. It is one of the most thriving schools for ongoing professional study. The teachers along with administration truly study their craft of teaching knowing that students deserve the very best in progressive thinking around methods and content of teaching.


Posted August 25, 2013

My son had a great experience at MAT both in class and in his extracurricular sports activities. He is well prepared for high school and did very well on standardized tests and the SHSAT. He made wonderful friends throughout his years at MAT!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

This school is an amazing warm community. The principal (Jacqui Getz) and her team of teachers are engaged, supportive, challenge each student and really make a difference. The music, arts and of course sports are also an incredible benefit for this well rounded school. This school has improved greatly over time and under Principal Getz's leadership, it will go even farther. As a member of the SLT I know she and the team are making a difference and putting students FIRST.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2012

In this school, the teachers are nice and they are 100% able to pass down their talents to their students. The sports there are fun and the sports teachers also teaches it really well to upgrade their skills. When i went here i noticed that all my subject have been upgraded a lot too and it just sound terrific! I love ps126!


Posted June 8, 2012

MAT has a very engaged teaching staff who make the most of their resources. The sports program is absolutely stunning. Math is very strong, ELA quite good. I wish that there were more investment in science education, but that speaks more to the NYS curriculum, than to the MAT teachers. Academically and athletically - very strong. In terms of the arts, there is a very good music program, and an art teacher who may have to struggle for funding, but is very passionate and dedicated. At times, I think that there could be stronger supervision of the kids - at recess and in after-school programs. Middle school kids can get pretty wild, pretty quickly. All in all, this has been a wonderful school for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2012

My old alma mater. I remember the engaged and motivated teachers that encouraged me to learn and made learning fun. Also the ESL classes that help my non-English speaking classmates pick up the langauge.


Posted December 12, 2011

i hate this school!!! everyday when i come to school i see someone from my science class smoking outside. i am not going to name names but the school dosent even notice it!!!! the sports program isnt tha great. i did soccer and it wasnt fun!!! sorry but im just telling the truth.


Posted November 30, 2009

Hi, I just met with my sons teachers, at my parent-teacher conference and I it was a pleasure meeting my sons teachers. I can honesly say that his teachers really know him, they know what he's capable of doing. I love the school as well as my son does. I really was impressed with my sons teachers. I wish that my sons old elementary school was as good as this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2009

Just came back from parent teacher conference night for the third time in our year, 3 months at M.A.T. Unquestionably, the teachers at the school are knowledgeable and passionate about teaching middler schoolers. There is a beating, thumping heart to the place that makes you glad your kid, going through such a time of life, has such a fitting place to experience it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

Our son has been very happy at MAT. It's what we like to call a 'normal middle school' -- meaning it has it all: young, upbeat teachers, challenging school work, great kids, newer clean environment, wonderful sports and art programs, etc. The Technology moniker should be dropped as it is not a technology-based school. In fact, most feel that technology is a missing link in the curriculum lineup. A big downside is communications -- we often hear about things after the fact OR just before the fact - very frustrating as it makes planning difficult. Minor adjustments such as a monthly school newsletter or class parents would make a huge difference in this communications problem. Overall and to date, it's been a very positive experience for our son!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2008

This is a great school. My children had attended two other schools before this one and they had gotten in to fights and even left back, but when they entered ps 126 they completely changed. They are more interested in school. They seem excited to go every day and they have even gotten an interest in sports. We appreciate everything that they great staff at ps 126 have done for our kids. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

i recently graduated from this school and now as a freshman i am learning everything ive already learned in ps 126.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2008

This is a fabulous school. Both my kids went there and we have all been very happy with our choice. We live in Brooklyn, so the commute involves a short subway ride, which was fine with us. The Principal, Kerry Decker is truly amazing, and the general academic tone was great. The school is extremely diverse which both of my children now cite as a transformative environment for them. Class size has been kept small and there is a sense of community at the school. The downside is that the school is currently selective, requiring a test. Formerly it was a neighborhood school, and some who nearby are not thrilled by the new system. Otherwise: check this out!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

72 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

69 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

112 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
81%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

114 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the elementary and middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 52% 9%
Hispanic 1 25% 23%
White 2 14% 48%
Black 2 8% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 21%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 276%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 41%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Rock band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 680 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents28445%
Students34496%
Teachers5285%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. JACQUELINE GETZ

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Cycling
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Cycling
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

80 Catherine St
New York, NY 10038
Phone: (212) 962-2188

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Joseph School
New York, NY


Ps 1 Alfred E Smith
New York, NY


Ps 124 Yung Wing
New York, NY



Ps 2 Meyer London
New York, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT