Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 129 John H Finley

Public | PK-8 & ungraded | 640 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2014

If security were not aware next time tell them because I am sure they would have taken care of you. They are constantly helping and aiding if necessary all over the school, at all times, on all floors.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 8, 2014

My school is awesome! This school always teaches me new things that prepare me for the State Test. This school always do their best to help students do their best and it helped me a lot. This school also gets me prepared for the next grade


Posted August 22, 2013

My school is a wonderful place for your child. You will not find a more committed team to share with you in the education of your child.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 27, 2013

I, and my family attended ps.129 over 50 years ago. When I think about my childhood, and the memories I often think about how this school has changed from what I remember, I was one of six Gilmartin children that attended ps.129 from 1961-1968. I wish I had School pictures to share with our grandchildren, over the years our school pictures got lost along the way, I don't know how to rate 129 now, but 50 years ago it was one of the best. At that time the school was from k-6th grade.


Posted June 4, 2013

The kids have nothing to do with the quality of the school. I was leary about sending my son and daughter here because of the test results. My sons pre-k class learned so much from the teacher Ms. Kelly this year. I really have no complaints. The mornings are a bit chaotic because you have small kids and the older kids all coming in, in the morning. I wish the test results would improve for this school. I dont plan of having them stay here past 1st grade though as I will be moving out of the neighborhood soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2011

I hate this school. Worst school you can ever be in. As a graduated student, I have to say this was the worst out of all the schools I've been in the past. Teachers never have control of the students. They literally pick the "good kids" and don't pay any mind to the others. I was scared of going inside, everyday. I hardly learned anything and they gave homework like we knew what we learned. The children act out-of-control and no one cares. Period.


Posted July 18, 2011

The neighborhood dreads the afternoon release of these students from school. They are out-of-control, belligerent, and destructive. They have no respect for adult authority, none whatsoever. I have witnessed a group smear an entire Entenmann's boxed cake over buildings, nearby cars, and the sidewalk. No one stopped them, because although they are children, and past attempts to intervene have not been successful. If reprimanded, the children WILL challenge the source, and with all kinds of bad language and threats. I also witnessed several cases of street harassment, including one visited on a female pedestrian by a group of three girls - who had been locked out of the store. The corner store locks their door when they come by. The girls ridiculed her clothing and made fun of her, even more shocking when one considers that the woman was clearly an adult and a professional, judging by her dress. The comment below on out-of-control students is accurate. Who supervises this ? Is it really the job of teachers to be the primary disciplinary element ? These children will be released from school eventually, and who will monitor them then ?


Posted July 17, 2011

When I went to 129 years ago it was a very good school. My greatest memories of school were from there, however, recently I have been looking into schools for my 5 years old and I am extremely unimpressed with 129. The Parent Coordinator is the absolute worst. I'm still waiting for return phone calls so I can tour the school and answers to my registration questions. Other parents I know said they were pulling their kids out of this school and I thought that was strange until I tried to get some information and got attitude from the receptionist. I live across the street from 129 and I'm sending my child to another school because if this is how you treat a potential parent, I don t even want to imagine how you treat your students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2011

This is by far the worst school i have ever been to. Teachers cannot control their classes, therefore the students are failing, and the children there run rampid! I cant wait to get out of this school. who would send there child to a school where the child would be scared to go inside? It's extremely stressful and hard for me to learn since the classroom is noisy and dangerous. a child cannot be expected to learn in a environment where the kids are cursing the teachers out, fighting one another, and throwing HEAVY HARD COVER spanish books and social study books at people. The security guards just sit on the bottom floor worrying about people showing them their ID cards when they first walk in, when they should be on the 3rd floor while a girl is getting shoved and locked in the boys bathroom! The children do not care if there are cameras. they have no home training or respect. so im gladly rating this school as unsatisfactory. love, a current student.


Posted February 25, 2010

This school is amazing..... yea sometimes there might be problems but no ones perfect.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
29%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

48 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

42 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
26%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
21%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
10%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
9%

2013

 
 
1%

2012

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
19%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
5%

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
37%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
11%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary and middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 1 50% 23%
Black 2 47% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 1% 9%
White 1 1% 48%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 288%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 50%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 269 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
6.9
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.4
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents9722%
Students14978%
Teachers2350%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ODELPHIA PIERRE

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

425 W 130th St
New York, NY 10027
Phone: (212) 690-5932

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Annunciation School
New York, NY







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT