Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 142 Amalia Castro

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 433 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 3, 2013

I have two boys attending this school and must say that I'm really happy with the school. The Parent Coordinator is a huge asset to the school and is so warm. Who wouldn't want that? Upon entering the school each morning, you are greeted. How awesome is that! The teachers are nice and really care. The Principal is kind hearted but can sometimes be too laid back. There's a specific woman in the main office that just has no people skills whatsoever. She is obnoxious and straight out disrespectful to the parents. Since I'm not allowed to state specific names in this review, I'll just say that she's the individual who takes care of the teachers payroll. So, be warned. Putting that aside, I'd recommend this school to all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2012

This is near the end of my daughter's first year of school Pre-K at PS 142. What a wonderful year it has been! My daughter adores her teachers and school and feels very comfortable. The office staff and principle are very friendly, and always available to answer your questions or concerns. MY daughter has learned so much this year and I am speaking not only as a parent but as a teacher myself. I chose this program for her after seeing many other Pre-K programs with my own eyes. We were lucky enough to have the kindest and most dedicated Pre K teacher this year who helped my daughter overcome her shyness and recognize her talents. My daughter is currently reading books independently. Yes. My daughter is reading books, BY HERSELF, at 4 years old. I couldn't be more appreciative of the teachers and staff at this great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2012

From the minute I walk in I felt at home, between Jacky the parent teacher coordinator and Ms. Levy the principal I only have great things to say, they are both very involve and show so much support to the parents and students, the teachers are amazing and make sure my kids are up to school standars in everything..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2011

this is my son's frist day in ps142 and so far he feels very comfortable in his classroom and with his teacher ,I meet her she very nice and some of the staff as well ....for me and my son is a big change from ps137 that didn't do the right thing or should i say the principals and the parent coordiator didn't do their jod!! not very nice people if your thinking about registering your child there please don't go and register at ps134 because when i needed help they was their for me wow now that is saying alot about the kind of people in ps134...well wishing everyone a wonderful school year :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

I am a parent of the children, they all went to P.S. 142. I beleive this school is a 'Great' school. The school has improved a lot since Mrs Levy has been Principal, making sure the teachers go to trainings to learn new ways of teaching our children. At P.S. 142 you feel like a family, always welcomed. The Parent Coordinator, Monique Benitez is the BEST she is always available, i have called her at night and she always answers, she always informs the parents of upcoming events and community events, and is always willing and able to help anyone. But just all families, some times there is minor problems, but are always resolved. You can send your child to P.S. 142. Your child will be safe and will be in good hands! Just visit the school any time, they have an open door policy, or contact Parent Coordinator (347) 563-4497
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2010

I agree with the review about being hispanic. I also felt dicriminated every time there was a problem with my child. There is about two out of ten great teachers in the school. The administration is very dis organized, and I truly think that this school really needs to be investigated. No, do not send your child to this school, as a caring parent for your child, it would be the biggest mistake a parent could ever make.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2009

My son has been going to this school since pre-k when Principal, Ronda Levy was a Parent Coordinator. She has improve this school tremendously. She has kept the children safe and has prepared the children to succeed in their futures. PS142 is a second family to my son and I. Our children is in someone elses care and trust for about seven hours. PS142 is the school you can trust your child to be in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2008

I give it 3 stars because the head admin is excellent in the needs of the children and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

My son is in the Pre-K program at PS142. At first, this school did not impress me as I walk in to the office. New school year has finally stared. My son has been placed to one of the two Pre-K classes. The class room is so big with all nice decoration. There are two teachers and two teachers assistants in my son's class with only 18 kids. The teachers and teacher aids are all so nice, and kind. We see all of them in the class room early as 8:00AM almost every day to help the children to eat their breakfast. The school also provides a free after school program which runs from 2:45PM to 5:45PM at school which provides a very fun and safe environment for my son who is just 3 years old to stay, and enable me to work at the normal full time working hours. My son is so happy with the teachers, and loves the dancing teacher. I was so surprise that he has never cry once, or reject to go the school ever since he attend the PS142. I am so glad that I have made the right decision to send my son to PS142. My son used to attend at few private Daycare. None of them were comparable to this school. I do not think there is any other school better than this school for the Pre-K program. A class of 4 adults with 18 kids! Where could you find a school like this one? I am highly recommending that you should look in to this school. PS142 has the best pre-K program that I have ever know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2006

I agree with and appreciate the other 3 reviews. They are right on target. I worked at this school for twenty years. I chose to leave because of the blatant lack of competence and integrity of the 'leadership,' those qualities so important to moving children, students, teachers, etc. forward and so short in supply. There was, however, a very inspiring music teacher there and connections with excellent arts and other organizations, like Third Street Music School and Educational Alliance.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 12, 2006

My child attended PS 142 for K and 1st grade. If you are not hispanic, this is not the school for you. If you are hispanic your child may not be prepared for multicultural/multiracial NYC because they will be too comfortably immersed in their own culture. Principal C. promotes this atmosphere. She seems less Educator, more of a Hostess. Jarring announcements loudly broadcasted into every room of the school are endless because they are delivered in english and spanish. In December, Christmas jingles are played through the PA system while teachers patiently wait for it to end. My child was in an inclusion class and this daily interruption made it very hard to settle the class. The Special Ed staff and teachers were some of the finest people I have ever worked with and they encouraged me to find a more therapeutic program for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2004

This school use to be great place many years ago. The princpal does not communicate with the parents and when she does find the time she's very rude. Many improvements need to be made and it should start in the administration office. I would not recommend this school to anyone. Hopefully the community can get together to make this a better school in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
27%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
33%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students20%
Female19%
Male21%
African American14%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic21%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged20%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities8%
General population23%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English23%
Non-migrant20%

Math

All Students36%
Female32%
Male39%
African American28%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities9%
General population43%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English40%
Non-migrant36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students15%
Female14%
Male16%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic14%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
General population19%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant15%

Math

All Students17%
Female14%
Male20%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic11%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
General population21%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant17%

Science

All Students69%
Female64%
Male75%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students8%
Female6%
Male9%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic3%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged8%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
General population9%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English9%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant8%

Math

All Students9%
Female12%
Male5%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic8%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged9%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
General population11%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English11%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant9%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 1 75% 23%
Black 2 13% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 8% 9%
White 2 2% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 13%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 95%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 3%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 30%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 348 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents31290%
Teachers36100%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. RHONDA LEVY

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 Attorney St
New York, NY 10002
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 598-3800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Ps 20 Anna Silver
New York, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT