Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jhs 167 Robert F Wagner

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 1243 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 16, 2009

The teachers, assistant principal and the principal treat my daughter as if she was there own!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

My son graduated from 167 and now my daughter also attends 167 so I have quite a history with the school and I absolutely love it. For a big Middle school they are so well organized and on top of things. Each grade has an Assistant Principle that knows your child and are well connected. The school based support is top 1 as well. They do a fabulous job with keeping parents informed and up to date through e-mail blasts. Also, anytime my children needed extra support they were right there to work with me and support my childs needs. Plus I love the fact that Wagner is a no-nonsense school, they mediate any problem right away.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

Each grade has their own assistant principal and guidance counselor allowing the children to form a meaningful bond and trusting relationship. The faculty extend themselves and take a personal interest in every child. I know that when I send my daughter to school she is in great hands.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

JHS 167 is a great and safe school. The teachers really take time with the kids. They encourage the kids to do well in life. My daughter love this school. I am blessed to have my child attend JHS 167. I know she will get into a great HS once she graduate from JHS 167. Thank you all
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

Big middle school opportunities with a small school attitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2009

I am a freshmen who is now in High School and graduated from Wagner in 2009. The school is really nice and you can make many friends here. There are fun field trips such as the Senior Cruise.. They recently took away out lunch privileges. I overall enjoyed Wagner the only few problems I can probably find is that book bags can get heavy especially since there aren't lockers available for students to buy books in. The other thing would be there is bullying from time to time though you can avoid this once in a while by staying away from the bullies. Also that I never really got to know my principal well. The teachers there are great though and the students can talk to them. There are Excellent Guidance Counselors at Wagner. Overall I enjoyed this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 7, 2009

My grandson just graduated from this magnificent school. Though there is a large student population, it never feels that wasy. The staff, teachers, leaders are all exceptional. The guidance counselors and dean are truly caring individuals. They help the students and are always giving advice and guidance. I was truly very happy with our three years there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2009

I am a student at Wagner. I adore this school and I am going into my senior year. My teachers really help me learn what I need to know, both academically, and in general. This is a fantastic school for any smart, on track student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2008

Even though I've been in this school for almost 4 months, its been totally awsome in those 4 months. The principal is so cool and so is the staff. All these teachers are so nice that I just got use to it. I like the music program and I am also in other programs in the school. Wagner has more then 1600 kids but this place is so much fun
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 22, 2008

I am a senior at this school, and I'm okay with it. Not everything is great - nothing is perfect - but with the large number of students (about 1,400 to 1,500) and not so many staffs, they have managed pretty well. Sure, the hallways are always crowded and accidents happen, but they are expected. The teachers are okay, you will surely have several classes where your instructers are great, so that's not much of a problem. The only bad thing is that the Parent Teacher Conference is limited to 3 minutes per class. Wagner has a very diverse community, there are people of every races here. Wherever you are in Wagner, you'll sure find a few friends.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 17, 2008

Don't believe the bad things you hear about this school. I am a freshman in high school now, so my memories of wagner are fresh. Although recently the school has revoked out lunch privileges, not much has changed since I went there. The teachers are gifted, in my opinion, and they certainly know what they're doing. My vice principal was very familiar with the students- she remembers names, and her name is Ms. Niskanen. I loved wagner! When you are a senior, there are so many fun activities, and they really make it fun for you! Do not believe everything you hear, sometimes this school gets a bad reputation when it doesn't deserve one. Another great thing is how mixed the school is. It's like one big melting pot- not like some other schools with majorities of certain races. I recommend this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 9, 2008

I used to go to this school and i loved i got friends the first day i got there. I hope all the new kids ther love it just like i did.


Posted June 1, 2008

It is a very bad school. The staff doesn't respect the students. The seniors have to a lot for seniors dues. The school doesn't have money to help for trips, book, etc.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2008

This school is wonderful. They have a fantastik music program. The administration is excellent. Although it is a large school it is extremely well run, the kids are great, tedicatopm o
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

This school is fine, but it took awhile for teachers to remember my name because i'm a quiet shy boy. but i think teachers are resposible to learn their students names, they have to remember it within the first month of the school year, not until like halfway through.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 12, 2007

The academic programs are outstanding! My son didn't participate much in music arts etc. so no comment. Wagner has resources that exceed the run of the mill public school; rivaling private school education in the city. As far as parent involvement, most parents are upper to middle class wage earners so they do not come to the school unless it is absolutely necessary. As such there is specific circle of people that hold seats on the parent association and will not give it up. If your child is the type that may engage in horseplay (spitballs, talking during class etc) like most adolescent kids in middle school, Wagner is not the place for you. There is no tolerance for horseplay. The child will spend more time in the dean's office then in class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2007

the school has wonderfull teachers and they comtribute their time to the kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2006

Both my sons attended Wagner. My oldest graduated, went to Laquardia for Art and now is at SVA for Animation , second year. His interest in animation came from a special animation program offered by Wagner. It gave him direction and what he wanted to do in his life. What could be better. My 13 year old is in his last year at Wagner. He made the Arista Program last year. The The teachers are great and the afterschool programs wonderful. I feel that Wagner is a great school. Great music program. Best in NYC.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2005

I have a son who graduated from Wagner last year who is now attending Bronx Science. I was most impressed with Wagner's focus on team projects and their very high quality music program and band. Many of the students from my son's grade were accepted into the music program at LaGuardia High School - Wagner is almost a 'feeder school' for that program. A significant portion went on to specialized competitive high schools. The facilities are impressive - at the top of middle school facilities in the city. As a big school which has both an accelerated and a non-accelerated program, this school is not for anyone who is looking for a cozy, intimate environment full of kids whose parents place a high emphasis on education - the school is too big to create that type of atmosphere. Kids who thrive in a big school will enjoy the programs and facilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2005

I went to this school two years ago. The principal was terrible. She didn't know anything that was going on and the assistant principal was just the same. I found the school to be extremely cliquey. However, there were some very good teachers and my guidance counselor was amazing. I also made some good friends.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

445 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

450 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

398 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

407 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

426 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

429 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

359 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 39% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 27% 9%
Hispanic 2 23% 23%
Black 1 10% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 5%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 259%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 4%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 34%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 1906 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.4
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents73364%
Students112694%
Teachers4762%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. JENNIFER REHN

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

220 E 76th St
New York, NY 10021
Phone: (212) 535-8610

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Buckley School
New York, NY


The Hewitt School
New York, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT