Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 197 John B Russwurm

Public | PK-5 | 351 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 7, 2013

My daughter is attending Pre-K & Ms Bernie is her AWESOME teacher. I must say that I love her involvement & care that she has with the kids. Shes very personable, patient but not a push over. If she feels something isnt right she will address the issue. I am a first time parent & before I put my daughter in this school, my husband & I visited & re-searched a lot! She was the PRIME reason we decided that's where we wanted our child to be! The new principal, Ms. Swann has been very involved, even sent home plush toys with her personal signature for each of the pre-k kids. She greets the parents & kids outside the school with smiles & we have been there when she goes to check in with the class. The after school which is run by The Children Zone has some young girls working & some of them can be very immature & unprofessional to be honest but not all of them. I hope to have an even better experience when my child goes to Kindergarten. Parents do need to be more involved & care to educate themselves for the sake our their children so that we do not allow our children to miss out on our neighborhood schools. We make the difference that our children benefit from... Lets not forget that!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2012

this school is horible myson has been through a lot of troubblethere are incedints that never get adressed do not put your child in this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2012

PS197 lost all its talent when Principal Wright allowed many of his best teachers to leave. I was told he had no choice but I find that hard to believe. The teachers remaining are the worst. The new prinicipal needs to get rid of them and bring back thee teachers who were actually getting the job done before the school became an F.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2009

My son spent 4 months in this school. He began kindergarden in February 09 and was reading a book by April 09. The devotion his teacher had to teach was amazing. Plus I interacted with all PK, K, and 1st grade teachers and I was pleased with their patience and love toward the children. I cannot speak for the older classrooms. The teachers, the school guards, and especially the principles are amazing. Principle Wright is devoted to his work. He is making it his mission to make this school #1 in harlem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2009

This school is amazing. It is very structed. the parens are involved. The principal is the est, he is really conecerned about these kids.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 22, 2009

PS 197 is a school of much improvement. However imperfect, it has enhanced its student forcus, teachers are dedicated to the education of their classes and the principal's motto is 'Students First'. It is a school that would benefit from more parent involvement, as all our schools would.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2008

Although our school is not perfect, we do an outstanding job with very little parent support, children who are sometimes unmanageable, and the lack of resources. It's amazing how parents complain about the school but send their children every single day. If it's so terrible, immediate transfers should be made.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 4, 2008

The children are unruly and disrespectful! Fights everyday, other children being victimized. The teachers are unmotivated. I heard a child tell his teacher that he didn't get a chance to finish his milk at lunchtime and the teacher said ' well, that's your problem' The office staff and principal are very rude! When you walk into the office everyone stares at you like you are bothering them and will speak to you like they don't have an education. I would not reccomend this school to any parent. We are in the process of making a transfer for next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2007

I will like the school staff to improve security so the children are safer and to reduce fights.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2006

Terrible school. Fights by students often ignored. Principal is rude. We must improve the public school system or more children will be lost.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2004

I'm happy to have my daughter in this school. The principal is always there to talk to for the parents and the students. I hope Mr. Wright and his staff of P.S.197 keep up the excellent work. The teachers and their helpers care about the students. For this I say thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

I can only comment on the Talented and Gifted ('TAG') program. I find the teacher in the TAG program to be of high quality and they constantly challenge the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

37 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
24%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

38 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
16%

2013

 
 
4%

2012

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
21%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

62 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
8%

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
19%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

34 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
12%

2013

 
 
3%

2012

 
 
17%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

34 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
26%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 2 65% 19%
Hispanic 1 28% 23%
White 1 5% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 1% 9%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 18%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 192%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 44%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 168 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents14958%
Teachers1966%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. NATASHA SPANN

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2230 5th Ave
New York, NY 10037
Phone: (212) 690-5960

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ps 133 Fred R Moore
New York, NY




All Sts. School
New York, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT