Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Nyc Museum School

Public | 9-12 | 436 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 4, 2014

My child just started freshman year at the NYC Museum school and is very happy. Caring and dedicated teachers who want to see all the children succeed. Modules on Wednesdays are a wonderful way for children to learn. Wednesday morning classes are followed by an afternoon out in the field to reinforce the lesson taught. Excellent opportunity children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2014

NYC Museum school has great teachers and provides an interesting and excellent education. Students don't need 3 hours of homework, but they do need 1-2 hours of worthwhile homework each day. The homework at Museum school is thought provoking and prepares students for college. The teachers and administration work very hard and care for the students. The Wednesday trips are educational and teach life skills as well as academic. My son is lucky he got into NYC Museum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

School provides students insufficient education and does not prepare students for their futures. But, very safe and nice place. If you are hoping to get into an excellent college don't apply to this school.


Posted April 18, 2011

My son seems very happy to attend this school..he is now in the 10th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

All the teachers and students are very helpful and nice. I am a freshman and I like museum school. Its better than stuy or bronx science. At museum school we are a family.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 6, 2009

the teachers help you afterschool and sometimes on the weekends and if you need help they tell you in advance before you get your grades, the teachers are very friendly and are really nice to everyone. Teachers help with homework and usually stay afterschool for students who want to study for tests, they help you with your projects too. The students are extremely friendly and kind. The only bad thing is that I hardly see the princibal in the school
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2008

At NYC Museum School, sure the teachers may not give the kids a hour of homework everyday but they can relate to the teachers, and they understand what students need to improve on and what they are exceeding in. The teachers always know student's names by the second week of school. What makes this school a 'above average' school is the trip they go on every friday, they have fun but students always have work to do and learn about new things. Students have projects based on what they learned in the marking period and they learn great social skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

My child just started the ninth grade and I am horrified about the lack of homework given at this school. She is getting about 15 minutes a day and tells me the teachers are chit chating with the students all day. I am very concerned. I will be looking for another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2008

This school has a terrible principle. Much like the student who wrote a few days ago, our current principle has driven away the best teachers this school will most likely ever see. 75% of our 10th grade class failed the earth science regents due to this principles hireing incapabilities. I fear my lack of education will effect me greatly when i leave for colleg. Of course getting no homeowrk is a students dream, until you get to about 10th or 11th grade and you realize your nightly work load (usually nonexistant) is not preparing you enough for your futue. I am very greatful to be tought by the great teachers i had when they still worked in the school, however it's saddening that many other classes will not have the same wonderful teachers as other did. However, this school's cericulum is very intersting. So I can't complain too much.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 2, 2008

i have been attending museum for the past four years and im happy to say that im in my last. i have seen the school go through many changes and most for the worst. we never go on field trips. we barely go to the musuems anymore. the whole staff who knew about our modules and etc. have been replaced by teachers who are overwhelmed and do not seem to grasp the concept of modules.. the promising module that all seniors were suppossed to partake in at the south street seaport has been removed. all of the school spirit events {spirirt day, carnival, student/teacher bball games} have been elimnated. It's gotten really bad and it makes me sad.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 1, 2007

My child's education at the NYC Museum School takes full advantage of the cultural institutions of throughout our city. I'm delighted by both the curriculum and the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2004

Museum is the best. They staff is always there to help and support you. They are very caring like your there own kid. They are alawys there to help you no matter what. The kids are so friendly. I had no problem making friends at all. The curriculum is excellent. The teachers know what they sre talking about. The trips to tje museums are so enriching and help us with our projects all the time. The school is just fill of resources that help us like the new labs, and computer room. At lunch time we have the choice of going outside to enjoy the beautiful scenery of lower west side Manhatten or stay in the cafe and mingle with other other peers. Museum is the best school in the world and I miss it so much and I wish I all the schools in the world was like museum!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 9, 2003

This school is great I love the fact they allow the children to go to museums twice a week. This I think makes learning more interesting. I love watching my child's presentations when she shows how much they learn in the museum. They learn about cultures ways of life, animals, the even learn stuff about genes and cells. [My] child loved it enough to go to the high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

This school is very diverse and the teachers are very willing to help any student at any time after school hours. The teachers are very friendly and even offer their phone numbers to some students to call them after school for help on their homework. The school goes out of their way to offer a great program for students who are not passing any of their classes after school, known as 'Homework Help', in this program they are sat down in a classroom and helped one by one in their individual needs
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
39%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
34%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
79%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
100%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
64%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
82%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
89%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
33%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

98 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
93%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students33%
Female33%
Male33%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander55%
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White20%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities24%
General population35%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant33%

Chemistry

All Students44%
Female42%
Male49%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander43%
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities27%
General population46%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English44%
Not migrant44%

Earth Science

All Students95%
Female92%
Male97%
African American100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant95%

English

All Students89%
Female86%
Male91%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities53%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%

Geometry

All Students92%
Female90%
Male95%
African American80%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic92%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%

Global History and Geography

All Students96%
Female94%
Male98%
African American85%
Asian/Pacific Islander95%
Hispanic98%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%

Integrated Algebra

All Students98%
Female98%
Male98%
African American92%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic97%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities93%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%

Living Environment

All Students98%
Female99%
Male96%
African American95%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic96%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged99%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities84%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%

Physics

All Students0%
Female0%
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic0%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged0%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English0%
Not migrant0%

U.S. History and Government

All Students94%
Female95%
Male93%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander97%
Hispanic95%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities81%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the high school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 40% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 33% 9%
White 2 15% 48%
Black 1 12% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 20%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 162%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 56%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
School leaders can update this information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 570 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
6.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
6.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
4.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
6.3
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
6.2
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
5.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
5.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents9019%
Students46699%
Teachers1452%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. DARLENE MILLER

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Humanities
Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Busses - M11, M14AD, M20, M23, M5, M7. Subways - 2, 3, F, M to 14th St; A, C, E, L to 14th St-8th Av; 1 to 18th St
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Sofbtall
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

333 W 17th St
New York, NY 10011
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 675-6206

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT