Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Washington Irving High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1039 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 17, 2012

I graduated from WIHS way back in 1949. The graduation class, at that time, was over 700 kids,. It was an all girl HS at that time, and there was an all boys HS--Sturvesant high, 2 blocks away--every Friday night, we would have dances--sometimes the girls would host--sometimes the boys would host--but, a Great time was had by all. WIHS was "old" even then--the ony elevators in the buildings were used only by the teachers or students with "special" passes--I can remeber many times having gym class in the basement of the old school and having to climb the 11 floors to the new building and my next class--in 3 min. time The school was old, but the girls were all young and full of pep-we were anxious to let people know we were in high school our principal was strict, and there were many rules the students had to obey--and we did--we knew what would happen if we were discharged from our school. we had a great 4 years-- Anyone, who goes to high school today-no matter which school it is and says they hate it--well, you just aren't making the most of the BEST 4 YEARS OF YOUR LIFE--I am so sorry to hear about the closing of the school, but the memories will live on.


Posted September 7, 2012

I graduated from this school in '07 and am not sad that the school is being closed. Some, actually close to all of the worst experiences in my life have happened at this school. Most of which were caused not by the students but the staff members. This school is just an overall failure anyway you look at it. If I could go back in time and transfer out of this school, I would, in the drop of a hat. I feel bad for only a very few number of students and staff members who will be inconvenienced by the shut down.


Posted April 6, 2012

I hate this school and I am glad it's shutting down! I was MUGGED in broad daylight right outside the school- by some of the students! A kid grabbed my phone and ran, her friends started laughing and verbally harassing me. I did some research online, and apparently this isn't an isolated incident- it appears these kids have even beat up a pregnant woman! I say throw these obnoxious delinquents into prison now, and save the rest of us civilians from their antics. I am never walking past that school again, and no wonder they have metal detectors and an X-ray to enter, they've found kids with guns too!


Posted March 29, 2010

they have dedicated teachers and staff and a new website - www.washingtonirvinghigh.org
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2010

i graduated during 08 and this school has ups and downs. There is definitely some great teachers in this school especially in the Math and English department. Most of the excellent teachers left because (in my opinion) of the students. Some students just don't care about school and like to disrupt the class and argue. I also had a lot of fun from after school activities and friends.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2009

i am a junior in wihs. it is a great school full of dedicated teachers. i have learned so much these past years and i want to thank everyone at wihs! people might say it is bad or dangerous but its not at all. we are 100 percent protected and it is a good school. i recommend it to everyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 28, 2009

I started studying here from September and this is my first time in an American high school. I love Washington Irving High School. The students are a bit wild but It doesn't matter as long as you stay focused. The teachers are wonderful and encouraging. I've made good friends here. The school is not as bad as people say. Infact its a wonderful school and I don't think the school is as dangerous as I'd heard before I entered school. Don't listen to people to who say bad things. Go and try to get involved in the environment. You'll make friends and you'll improve in studies, atleast I did.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 7, 2008

I'm a former student, who was part of the Yalow house. My experience in high, I would have to say it was average. Of course there was some negative energy from people in the school, but there is so much more to this school then what people see: the teachers are dedicated and the afterschool activites are interesting.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2006

Wow it hasn't even been a year since I graduated from Washington Irving. things could be better it could feel less like a prison. But the teachers are great especially in the Visual and Performing Ats House. The music teachers are full of energy that can light up a room and the drama teachers well they're dramatic and that person knows who I'm talking about. I made best friends in that school and discovered who i am and got over my fear of lack of confidence. I want to thank Washington Irving for making me, me.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 22, 2006

I just came here in 9th grade as a freshman for only 2 weeks and I already hate it. the school is over crowded and the students are disrespectful. there is nothing good about it I recommend you a better school
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 13, 2006

Washington Irving, in my opinion, is a school for students who know how to navigate a large setting. There are many opportunities for students to gain professional knowledge and experience, but they have to be a 'go-getter' to receive the best that Washington Irving offers. The quality of the teachers was topnotch, but again, in a large setting with some behavioral challenges, you have to be proactive. Get to know the teachers, attend meetings, and take advantage of the programs, which are excellent! The school is in a choice location for cultural, artistic, and academic exploration. Just being in New York City is a plus! Learning opportunities abound. Parent involvement is welcome, but more parents need to get involved. My son did well at Irving. He was accepted at NYU, and currently attends Cooper Union.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2006

This school is very crowded. the students tend to come from outer lying areas and for whatever reason did not go to their local HS. some students are bright and easy-going. many are troublesome. i would strongly suggest considering other high schools before committing to this one. on a good note, there are numerous after school activities and a lot of very dedicated people work there.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 13, 2005

I attended this school freshmen year. The school is okay as far as education but some of the students are out of control. If you stay in the right enviorment with the right crowd you should not have any problems.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 20, 2004

This school is horrible! I was so glad my daughter finally graduated from there. The kids are completely out of control. The school is getting really bad reviews really fast. Send your child to this school only if you have absolutely no other choices and if it is really dire that he/she get into a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2004

As a former student, the only two things I were grateful were: The friends I made and leaving. Most likely, this'll get deleted, not that I care. I'm not saying the school is bad, the teachers do their best, just the overall atmosphere is really quite troublesome. And the thanks to the principal and all the god awful budget cuts, some of my favorite teachers left a year after I had them. Sad really. All the lives they could've helped. Good luck to them anyway. As for WIHS, send your kids there at your own risk.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 24, 2004

This school is divided into houses. Some of them are pretty good, and some of them are pretty bad, to be overly simplistic. Two gems of this school are its IB program and its Yalow House program. I am a graduate of W.I.H.S. that will be attending Yale in the fall and while I can't say it was the most positive experience, it helped to mature me a bit.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
22%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
67%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
29%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

228 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
69%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

15 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
73%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
41%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
47%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

128 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
41%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
65%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
n/a
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

41 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students28%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant28%

Chemistry

All Students52%
Female47%
Male60%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English52%
Non-migrant52%

Earth Science

All Students31%
Female26%
Male40%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English35%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant31%

English

All Students36%
Female42%
Male29%
African American42%
Asian/Pacific Islander36%
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities8%
General population43%
English language learners11%
Proficient in English45%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant36%

Geometry

All Students18%
Female15%
Male25%
African American8%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic16%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged17%
Not economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant18%

Global History and Geography

All Students43%
Female53%
Male32%
African American48%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities11%
General population50%
English language learners19%
Proficient in English50%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant43%

Integrated Algebra

All Students31%
Female26%
Male36%
African American33%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities9%
General population40%
English language learners27%
Proficient in English33%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant31%

Living Environment

All Students30%
Female34%
Male26%
African American27%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities8%
General population38%
English language learners13%
Proficient in English42%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant30%

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students59%
Female62%
Male55%
African American62%
Asian/Pacific Islander88%
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities13%
General population66%
English language learners23%
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant59%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the high school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 1 58% 23%
Black 2 34% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 5% 9%
White 2 2% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 220%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 187%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 6%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 54%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 2%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 504 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
6.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
5.9
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.0
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.0
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
6.2
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
7.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents7614%
Students40074%
Teachers2862%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. SARAH HERNANDEZ

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

40 Irving Pl
New York, NY 10003
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 674-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Friends Seminary
New York, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT