Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 89

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 531 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 5, 2014

Why on earth does this school have a 10 rating? Except for its physical appearance the true rating should be no more than 5. Leadership is poor, curriculum is poor, atmosphere is dull. So glad be won't be back next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2012

PS89 is a wonderful school. My oldest son is in 2nd grade and has been attending PS89 since kindergarten. My youngest is in Kindergarten there and has attended PS89 for Pre-K as well. Ronnie, the principal, knows every student by name and most parents too. She is kind, loving and respectful to them and those ethics shine in her teachers as well. Ronnie is very hands on and I always feel confident that she is on top of everything at the school. My husband and I feel very blessed and grateful that our children have the opportunity to attend PS89.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2011

My two children attended from pre K- 5th grade (my youngest still at 89) and have been very pleased with their years at PS89. It has a sense of home away from home in which they felt happy and safe going to school. They made the curriculum interesting for a young child to get excited about. They have truly created an enviroment for a child to get a love for learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2011

both my wife and i found p.s.89 to have well prepared and caring teachers. our daughter (our 2nd child to go thru nyc public schools) felt comfortable, enjoyed her teachers and classmates and improved academically. she also participated in an active arts and sports program. it is an all around good, neighborhood school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2011

Horrible school with a horrible principal who hires impossibly bad teachers. Our child had 3 teachers who were hired at the school and lasted one year only.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2011

i go to this school and i absoulutley love it! it has some great programmes like the ballroom dancing program and also other fansastic events like potluck and talent shows. not just that but it has a great education proggram and pretty much all the teachers are awesome!!! i love this school and i dont want to graduate this year! :( ps. it also has amazing things like aabout 50 mac availible to every student and its alsoo really clean and the atmosphere is amazing!! i really recommend it! :D


Posted November 2, 2010

I graduated from PS 89 in 2008 and I have been here since kindergarten. It's a great school - the principal knows everyone's name and occasionally stops by each classroom. I've had a great time here and I have learned many new things. For example, in my 6 years here, I have went aboard a police boat, created a bookstore, went on an overnight trip, held a bakesale, and so much more. We have homework daily and you can approach the teachers or staff at any time if you need any help. Let me just say... this is the best school ever; you should definitely come here.


Posted August 16, 2010

We relocated to this school from Atlanta. While I felt less welcome to be involved in the classroom, I have to say that I absolutely found the teachers to be of the highest caliber. My son is very bright, but can be a slacker as he has dyslexia, yet his teachers managed to keep him engaged and encouraged his input, focusing on his abilities. The depth of research and study in the class has been amazing to see. I also found the satisfaction of the other parents in the class to be on par with my own, which does give me comfort that others feel the same way. When I see a review by a parent, where they slag off the school, I wonder what bar they are using to measure. Was that parent being objective? Have they had other experiences (not preschool)?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

This is an Academically poor school. We live right in the building above the school but we will not be sending our daughter back to P.S. 89 for the next school year. Our other disappointments with this school have been the lack of disipline and not much of a physical education program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2009

Not the school we expected when we enrolled our children last year. It is hyped as one of the best but leaves much to be desired. The wacky Principal sets the stage for what tends to be a cold atmosphere. The school does have some good teachers if you are lucky enough to get one of those. There are good and bad teachers at all schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

PS-89 is a wonderful school! Everyone is so nice and helpful from the principal to the school gaurds!! It is more than a place where they work. It is their baby and the communities as well. I am thrilled to be a part of the PS-89 community!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2009

Clean, pretty school by NYC standards but a big disappointment academically speaking. Our children, who were good but not exceptional students, transferred to PS89 from out of state, and were easily a year ahead of their NY classmates. Perhaps it has more to due with the overall lower standards in the NYC public schools, but we never could figure what all the hype was all about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2009

From my experience my grandson had a fabulous kindergarten experience. It amazes me that one teacher can teach 22 little ones and each child is special. I work in a Pvt. school and see teachers and students all day.. but nothing has impressed me as much as the education, love of learning and total awareness of each childs strengths and weakness and how they are addressed. I hope my grandson has as good a year as he enters first grade. Thank you -


Posted May 9, 2009

My daughter will be graduating this summer and has been at PS 89 since pre-k. What I like best about this (pretty) school is how they create a love of learning. Kids get really excited and involved in their projects-based learning. I highly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2009

This is our third year at the school and we are continually impressed with the teachers, administration and facilities. The teachers are top rate, caring and involved. The principal is focused on her students, not the whims of parents - she is focused on education and nurturing a community focus. While there are a lot of students, this is a predicament indicative of all nyc public schools. I highly recommend PS89.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2008

Our child has had an absolute wonderful Kindergarten year at PS 89. Despite a larger than we'd like class size, our teacher is aware of our child and his needs and the school was able to pick up on a slight special need and recommend a solution (speech therapy). We couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

I have had great experiences with both of my children in PS 89. The top teachers, the best facilities, and an engaged administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2007

The teachers are excellent at PS89
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2007

We have been terribly disappointed in this school. When we moved here, I was impressed by the school--it is a beautiful building and has many fine elective classrooms, such as art, and dance etc. However, my impression of the leadership after a couple of years of involvement with the PTA is that parents are a nuisance and shouldn't interfere with their children's education. It has been quite frustrating. My child has done very well despite the overcrowded classrooms---but this community is headed for a significant overcrowding problem in the next couple of years, and since no new school has been slated yet (despite the community's efforts to get one) I am not sure what they will do. If you are looking to move to this community (which is fabulous--we love living here) you may want to consider private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2007

i love ps89 is a wonderful school and mr.cacioppo is a very nice principal
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 63% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 19% 9%
Hispanic 1 12% 23%
Black 2 5% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 14%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 17%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 6%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 37%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 272 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents25068%
Teachers2273%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

201 Warren St
New York, NY 10282
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 571-5659

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ps 150
New York, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT