Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Is 289

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 292 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 23, 2013

My kid get in the school without any test. This school is not even is his first choice. So I doubt what the parent said "This school is hard to get in".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2013

Great school! That is why it is hard to get in. Good enviorment and atmosphere. My kid learned a lot from teachers and classmates. Principal is very strict and easy approach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

The school DOESN'T help my kid to prepare for HS at all. They don't have test or any assessment test. There is no academic challenge at all. The teachers give a lot of projects and homework, but never check the work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2013

My child went to IS89, and was bullied and ill-prepared for HS. Most of the work is done in groups so some kids work and some don't. No textbooks, kids work entirely from handouts with the notes they took in class. Administration is arrogant and difficult to deal with. It is basically impossible to get a one-on-one with your child's teachers in a subject. The truth about this school shows in the test scores - kids coming in at 6th grade are in higher percentiles on the standardized tests than they are when they go out at 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2013

Personally, it's a good school. It has a safe neighborhood and is very supportive. However, there's a wide range of intelligence which causes a number of students to get bored. Not many students from I.S. 289 gradulate to a special high school.


Posted July 3, 2012

Nice school in a safe neighborhood. The school is clean and has good technology resources (laptops,desktops, Itouches) for hands on learning. They challenge you to think critically and deeply about what you learn, but what is being taught is not new or challenging. The teachers focus too much on getting you to think about a topic or piece of information and sometimes there is circumlocution. There is a wide range of "intelligence" which makes learning, for some, harder. Some students need more help than others, resulting in having to split up the class and/or giving different work. When they DON'T split the class there is sometimes a disadvantage to the half of the class that understand, because they have to sit there while the teacher tries to explain to the others. There are a lot of discussions and group work, "turn-and-talk," and such. During collaboration, the certain students do more work/participate more than others. There are a lot of cliques and different groupings among the students. Also, some bullying and fighting occur off and on school grounds.


Posted November 2, 2010

Small beautiful and nurturing school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2009

I am about to graduate from this school and I love it! The teachers do pay attention to kids and there are only some kids who are bullies. In general, this is the best shool ever, in the best environment ever. I usedto get such bad grades in 6th grade, now I get great grades. This school has inmproved me soooooo much! Go 89!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 5, 2008

Heyyyy! I don't go to IS89 anymore but I have to say it's an awesome school. I only went to 89 for a year before I had to transfer out but in the one year it was probably one of the best school years I've had. All the teachers and counselors but especially the other students help you transition into the way the school works. I was always a shy person but at 89 they make it easier to get to know each other and I ended up talking to my classmates and making close friends. Not to mention I learned a lot too. I would go on and on about how great 89 is but I won't. Seriously consider going to 89 and go Class of '09!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 11, 2008

HI!!! I just graduated from IS89 in 2008 and I'm going to miss the teachers and kids SO much. I remember how hard it was to find a good high school to apply to but the teachers and guidance counselors at IS89 made it so much easier. IS89 is very into collaboration and they REALLY like kids who can talk in groups and who are willing to share opinions and ideas. When I started out at 89, I wasn't very outgoing but the teachers and kids made it so easy to just talk. So now, I could go on and on about the great classes that IS89 offers and the amazing books that we get to read but all I'll say is that IS89 is a GREAT school and everyone should serisouly consider it for middle school. GOOD LUCK TO EVERYONE!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2007

Great and wonderful school. My children and I reccomend I.S. 289 ( Houdson River Middle School) pver any other middle school in New York City.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2006

The school is very modern and up to date. This is a relatively new school with a new gym, library, cafeteria, computers, lockers and classrooms. The halls and classrooms are very clean. The teachers are intelligent and caring. The students could use a little help. There is a lot of bullying and aggressive behaviour.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 40% 9%
White 2 32% 48%
Hispanic 1 18% 23%
Black 2 10% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 12%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 142%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 23%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 41%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 479 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents17963%
Students28698%
Teachers1474%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ELLEN FOOTE

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

201 Warren St
New York, NY 10282
Phone: (212) 571-9268

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





The Lang School
New York, NY


St Joseph School
New York, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT