Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ms 131

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 556 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 29 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 6, 2012

Brilliant school. Ms. Tam is an honorable principal that should be respected. She tries to do her best for the school and is very caring and understanding to students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

Awesome school. Very clean and healthy environment for my children to learn. Helpful teachers guiding my kids, and Ms. Tam counseling my kids. This school is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

Remarkable school indeed. This school is amazing. The principal and teachers are very friendly to the students. Awesome school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

I love this school, this school is amazing. My children goes to this school and learns a lot. I have never seen them so excited to learn. Good influence 131.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

Ms. Abadia is an excellent counselor. I am a full time working mom, my husband just passed away last year. I want to be by my daughter's side like many other moms but I can't. Ms. Abadia talks to my daughter and counsels her to look on the bright sides of things. This school is remarkable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

This school is amazing. I love this school and my kids really enjoyed being a student in MS 131. They were inspired by many teachers and they feel welcome at school everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

My daughter loves this school. She has become more mature as she enrolls to this school. The teachers would always help her in academics and encourage her to strive for the moon. I love this school what a influence it have been on my daughter
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

The teachers are a good influence and inspired students to achieve and accomplish. My son had a great and fun time being a student in this school. It's a very safe environment and I trust the principal will do better and make more improvements in the future
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

MS 131 is an amazing school. Go to this school and you won't regret it. They have so many programs and after school activities after school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

This school is an excellent school and I really like how the teachers are so supportive of the students. Ms. Tam is an excellent principal with a strong sense of leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

I love this school very much it's a very nice school. The environment is very healthy and clean. The technology is very advanced and the teachers are very friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2011

I graduated from MS131 and As a Student from the Class of 2011 We have changed the school from a Grade D to a Grade A school I would recommend this school to anyone who want to get a great learning experience.


Posted July 17, 2011

School has always been unsatisfactory but, has made significant changes since its new principal Phyllis tam. But, the technology is no help to a child's education.


Posted July 17, 2011

Worst school in the universe! The curriculum is extremely unsatisfactory and some of the teachers read black history picture books to stellar 8th grade classes! I was an alumni there and I despise it very much. Never go here!


Posted March 11, 2010

My son is graduating this year, (2010). He has had an excellent education at 131, Dr. Sun Yat Sen, with the arts and technology incorporated into every class. His teachers are dedicated and expert. The calm school environment makes learning easy. The guidance counselor works overtime to make sure the 131 students have the best chance of getting in to good high schools. The school provides free SHSAT math prep. My son was accepted into two excellent high schools, and will go on to do well at his first choice (specialized) high school because of the education he received at Dr Sun Yat Sen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2009

My daughter just graduated from I.S. 131, The Class of 2009. I have to congratulate the teachers, the staff, the Principal, Assistant Principals and the Deans for making this school a magnificent school. I wished my daughter could of continued all the way to high school at this school. Learning is intertwined with discipline and caring. The school is extremely organized, clean and a pleasure to deal with the school administration. My daughter exceled, she learned so much, such amazing teachers prepared her for rigorous tests and she passed. Oh I need to mention the my child was acknowledged with Honor Rolls and Principal Lists, when my child had a certain grade average. I take with me the most beautiful memories of this excellent school. Thank you to all who made our 3 years so wonderful. ~~~~Much appreciation, Maria Marquez (parent) & Stephanie A. Rodriguez (8-308-Leadership)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2009

this is the best middle school ever! i went there for middle school, the teachers are all so helpful and caring. it is very save school. it is nice a learning enviroment~ and this school gives each student a laptop , for then to carry and around and use. ^^ when it is then to choose a high school, the teachers are very helpful, the school has high school fairs for students to learn all about high schools in ny. so the the future their students can be all successful!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 14, 2008

My 7th-grade son is getting an excellent education at MS 131. I have found Ms. Tam, the principal, to be always ready to address my concerns, and extremely flexible and helpful. When my son was forced to miss two weeks of school for a family emergency, his teachers sent him work while he was away and made time after school for him to catch up when he returned. He had work exhibited in a gallery at the completion of the Math in Art program. Now he is animating his short story and setting it to music, in another collaborative arts program. He does all his work on a laptop computer issued to him by the school. He is very happy, the school is safe, and while I wish the ELA classes were a little more challenging, on the whole we believe that we are very lucky to have been accepted here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

M.S. 131 is the best school I have entered thus far in my 12 year old son's academic pursuit. The teachers are dedicated and go over and beyond on a day to day basis with my son. The curiculum while covering the basics affords opportunities for many extras as well such as Art, Music, etc. My son who loves art but is not very good in Math is in a program which incorporates his love of art with Math what a terrific combination. The only negative I have encountered at this school its that the prinicipal values the overall goal of the school over the individual needs of students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

96 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
32%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

106 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
27%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

132 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
12%

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
27%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

176 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 80% 9%
Hispanic 2 13% 23%
Black 1 7% 19%
White 1 1% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 246%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 192%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 6%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 53%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 2%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Media arts
  • Technical design and production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 720 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.2
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents27964%
Students42694%
Teachers1534%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. PHYLLIS TAM

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Media arts
  • Technical design and production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 Hester St
New York, NY 10002
Phone: (212) 219-1204

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St Joseph School
New York, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT