Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ms 131

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 556 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 29 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

This is a great school with caring staff and interactive learning. The students enjoy recess and project based learning. This school can improve in having more after school activities and sports.


Posted March 23, 2013

I am a student of the school. The school is safe and I love the teachers, counselors, and staffs. This school is the best and is like a second home.


Posted December 9, 2012

I am one of the students in Ms.131. I love this school so much, i don't even want to leave. Some of the things that I like about this school, is the help, and attention the teacher gives to a student. When you don't understand something, they will help you right away, and they will make sure you understand the concepts. Plus, this school is very,very safe.


Posted December 9, 2012

This school Has very good technology. Everyone has a laptop to use in every subject class. And this school challenges the students that goes here, and will help there future.


Posted December 6, 2012

Excellent technology, and nice after school activities. My daughter had bonded with the school and she's loving this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

My daughter goes to this school, it's a very safe school with a wonderful environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

I love this school and I love working with the kids here at this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 6, 2012

My son had always been a delinquent. I am a single parent and I never had much time to teach him to respect. I admit I am an awful mother but after my son got into this school he totally changed. He was making so much progress due to the help of the caring and concerned teachers in this school. I was honestly surprised at how much it'll totally change my son. He now is a mature young adult who is excellent in academics who knows how to respect. I really love this school and love how it affected my son. GO MS 131!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

This school is amazing, I was a graduate from this school now currently working as a lawyer. Go to this school. You surely won't regret it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

This school is the best. My daughter graduated here and now is studying to be a doctor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

Very safe environment, there are no fights and no gangs. It's an excellent place where students can focus on studying and make progress in academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

I graduated from this school. It's a safe school and everyone is very respectful to each other and everything is just amazing in this school. I love the teachers, staffs, and counselors in this school.


Posted December 6, 2012

The teachers here are very helpful to my son. My son had never been good in the subject math. After the teacher notices he notified me and asked me if my son can stay after school every wednesday and he'll help him in math. I had never seen such a caring teacher like him before. My son made a lot of progress as the teacher was willing to stay after school despite his busy schedule he was delighted to help for no charge. MS 131 sure is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

I have been working in this school for 7 years. The students and my peers are very friendly and respectful to me. The principal is a very nice woman who hopes the best for the students and try to help them in every way she can.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 6, 2012

Marvelous school with excellent students and teachers. Ms. Tam is an excellent principal and Ms. Hernandez and Ms. Abadia are amazing counselors. My daughter graduated from this school and now I'm sending my son to this school. I love MS 131
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

I never thought this school would have been so influential to my daughter, she's now taking dance in school and I have realized she have talent because I am constantly working. She really enjoyed going to this school, I know my daughter is in safe hands of this school and the teachers and students around her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

I graduated from this school and I have send my kids to this school too. I love this school and my kids said they enjoyed it too. MS 131 for the win.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

This middle school is fantastic! The outstanding teachers, the friends, and the after school activities. Could not imagine my daughter being anywhere else. She is excited about learning. Homework is challenging and engaging. The school is academically competitive, and it really focuses on preparing to be accepted to the best high schools. Great environment, energetic teaching, and energetic student body. Love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

This school is outstanding in every way possible. Love this school it's the best. Go MS 131
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

I school is fantastic after my son came to this school he was looking forward to learn each and every day. What a positive influence the teachers and counselors were. Love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
23%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
28%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

165 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
23%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students14%
Female18%
Male10%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander15%
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
General population18%
English language learners5%
Proficient in English20%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant14%

Math

All Students29%
Female30%
Male27%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander35%
Hispanic6%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
General population36%
English language learners34%
Proficient in English24%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students17%
Female13%
Male20%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander20%
Hispanic9%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged16%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
General population19%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English28%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant17%

Math

All Students36%
Female32%
Male40%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander47%
Hispanic8%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities11%
General population39%
English language learners38%
Proficient in English35%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students19%
Female19%
Male19%
African American0%
Asian/Pacific Islander19%
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged16%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities8%
General population21%
English language learners1%
Proficient in English36%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant19%

Math

All Students43%
Female50%
Male38%
African American0%
Asian/Pacific Islander53%
Hispanic19%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities4%
General population51%
English language learners44%
Proficient in English43%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant43%

Science

All Students69%
Female71%
Male68%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander75%
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities37%
General population75%
English language learners66%
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 80% 9%
Hispanic 2 13% 23%
Black 1 7% 19%
White 2 1% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 46%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 292%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 6%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 53%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 2%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Media arts
  • Technical design and production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 720 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.2
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents27964%
Students42694%
Teachers1534%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • MS. PHYLLIS TAM

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Media arts
  • Technical design and production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 Hester St
New York, NY 10002
Phone: (212) 219-1204

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St Joseph School
New York, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT