Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jhs 104 Simon Baruch

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 1057 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

56 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 4, 2011

I am a former teacher at Simon Baruch, I had the extreme, thankfully brief, displeasure of working with the "new crop" of teachers that have recently taken over . This may sound harsh, but I cannot understand why so many individuals that obviously can't stand children and have no work ethic whatsoever decided to become teachers. Thanks to its teachers, Simon Baruch is now among the saddest of examples of where this country s entire public education system is headed. If you care at all about your child, you cannot allow the system to place them in Simon Baruch. I ALSO KNOW FIRST HAND THAT A GREAT MANY OF THE GOOD REVIEWS WRITTEN ABOUT THIS SCHOOL ON THIS SITE WERE WRITTEN BY THE SCHOOL ADMINISTRATION.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 4, 2011

This is the worst school ever. My daughter has been attacked and beaten several times by boys here, AND NO ONE WILL DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. Advice: IF YOU SEND YOUR KID HERE, MAKE SURE YOU HAVE GREAT HEALTH INSURANCE AND A GREAT LAWYER. The teachers and principals act like you don't even exist.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2011

The principal is inadequate, as is a large number of her staff. They don't seem to have the skills to run the school, provide discipline, structure, and the attention kids need. The principal seems to be more concerned about maintaining an "image" and her job than really doing what's best for the kids. There's violence, a lot of kids cursing, and rules breaking everywhere. If the teachers like you, you can basically do whatever you want. If you're too quiet, too loud, too smart, not smart enough - you will not do well here. The teachers and students will pick on you. Not a good faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2011

One of the best schools here. You can meet new friends and exellent teachers that actually care about you. Before I was a lonely kid, when i joined Baruch i become popular and that definitely changed my life.


Posted June 26, 2010

The housing system allows needed individual attention. The teachers and administration are fantastic. The drama after school is the best in the City. Our child could not have had a better middle school experience. Three cheers for our Principal Gaetani,and Viva 104!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

My son is now a 9th grader in one of the top specialized high schools in the city. He was a Baruch SP student for all 3 years of middle school. We find that MS 104 prepared him better for the rigors of this high school than some of the smaller middle schools did for his friends. He is excelling in math and science and credits that, in part, to the solid background he got in both subjects at Baruch. A bigger middle school makes for an easier transition to a big high school, and, in general, the specialized high schools are big!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

My son attended 104 6th through 8th sp program and he is now in a very well known hs.104 did not do a good job as far as the homework load and quiz prep. H.s is a major step to climb.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2010

i am not satisfyed with the quality of understanding of the students along with the teachers, i am really unhappy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2010

The school has a nurturing environment, with all teachers here being intelligent, stimulating, energetic and enthused. to the post dated September 18, 2008: I am not sure what is meant by 'especially those of us with students in the SP program'. My son is not in the SP program. But he is far from a 'problematic kid', whatever that means. He is friendly, smart and hard working. So are many of his friends who are also not in SP. Some of these students just require more attention and a smaller class size and/or have particular issues with math and/or writing. On the other hand, there equally are 'problematic kids' in the SP Program. My son has generally been treated by the teachers/administration with equal care as the SP kids, but I do remain concerned about segregation and tracking . I believe it to be not a problem at Baruch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

We love it! Great school, wonderful staff & active supportive PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2009

i love my school that im going to the teachers are really nice and i get a great education their.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 2, 2009

The education is awesome and so are the teachers. But there are too many bullies and people not following the rules there. Such as no cursing and hoods and hats on in school. If there were less people cursing and wearing their pants the wrong way (up to their knees) I think that school will be rated 5+ to me
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2009

The teachers in this school are amazing. I began to love Social Studies ever since I had Ms. Davis as a teacher and I loved science ever since Ms. Wiltz was my 7th grader teacher. Both the science and social studies department have amazing teachers that make you want to learn but the math teachers in this school have a lot to learn. For the three years that I was at Simon Baruch I hated going to math because of the teacher's inability to teach a topic and speak understandable english. If your child struggles in Math then they should definitely get outside tutoring because you will not learn a thing at this school. The French teacher was amazing and I learned a lot from him. Mr. Ealey was great teacher and challenges each student by creating hard tests and teaching them high school topics. Overall, this school has amazing teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 28, 2008

My daughter is now in 6th grade Simon Baruch Middle School. She likes it there, she gets good grades but the people there dont treat her nice. If I were you parents dont put your child in MS 104.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 25, 2008

I would like to point out that the assistant principal Mr. Daily (I hope I have the right speling) was great in helping us to solve an issue. His level of dedication is huge given the fact that it was a sure thing to find him at his desk at 7 PM when I called. I hope there are more people like Mr Daily at Baruch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2008

We don't like Baruch. It is very crowded and very burocratic. My daughter was assigned there and her grades are all 'A' but the school keep us waiting to put her in advanced placement. There are a lot of disciplinary problems and we don't find any feedback from the counselor. Don't go there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2008

The principal is okay. She like all the rest of the principals. She is very responsible
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 20, 2008

As an ex-teacher of this school, I have to warn both parents and students. There are some absolutely great teachers, but their hands are tied by an administration that cares a lot more about looking good than being good. Behavior problems are swept under the rug, and children that start by acting out in normal ways quickly find that without boundaries, they can do whatever they choose. The good kids are not given the attention they deserve because the teachers have to spend so much of their energy trying to keep the problem cases from terrorizing the building. Classes are overcrowded, and the SP program is honors in name only--the work is no more challenging than the general education classes. There are much better schools in the area. 104 was once great--it no longer is.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 18, 2008

In response to the post dated July 17, 2008, I agree the administration often seems to be more concerned with dealing with crises than finding ways to keep the brighter kids challenged and I agree with the post dated April 17, 2008 that it would be incredible to get the kids more involved in international studies... the Mock UN Program is right down the street! On the whole, however, I think Baruch provides a solid educational experience and the more we parents-- especially those of us with students in the SP program-- bring our concerns to the attention of the administration, we may be able to make a difference. I don't think they disagree; unfortunately the school is required to take problematic kids that may fall out of other schools. The administration's philosophy seems to be to try to keep the bottom from falling out is just spread way too thin.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2008

I loved this school so much. I wish i could go back. But I graduated. The teachers were great and friendly and do were the students.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

305 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

309 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

311 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

316 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

354 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

294 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

322 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 56% 9%
Hispanic 1 18% 23%
White 2 16% 48%
Black 2 10% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 1% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 17%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 263%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 20%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 29%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 2%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 1883 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.4
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents82786%
Students98797%
Teachers69100%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ROSEMARIE GAETANI

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

330 E 21st St
New York, NY 10010
Phone: (212) 674-4545

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Ps 226
New York, NY



Friends Seminary
New York, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT