Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jhs 104 Simon Baruch

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 1057 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

56 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 17, 2008

I will always regret sending my boy here. It was a terrible experience for him. Every negative post rings true. It seems to me that girls do better, for whatever sociological reason. My son entered as a President's Scholar--3 years later he didn't even manage an 85. Each year he began determined to do his best in his SP class, but overcrowding, lackluster teachers (pace to the exceptions), general lack of vision, and a principal more concerned with dealing with crises than helping keep bright kids motivated, dragged him down in mind and spirit. Think twice. And be advised that not all SP classes offer Regents work--assume nothing. BTW, intensive tutoring got my kid a high test score and admission into arguably the top NYC Public H.S. Not because of Baruch, b ut in spite of Baruch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2008

I have gone to Simon Baruch for three years. I love the school even though the community involvment could be greater. I am in the SP program and always have been in it. The teachers are very suportive and they are always helping students by giving up their time.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 17, 2008

Simon Baruch JHS 104 is a great school and is a stepping stone towards higher goals for my daughter who is currently in the 7th Grade SP program. I do however wish that there were a few more afterschool programs that will get the kids off the streets and learn more international studies (that their world is a much bigger place than they can imagine)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2008

Simon Baruch Middle School is one of the Best School
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2007

I went to this school for 3 years and I loved it. The teachers are really nice and understanding. I learned alot in 104 and I will never forget my 3 years there
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2007

well I am not necessarily a parent I am a student at Simon Baruch(going into eighth grade) and I think that the school is good if you are on the teachers deans and staffs good sides, or you don't really get any special attention. but on the other hand if you (as the student) don't stick out either with really good grades or really bad behavior (your basically mediocre) then that's what you get mediocre attention. see if you don't have a close and personal relationship with the teachers you might not necessarily be student of the month, but hey that's just my experience at Simon Baruch. and I am not looking forward to going back there for eighth grade, I am dreading it! - nothing special in NYC
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 27, 2007

For two years I was the Poster Mom for 104. This past year, with a new principal, things changed. In 6th & 7th grade my daughter was in SP. With a 95% average, in 8th grade she was not put into the Regents class. The principal would not return my calls, emails or hand-written notes. The atmosphere in the general education class was not conducive to learning, and her two 'good' teachers have both left. She went from never missing a day of school to begging me to stay home and being frequently upset.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2007

I love this school. I feel really safe and we are all a huge family.(sometimes) The teachers are great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 24, 2007

I go to Simon Baruch Middle school the teacher are very helpful and willing to teach. Our principle is splendid. Our school policy is strict and fair. We also have homework help every Tuesday and Thursday.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2006

I stayed in Simon Baruch for three years and really benefit from it. Simon Baruch was filled with awesome people and teachers. I think that those three years where so far the best and most exiting years of my life. I made unbelievable friends and not only that but learned quiet a bit to. This is the best school ever the teachers are amazing the students are great and the education is great too. Right now I'm in NEST and all I could say that Baruch was 1000 times better! When you finish Baruch u feel amazing u meet tons of new people and learn a lot. 104 is the best school ever I strongly recommend it! I graduated from it and trust me its everything good compare to other schools!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 29, 2006

this school has an amazingly good education and the school also makes your child feel like home.the school has teachers who care about them and 1 on 1 attention even though the class sizes are in large amounts.the school can provide your child with music,sports such as basketball,baseball,football,soccer and other sports due to popular demands. the school also has afterschool programs such as chess clubs and sport teams.the school can also asure your child a great learning experience. the school also have a great divided race of different cultures.the school provides school lunch for your child. it also has its montly fund raisers.the school also has a spacious gym that has new gym equipment.the school is very clean and sanitary.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2005

Our son is in 8th grade at Baruch, having started in the SP program in 6th grade, and moved into the General Education program in 7th & 8th grades. The teaching has not been good in the General Education program, and our impression of the SP program was the teachers had a 'sink or swim' attitude. As soon as our son started sinking, he was not given much attention at all. He has had no music, minimal art. The drama program has been terrific, and the level of parent involvement in the SP class was substantial. He has loved (and continues to love...) his friends. But middle school is the great black hole of education, and Baruch is a large school -- not great for kids who are apt to get lost.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2005

The quality of this school depends on what type of student your child is. I had no regrets sending my oldest son to this junior high school, where he was taught by teachers who were not only interested in his academic development but his extracurriculars as well. He was taught by the most encouraging individuals who kept him challenged with accelerated classes and assignments. However, I did not send my younger son to this school since this school does remedial students a diservice. For example, remedial math students were taught by the someone who taught the woodworking elective class. This is a very good school if your child is ambitious. If he needs more attention, send him someone where else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2005

The staff here is wonderful!! They care about your child and their development. They will contact via phone, email, or cell. They keep you abreast of everything! i will recommend this to school everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2005

An excellent school with a supportive administration and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2004

This middle school turned out to be the perfect match for my son who is kind and disciplined. Although the school itself is not a' lock down ' school, it has just the right amount of traditonal codes that make it a safe environement. The school is large and offer much in the way of liberal studies such as art, music, computer, but we found that the regular classes such as math, history, language arts and science offered the most. In the classes where he excelled, he was put in the advanced placement classes much to our satisfaction (and his). Mind you, he is not a genius. Just a fun high school kid who should have the opportunities that a lot of the kids ffrom the suburbs have. He now attends Manhattan Hunter High School for the Sciences. Our son made good friends and had good teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

305 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

309 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

311 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

316 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

354 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

294 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

322 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 56% 9%
Hispanic 1 18% 23%
White 1 16% 48%
Black 1 10% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 27%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 163%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 20%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 29%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 2%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 1883 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.4
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents82786%
Students98797%
Teachers69100%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ROSEMARIE GAETANI

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

330 E 21st St
New York, NY 10010
Phone: (212) 674-4545

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Ps 226
New York, NY



Friends Seminary
New York, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT