Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fiorello H Laguardia High School of Music, Art and Performing Arts

Public | 9-12 | 2604 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 11 ratings
2011:
Based on 8 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

591 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 1, 2011

I'm currently a freshman, and I can honestly say after this year that I'm not interested in LaGuardia anymore. As someone said before, art has become a chore. Although my artwork has improved greatly, it isn't as fun and too technical. My classes aren't necessarily hard, but the time management is. I go in at 8 and get out at 3:15 or 2:30 every day, and it's draining and I have no time to balance homework, studying and sleep. Many of my teachers teach directly from the textbook, teach terribly and don't know what they're talking about. I travel from the southernmost part of Brooklyn. I feel like most of the kids here are full of themselves because they're in an "art" school and act very artificial. This may be in any high school but here it's amplified due to the studios. If you're not at least somewhat "hipster", you just don't quite fit in. I'm so sick of waking up at 5am and getting home at 5pm every day. I wish I had never come. I give it 3 stars because many others succeed here - just not me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2011

LaGuardia offers excellent arts programs, but their academics are a joke. I graduated with below-Sophomore math classes, which has hurt my academic progress in college. Students do not get free periods; they take more art to fill those gaps, so if you attend LaGuardia, expect to be there from 8AM-3PM for four years. The teachers- paticularly art teachers- have experience in their field, and expect professional work. The students are a bit eccentric (they *are* artists, after all), and come from all backgrounds and areas of the city. Having 3-4 art classes a day became a chore. I didn't draw or paint anything for ten years after graduation. So, even though LaGuardia may have made me a better artist, it also made me despise art- the one thing I had always loved. It is located between a housing project and Martin Luther King High School. Just because Lincoln Center happens to be there doesn't make it a particularly safe neighborhood, particularly for transgendered and homosexual students. However, once they enter the LaGuardia building, they are accepted and safe. Overall, its a safe school (except for the mold in the air vents), and generally better than a zoned school would be.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 13, 2011

This is my first year. I'm happy enough, but I often feel as thought the school is draining the life and creativity out of me. The day is extremely long. the teachers are good, as are the academic programs. the classes aren't very challenging but school has never ben challenging for me. I don't really agree with the message: there is no community in this school. If you have a true passion for your major i don't know if it's the school for you. Doing art has become a chore, when it becomes school, it stops being fun.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 10, 2011

I go here as a Vocal Major & I gotta say that LaGuardia is absolutely amazing. Students & teachers here are so loving & caring. Even though it's a performing arts high school, it IS a specialized school and they really care about your schoolwork. It isnt all fun & games like some people think. Its hard work but it is amazing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2011

Although there aren't cliques per se, the majors are pretty separated. The academics are just average. If you're the average student, you'll manage here just fine. The day is LONG, especially if you're a sophomore or a freshman, as you need to get all your years of math or whatever done. There are lots of floors and even though there are escalators, there's always at least one that doesn't work and they're constantly breaking. sure, everyone here is talented, but not extraordinary. It's a little overrated. A few of the teachers aren't too...well..."educated". But I still love the diversity of students and how it's an art school. The glamor sure wears off after awhile, though.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 27, 2011

I want to go here sooooo badly..didnt nicki minaj go here???!!!:@SDSADFWERGERGFDbwsjgbergbregberigb sorry random ^.^ ya......i need to get to highschool first lol. and i would have to move to new york since i am in the state below but i use to live in ny...moved actually a couple dayz agol. ILY QUEENZ!1


Posted December 11, 2010

I love this school. I'm only a freshman, but I love all my classes. Since I have almost all my classes with different people, it's very easy to expose yourself to others and make new friends. Some of my teachers are a little eccentric, but most of them are amazing and manage to make me laugh during their lessons, yet still get all our work done. My only complaints are the fact that there are so many floors. We do have escalators, yes, but sometimes some of them won't be running, which is a bit of a hassle since my first class is on the top floor. Another issue I have is also a love-I'm constantly moving. This makes it easier for me to handle my ADHD, since I don't have to sit as still for as long as I did at my old school. It's a long school day though (from 8 to 3:40) so as soon as I get home, I can't really collapse and relax-I have to get started on my homework, which there is typically 1-2 hours of, depending on your classes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2010

This school provides a top notch academic environment in addition to allowing the kids to express themselves creatively. The drama program is immaculate-small studio-really focused on developing on stage performance skills. Dance studio is small studio - mostly classical dance - should incorporate hip hop and other forms of dance as expression. Vocal studio is the largest studio - not as focused as I would have liked, but has definitely helped my daughter increase her vocal ability. Vocal should incorporate more forms (ie. gospel, pop, r&b, rock) - it is mostly classical, broadway, opera oriented. Having said all of that, I believe it is one of the best performance high schools in the country. This school exudes excellence and it is a blessing to all who are fortunate to be accepted.


Posted February 21, 2010

The students are really happy, everyone loves our school. Laguardia FTW!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 8, 2009

It is a horribly overrated school. Look at how unhappy so many students are.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 6, 2009

Great Music and academic program.Caring and amazing teachers. It is the FAME school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2009

I love the idea of recruiting genius in the fields of music & art as well as the 'harder' subjects. As it turns out, there is a high correlation between gifted artists and the overall brilliant student.


Posted November 4, 2009

This school bonds across the ages, Artists are a special Breed, creativity grows exponentially within each person because of the training and skill honed to a fine exquisite Gem here
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

This is one of the best high schools out there. We not only get taught academics but also the different arts . Everyone in the school is very friendly and so are the teachers. No one makes you feel out of place and the teachers are great at helping you out. LaGuardia is the best!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 30, 2009

There's no other option like this in NYC (or in surrounding areas that I'm aware of), public OR private, that is as dedicated to fostering the creative/intellectual energy of its' students as this one. A school as culturally and creatively diverse as this, is as essential to the core of the soul of NYC, as it is to the core of this country as a whole.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

Both our kids went there. A well rounded curriculum on top of a great education in the arts. Love the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

LAG is a wondwerful school for performers and those who want to work in the arts, it is also a good place to be creative as well as get a well rounded education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

Because it is one of the best high schools devoted to teaching the arts~
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 29, 2009

Easily the best 'specialized' high school. Students undertake a heavy workload, balancing their artistic focus and a full academic course load.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

Nothing tops being in science class while hearing gospel seep through the door and give you strength to last throughout the day.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

567 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
89%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

627 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

235 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

780 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

54 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

699 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

701 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
95%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

347 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
99%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

38 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

579 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
86%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

167 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
99%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

668 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students84%
Female84%
Male84%
African American82%
Asian/Pacific Islander86%
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Non-migrant84%

Chemistry

All Students82%
Female83%
Male81%
African American74%
Asian/Pacific Islander84%
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant82%

Earth Science

All Students96%
Female96%
Male93%
African American89%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%

English

All Students98%
Female99%
Male98%
African American96%
Asian/Pacific Islander99%
Hispanic97%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilities80%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%

Geometry

All Students93%
Female94%
Male91%
African American86%
Asian/Pacific Islander97%
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities80%
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%

Global History and Geography

All Students99%
Female98%
Male100%
African American94%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic97%
Multiracial100%
Native Americann/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilities100%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%

Integrated Algebra

All Students98%
Female99%
Male98%
African American100%
Asian/Pacific Islander98%
Hispanic97%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilities80%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%

Living Environment

All Students99%
Female100%
Male99%
African American100%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilities100%
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%

Physics

All Students85%
Female84%
Male91%
African American69%
Asian/Pacific Islander89%
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%
Non-migrant85%

U.S. History and Government

All Students99%
Female99%
Male99%
African American99%
Asian/Pacific Islander100%
Hispanic99%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged99%
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilities100%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant99%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the high school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 20% 9%
Hispanic 17% 23%
Black 13% 19%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 20%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 128%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 72%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
School leaders can update this information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 3386 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
6.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.4
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents94336%
Students237489%
Teachers6950%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 4:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • MS. KIM BRUNO

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Arts all
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Transportation options
  • Busses - M10, M104, M11, M20, M31, M5, M57, M66, M7, M72. Subways - A, B, C, D to 59th St-Columbus Circle; 1 to 66th St - Lincoln Center; 2, 3 to 72nd St
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Sofbtall
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 Amsterdam Ave
New York, NY 10023
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 496-0700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT