Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

High School Of Graphic Communication Arts

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1428 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 11, 2012

While I was a student there it was call High School of Printing, I'm talking over 30 years ago. The school then was maintained very well by the staff/faculty. These days there is a lot of challenges affecting the students and staff. I believe it will improve sooner than later. I loved my school. I became a responsible man through them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2012

This school is just horrible! There are metal detectors, no phones are allowed in school; it feels like a prison. Correction: it is. Students here are disrespectful; there would be cursing in classes. Immaturity; the escalators are barely working half of the time thanks to the students here and I saw three pregnant girls in the school. As a student here now, I recommend you NOT to come here. It's on the borderline of shutting down and the school is doing terrible with the student body. I don't like it one bit and I'm glad I'm transferring out of here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2010

I am student currently attending this school, I want to get out,students talk through test,they disrespect the teachers by cursing to them or throwing paper.This school has metal detectors, everyday I pass through the metal detectors I ring, then I have to go to the table to get searched and they never find anything!One day I was posting up photos when a security guard looked at photo of a boy and said 'That's gay'.My mouth dropped,and the kids at this school are so immature,there is not one day that you don't see a pregnant teen,or students walking into classes and having conversation's with the teacher during a lesson .I made a huge mistake going to this school DO NOT GO TO THIS SCHOOL.Also this school is in danger of shutting down,and the principals resolution was to pass every student that just attends each class.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 7, 2007

My child goes to High School Communication Graphic Art, and he's doing great. I guess what I'm saying is that this high school isn't bad at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2006

I find Graphics to be an excellent school, there could be more parent involvement; the principal and the teachers are highly qualified and truly dedicated to the student body. I am on the School Leadership Team , we could use you. Now parents make sure you do not let your kids fall by the waste side, they need you more now then ever. Join the Parent Teacher Association.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2005

i think this is a great school the teachers are very helpfull to the student and the principle is very good with the kids if you want a good school to send your child to graphics is the place
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 13, 2004

This review is many years late but I hope it provides hope for some. I graduated from the school over 25 years ago when it was known as the NY School of Printing. Since then I went on to college and graduate school and now work in Asia for a US investment bank. During my four years at 'Printing' I commuted from Queens. There was plenty of temptation on the West side of NYC during the 70's. There were drugs and gangs near and around the school and the gritty and dirty Broadway was nearby. But then as now, I think the dedication of the teachers and the support of family and the business community is what will continue to allow opportunities for other 'kids from Queens' (or Bronx, Brooklyn, Manhattan etc.) to move on to bigger dreams. Thank you for helping me make my dreams come true.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 15, 2003

I was a former graduate of Graphics and it was an experience. The school went through many changes and none of them were for the best for the students or faculty. However, we had very dedicated teachers who ignored the ignorance that went on throughout the school. The safety of the school seemed to be the main focus of the principal s instead of the academic setting we were placed in. The students did as they wanted and did not focus on what was being taught in the school. As an overall, my school experience at Graphics was one of the worse, the only thing I will remember are my wonderful teachers who taught me what I went to college knowing. Class of 2001!


Posted August 26, 2003

Im a recent graduate of this school and all I can say is that this school helped me to grow and mature into a mentally strong lady. The teachers were there to support me when i needed help and there was that ROTC program that gave me enough confidence to move onto that next step in life. Even though the environment may seem a little prison like and there arent enough updated books, the counselors were there to help you and the new principal was there to get to know the students. I enjoyed my time at graphics and Ill never forget the time i had there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 10, 2003

I am a former student of Graphic Arts and although the easy thing would be to doubt the school, I believe it has it's strong points and are improving on those and many others. During the years I went, we didn't have a stable Principal. As a matter of fact, we had 3 principals in 4 years. However, the school was still kept in good shape. The teacher/student ratio had to be the best quality the school showed. I remember during the hardships of classes, my teachers were dedicated and willing to sacrifice their time to help me get through something. This quality is what earns my respect as a former student and although I can't speak nicely of the other poorly derived activities the school shows, I can give my full one hundred support to the teachers at this school. Hardships will come to those who go to this school, but as long as you have a focus head, you'll be able to get through the bumpy roads Graphic Arts drives you down.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
2%

2011

 
 
3%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
43%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
33%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

385 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
62%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
27%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
50%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

574 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
44%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

352 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
58%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

109 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students9%
Female6%
Male14%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic13%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged9%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English9%
Not migrant9%

Chemistry

All Students37%
Female41%
Male29%
African American45%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population40%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrant37%

Earth Science

All Students33%
Female37%
Male25%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population38%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant33%

English

All Students41%
Female47%
Male33%
African American41%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities18%
General population46%
English language learners11%
Proficient in English45%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant41%

Geometry

All Students12%
Female14%
Male9%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic15%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged12%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population13%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrant12%

Global History and Geography

All Students54%
Female61%
Male44%
African American55%
Asian/Pacific Islander60%
Hispanic51%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities20%
General population59%
English language learners13%
Proficient in English57%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant54%

Integrated Algebra

All Students41%
Female42%
Male39%
African American37%
Asian/Pacific Islander77%
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White29%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities20%
General population46%
English language learners15%
Proficient in English43%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant41%

Living Environment

All Students46%
Female48%
Male44%
African American48%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White30%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities26%
General population52%
English language learners14%
Proficient in English52%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant46%

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Not migrantn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Students28%
Female31%
Male24%
African American26%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities10%
General population33%
English language learners15%
Proficient in English30%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant28%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "D" for the high school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 64% 23%
Black 1 30% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 3% 9%
White 1 3% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 19%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 283%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 14%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 54%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 1%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 781 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
5.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
6.5
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
5.7
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
5.5
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
5.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
6.4
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
6.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
4.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
5.5
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
6.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
5.5
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
4.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
6.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
6.8
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
6.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
5.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents11310%
Students61354%
Teachers5568%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. BRENDAN LYONS

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

439 W 49th St
New York, NY 10019
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 245-5925

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT