Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

La Salle Academy

Private | 10-12 | 350 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $806,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,050.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 28, 2014

About the teacher, the teachers are good, they are really helpful and cares about the students. some teachers are bad, they are not cover much of the material and just give tests. about the students, most of them are having a bad attitudes. they talk trash and bad languages, they have a bad behavior, dont care to others' feeling and a little bully. but just a couple of them are good. about the school, it is too small and quite depressing. with old fashion school, it kind a dusty and disgusting, the classes are comfortable. the hallway is too small for the big amount of students, so uncomfortable and inappropriate. they need bigger place. they treated the students too hard. they educate students like in military school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2011

I'm very proud my son graduated from La salle Academy this year. He will enter College in Sep. and he is well prepared for his future and succesful career. All his teacher were involved in his education during his four years . La salle Academy is a very good school for boys.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2011

My son is currently at LaSalle Academy. This school lost their building and is sharing space with St. George's Academy. Less space, same tuition *and pretty high at that. LaSalle is not the primary school so they get the leftovers from St. George. When we toured the building last year, we toured the old building on 2nd St even though they knew full well that they would not be occupying that building in the Fall. It was the biggest scam! School is run like a military and staff tend to be very aggressive with the kids. Website is rarely updated and information on there is poor. It all looks and sounds great but just doesn't work. I definitely do not recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2011

The teacher's at La Salle Academy are extremely dedicated and the atmosphere is more one of an extended family at times rather than just an educational institution. Students are OFTEN found remaining after school to "hang out" with their favorite teachers. The time is spent completing assignments, getting help, or just playing games and talking. As a teacher, I honestly can say that these students leave a warm spot in my heart and, although at times they can wear one down, they almost always lift my spirits. They, for the most part, are grateful for what we do for them and with them. Parents appreciate our efforts (again for the most part) but sometimes need to be reminded that we are all human. Some parents have absurd expectations and seem to think teachers and faculty exist ONLY for their son, disregarding the needs and time spent with others. I am more than happy to be a part of the history of this institution.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 27, 2010

This school provides an effective environment for young men to learn and grow into responsible and involved citizens.


Posted May 21, 2009

My son currently is a student at La Salle Academy. I have never seen any school that care less about student s grades. Because, if they were caring they would communicate with the parents and let us know the progress of our kids. There is no weekly reports that we parents have to sign and return back to the school, there is no alerts if student is not doing his home work(s), there is no alerts if student not working as he must work in the classroom. You will find out about how your son is doing only when you receive the progress report and report card. When you ask teacher how you, as a parent can be involved in controlling the progress? Teacher will tell you to send him/her emails, and when you did, they never answer it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2008

When we were shopping for a high school for our son four years ago, La Salle Academy promised to educate him in a caring and nurturing environment where he would earn his high school diploma and move on to college. I am proud to say that La Salle delivered on its promise! My son credits his excellent academic performance to his teachers and the brotherhood shared by all the students. The faculty and students really look out for one another. We are so happy he chose this school. He will enter college in the fall fully prepared as a mature young man. Submitted by a satisfied parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2008

La Salle is one of the best private high schools in the city. The teachers are caring, the administration is supportive, and the student body is very friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2007

The place is really great. Teachers make the place extra special and each day brings exciting new experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2006

La salle academy is a very good school. However, parent involvment is extremely low. There are plenty of extracurricular activities for students and the teachers are magnificent but I would definitely like to see more parental involvment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 9, 2006

La Salle is a place that cares about young men..they don't just talk the talk, they walk the walk.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2006

Well structured with good computer and religious emphasis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2005

A very good school but needs more enforced discipline. Teachers are warm and caring, and make LSA a great place to be every day.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 5, 2004

Provided me with a great education and ability to enter the big and busy world, as a caring, aware and productive member of society. I've done quite well based on the experiences at LaSalle.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 14, 2004

My son attended this school and improved a lot in all aspects of education and life values. it is a great school for boys, because it nurtures them as well as prepares them for their future careers. I definetely recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 60% 21%
Black 20% 21%
White 11% 52%
Asian 9% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Catherine Guerriero, President
Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • Christian Brothers / NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

215 East 6th Street
New York, NY 10003
Phone: (212) 475-8940

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT