Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Gregory the Great School

Private | PK-8 | 181 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $1,035,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,110.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 2, 2014

This school is warm and nurturing. Your child will be given attention as an individual person and opportunities to succeed on his or her own terms. The teachers and administrators in the middle school are straight forward and accessible. It is a very small school with a family feel. The PTA is an active and positive group.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2013

I am the parent of a new fourth grader at St. Gregory The Great. I feel blessed to have found this school for my son. He was in a charter school for three years. During that time the concern was more on test scores instead of the student. At St. Gregory the Great the student is important. The principal and all of the staff are wonderful. The curriculum is great and the students achieve because they are not stressed. My son has excelled at this school. I would recommend this schools to anyone!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2013

My daughter has attended St. Gregory the Great for nearly two years. Her teacher along with the other teachers and administrators have always had her educational experience as their top priority. I have recommended this school to family and friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2013

After having significant problems at his previous school, my son has thrived at St. Gregory the Great School. The nurturing environment and the great teachers have just really allowed him to learn and grow in a way he never did before. He's proud to walk into the beautiful facility every morning, and we really could not be happier with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2013

Loving this school! My daughter and I transfered from a charter school last year. We love everything about this school. They challenge their studnets, they're organized, and great things are happening.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2013

My son is in the 4th grade and his second year at St. Gregory. After trying out public and charter schools,I was blessed to find St. Gregory and my son absolutely loves school now. The kids are well mannered, respectful, caring and considerate. The principal, teachers and staff treat all the kids as if they were their own, which makes for a loving and nurturing environment. St. Gregory makes learning fun, with some very creative techniques and ways to teach. The curriculum is also well planned and executed. My son looks forward to going to school on time everyday with a smile on his face and as a parent, you couldn't ask for more. .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2012

I went to St. Gregory's a while back. The staff are sweet people, for the most part. It is a small school, which is good in the sense that you never feel left out or like a stranger. However, with a small school, comes atrocious things as well. For EX, everyone seems to know your business, and it is not so much as the students that "gossip", but mostly the teachers/staff. There are many parents that complain about the same teachers. There is a male teacher in the jr. high department, that, well everyone has their own opinion on him.. but I don't have a great review on him. He does not have the correct job that fits his ways or rules. He rarely teaches his students, and is very sarcastic to his students, and sometimes parents. He tends to put his students down, instead of lifting them up; as a teacher it is your job to lift up your students, and it is okay to have an opinion, but you are NOT to share it with your student, especially in front of the whole class, in which he is famous for. There is another teacher in the lower school dept. that is very strict and very unwelcoming to his/her students. This teacher is very famous for the amount of HW/discipline he/she gives the kids.


Posted October 9, 2010

The first day of school my son loved it. He cant wait to go everyday and he feels like a big boy learning and doing all sorts of activities in his pre-k class. Principals and teachers are super sweet and thinking of transferring my daughter to this school next year for her 1st grade class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2008

Wonderful school, Teacher and Parents. My daughter loves to go to school everyday. The staff knows you and your childs name. The Principal is wonderful and caring. If your looking for a school that keeps you posted with your childs needs and treats your child like they're a part of a family then this is the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2008

Best West Side School! Wonderfully diversed school that truely cares for all their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

My child attended St. Gregory for 2 years when I decided to put her in Public School. Well needless to say she is back in St. Gregory. I love the fact that everyone knows each other by first names and safety is incredible. I wish they had a second language in the curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2007

Beautiful community, beautiful teachers. My son learns a lot in a very kindly environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2006

My child has attended St.Gregory since starting pre-K at the age of three. The school has provided my daughter w/ a safe and caring community where she has been able to continue developing both academically and socially. My only gripe is that they do not offer a 'gifted' program. I look forward to seeing my daughter complete her elementary school education at St. Gregory the Great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2006

Quality of academic programs Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities Level of parent involvement
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 49% 21%
Hispanic 39% 21%
White 7% 52%
Two or more races 4% N/A
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 2:50 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:45 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Donna Gabella
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Transportation options
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

138 W 90th St
New York, NY 10024
Phone: (212) 362-5410

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Trinity School
New York, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT