Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Agnes Boys High School

Private | 9-12 | 250 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $1,035,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,110.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 5, 2012

Great school if your are interested in academics and getting into a good college/university. Teachers are very attentive and responsive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2012

Great school the only problem I had with this school is the lack of after school programs but great teachers and a nice neighborhood aswell.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2011

Saint Agnes is one of the worst high schools in new york city, I hate even mentioning to my friends that i go here and most never even heard of it. It's a pretty run down school, with old lockers, bad bathrooms... its an old building because there is not enough in the budget to get anything. The teachers are horrible, can't teach, they just give you notes. I would like to start my high school year over if I could, I sometimes regret going here. The guidance counselor doesn't even help you for college, he is the most pessimistic guy on earth. There are no AP classes and not enough extra curricular activities. When the school does have a surplus in the budget, you know what they do with it.... we get pudding and strawberry milk for lunch..WEEEE!!! (psych). Don't ever apply to this school, you won't get anywhere in life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 2, 2010

St.Agnes has an excellent location accessible to many people coming from numerous places. The school itself is horrible. Bathrooms never have any necessary products, lockers are in bad conditions and the school needs major renovations. On the topic of teachers, there are some that are there to actually help you but many are there just to say they have a job. The teachers dont teach you and help you based on the child but on who the student accompanies himself with. Also, there is a big split in the way students in the honors classes are treated opposed to the regular classes. For example this previous year, ONLY honors students were given information and the opportunity to participate in internships. If i had a chance to do my high school years over in another school I definitely would.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 23, 2010

For a private catholic school in NYC, this is definitely a great school for kids especially with the teacher:student ratio. The attention to ensuring students are prepared for College is definitely a critical piece with this school. A good solid education with a great staff and the extracurricular activities are excellent. Students usually graduate in the 95% range and enter some of the elite universities in the country.


Posted November 12, 2008

This school is great. I have to say only great things both my kids attended the school and they are the better for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

This is a great school filled with people who know and care about my son. I appreciate the praise when he's doing the right thing and the admonishmets when he's off track. And now that we've entered the college search I appreciate them all the more. My son and I are going to miss STAGHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2008

As far as my son is concerned, I consider St. Agnes an excellent school. It is like a community where everybody knows your name. The staff especially the teachers are very dedicated and they interact well with the students. My son developed to become a very responsible, respectful, talented and bright young man. He's a Senior now, and I'm sure he has a very successful future ahead of him. Thanks to St. Agnes for all your help. My son has a great love for the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2008

This School really helped my son in all ways possible. The teachers and student body was great. I'm proud to say that my son going to a great college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2007

The location of the school seems to be the best quality. The school has little to no activities and the principal does not support new ideas. Discipline seems to be somewhat alright although some classes cannot be contained by the teachers. I'd only recommend attending this school if it were your last resort.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2006

St Agnes is a good solid high school. The teachers get to know each student personally so your son won't get lost in the crowd. They have a good college advisor system and excellent guidance counsellors. Since the school is small there is less course choice and fewer activities. The staff seems very dedicated and enthusiastic overall. A good choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2006

St. Agnes is a solid school with a solid new principal, Brother Richard. It's one of the more less seriously minded modern catholic schools, which I think works with our family's atmosphere. My son tells me that the athletic facilities aren't the greatest, but it is New York, and my son is cheifly into acting,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2005

saint agnes is a safe, nurturing school with a kind and outstanding faculty. the boys learn to be good students and to have respect for everyone. more parents need to get involved though to help this school reach its full potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2004

St.Agnes is a terrible school. Do not send your child their. There is nothing good about that school.No paper towels or soap in the bathrooms,horrible sports equipment,and no labs. Most of the teachers there are horrible at their job and and take out grudges on students. The only place in the school that appears nice is the principles office. The rooms are incredibly small and there is no air conditioning.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 23, 2004

St. Agnes is a very small school with smaller class sizes than most schools. Everybody pretty much knows each other because of its size and as a result teachers play a bigger role. Students can see their guidance counselor everyday if they really wanted to. At other schools, students see their counselor once or twice in a school year. That's an example of the excellent student-teacher interaction that the students recieve . Agnes alumni always come back for regular visits and also attend graduation. Agnes teachers try to help the students as much possible, it can be to meet after school to edit a college essay, or to clarify a difficult concept in math. Some teachers even help students that they dont even teach. Overall, St Agnes is a great school, with many things that you don't see at other schools.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 28, 2003

I graduated from this school resently. I would say this school is great overall. The teachers are wonderful and very helpful. It was a great four years of high school. If your looking for a big school with a college type atmosphere then this would be a bad choice but if your after something small where everone knows each other then its perfect.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 61% 21%
Black 21% 21%
White 10% 52%
Asian 8% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Robert Conte
Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (212) 873-9292

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

555 West End Avenue
New York, NY 10024
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 873-9100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Smith School (The)
New York, NY


The Calhoun School
New York, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT