Advertisement
Advertisement

Notre Dame School

Private | 9-12 | 310 students

We are best known for our warm, nurturing environment.

 

Living in New York

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $911,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,110.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 24, 2013

Daughter attends school. She is taking advanced mathematics and science courses. More importantly she is learning to be an ethical and caring woman. Good college preparation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2013

Notre Dame , is a very excellent school in my opinion , but i will say the girls are very mean and hurtful. Right now i am a current Sophmore about to transfer. i loved it freshman year , but now i hate it . The girls are mean , all about themselves and they will make it be known. Now , if your daughter isn't the type to socialize then don't send her here because it's not the place for her girls will chit chat about her being weird and all that bad stuff. In my opinion , send your child to Cathedral High School . Much better than Notre Dame they want you to believe that it's an " our home " situation . NO it's about trying to stay in the crowd not get picked on and understand where you fit in . It's almost like a caste system , when you go into Notre Dame you got to know where you fit in.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2012

this school is amazing and I love the teachers and staff. You could not ask for a better school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 3, 2012

This school is horrible. Send your child to St. Vincent Ferrer if you want them to be prepared for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2011

I absolutely loved this school! I graduated this past June and I can honestly say my experience was beyond amazing. The small school community allows for a very family like environment. The teachers love what they do and care for every single student. They honestly go above and beyond to ensure that the students succeed in their classes. They know every student by name and make you feel like you're more then just a student. They want you to learn. There are lots of after school activities to participate in. I was personally member of the Spirit Squad for four years, the running club, and the student actor training institute. The councelling department was incredibly helpful and got to know each student on a personal level. I highly recommend this school to all girls. Our school's motto is "chez nous", meaning "our home" in French. Despite the fact that I've graduated, I know this will always be my home and I will always have my Chez Nous Sisters.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2011

I graduated in 2009. Notre Dame is like a family. The friends I made at this school are like my sisters and the teachers are all unforgettable. My favorites ones are a handful not just one or two. I agree on the afterschool activities but with a school so small as Notre Dame and with high dependence on personal funding, meeting the needs of all the student for clubs, organizations and activities are difficult. I was not a great student from I entered Notre Dame. I came from a public school background and hated my first year there. I soon realized that i disliked my first year because I did not put my best foot foward. Once I tried and gave it my all I excelled and beat my own expectations. Now in College I am in teh honors program and thank it all to Notre Dame for showing me how to improve my work ethic and my abilities to achieve anything I set my mind to. If you daughter is a hard worker, who is willing to push her in order to be a successful student, she will do great and have a strong support system from the staff at Notre Dame.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2010

My daughter's and my experience at ND was beyond horiffic. The staff was very impersonal and ill equipped from the principal, vice principal, guadiance and teachers. She would constantly tell me the school was not organized and it was nothing like the open house dog and pony show, we were duped. She has since tranferred, her whole demeanor has changed she absolutly loves her new school and friends. She has joined a few of the school afterschool activites, something that ND could never seemed to to be very organized with as she was a member of one activity she complained about it's lack of organization. Good luck as this is a very important decision for both you and your daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2009

Notre Dame is a great school. I graduated in 2006 and I am now a senior in an Ivy League institution. I don't think that I would have ever achieved all that I have achieved if it weren't for ND. The teachers are excellent and the Counseling staff is top notch. I hear from my peers about how they had to figure out the college application process on their own and I am stunned. ND guidance counselors ENSURE that ALL students apply and are accepted into four-year universities and colleges. I will say that while I was there, I did not appreciate the wonderful opportunities and people at ND, but I am so glad to have formed and to still form a part of the Chez Nous (ND's motto) family.


Posted March 14, 2009

some people think notre dame is bad thats only beacause they are not good student
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

Notre Dame is not a very good school. It isn't pretty and i am afraid i will not be getting into a good college as i am a sophomore right now. Also, there are only four sports that actually compete with other schools. There are many private schools in Manhattan that your daughter can go to that are both prettier and better academically. For example- Sacred Heart, Hightingale Bamford, Chapin, Marymount, Brearly, Loyola, Dalton. Do not send your daughter here if you want her to have nice friends with social lives that are pretty and get invited to parties.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 18, 2008

School is not as great as some people believe it to be. Im a student and it's not great, there are no activities, school is too small, the lunch is horrible, and the school does not care about its students. The principal cannot relate to her students or cares about them. If you are planning to attend Notre Dame do your self a favorand take your 7000 dollars and go somewhere else you will be way better off.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 30, 2008

I will be a sophomore at Notre Dame in September and my freshman year experience was fun and gratifying. I'll admit the school was quite unorganized this year, and as I've come to realize, is still developing and growing.The extra-curriculars were unorganized as well, but I feel as they will develop in time. There is also a new principal who arrived this year [Ms Ryan].Some of the teachers are relatable; others are less than so. As for the academics I feel as if the school prepares a student very well. The school wants the students to feel as if the school day ends at 4:00 so be prepared to stay after school a lot.Academics are challenging [math especially] but if one truly studies and stays after school, one will achieve excellence. Many of my friends have gotten several hundreds on their report cards, and achievements do NOT go unnoticed.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 28, 2008

I am currently a senior at Notre Dame. My biggest complaint about ND is that it is not challenging. A student does not have to work hard to recieve honors or be inducted to the National Honor Society. The teachers range from excellent to very poor. In addition to this there are only three AP courses offered. There is almost no school spirit or extracurricular activities. Everything about this school is mediocre. Dont waste $7000 a year. From what Ive heard, charter schools are 10x better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2006

I will start in September as a senior. Most teachers are just what a student needs to understand the material. I thought that Notre Dame was well off academically but the school fails to compare to that of Xavior. It is not that they are smarter than we are. Many feel that we were not as prepared. There are hardly any extracurricular activities and if there are, the clubs hardly ever meet. Last year, no one knew when any clubs were going on. Student council meetings were random and rare and nothing was accomplished. The school does not meet the students' needs. The tuition is very high. The senior book fee alone ranges from $800-$1000. I fear for the graduation fee.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 18, 2006

My daughter is about to start her second year at Notre Dame; she had an extremely positive experience, both academically and socially, during her freshman year. My daughter had been accepted to Dominican, Sacred Heart and Loyola as well as to Stuyvesant. After much deliberation, we chose Notre Dame because of its fine academic credentials; the excellence, enthusiasm and involvement of its teaching and administrative staffs; the diversity of its students and its truly nurturing environment. In my opinion, and certainly my daughter's, we made the right decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2006

Notre Dame is a very good academic school but it lacks the personal touch. The staff are cold and unfeeling and are ill prepared to deal with a child that has problems. My experience with this school was not a good one. My daughter got depressed in her freshman year and they were very unsympathetic. She was a scholraship child and all they kept telling me was that she was risking loosing her scholarship. I was more concerned that she did not loose her life. She had to be home instructed and Notre Dame refused to cooperate with the Board of Education and would not give her home instruction teacher the ciriculum so that she could keep up. So needless to say She no longer goes to Notre Dame. She is now a student at Robert Louis Stevenson and doing excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2005

Great school for girls. The only issue with Notre Dame is that the school is always moving all over Manhattan. One thing remains constant though. That is the quality of educators, the quality of students and the small class sizes.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 20, 2004

Notre Dame does give their students the opportunity to excel in what they're best at and additionally brings out their outgoing personality, whether they seem to have it initially or not. This is due to the small population and the closeness of the students and faculty, hence their motto 'Chez Nous,' or 'our home.' Every faculty member makes an exceptional effort to get to know each student as well as possible and I've seen many strong relationships develop. I have to say that I have yet to see a more devoted principal. The teachers, though concerned about the welfare of the students (many employed for over 10 years), range from OK to excellent. The math department is not strong at all however the global history teacher is more effective on her students than any I've experienced. Overall, ND has so far been a very good experience though it could always be better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 19, 2003

Excellent teachers and a great, caring environment.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 47% 21%
White 24% 52%
Black 13% 21%
Two or more races 10% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 5% N/A
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 6%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2012)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Columbia University
Amherst College
University of Pennsylvania
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Step team
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: French Club

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Step team

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Jackie Brilliant
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • All girls
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (212) 620-0432

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Core knowledge
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
  • The Pearl Theatre Classics in the Classroom Program
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball
  • running club

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: French Club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Step team
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
More from this school
  • Notre Dame is a hidden gem in NYC's Greenwich Village. With affordable tuition, and superb college placement, the school attracts a wonderfully diverse group of motivated students.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


4 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
200
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
503

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$9000 - $10000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Columbia University
Amherst College
University of Pennsylvania
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

327 W 13th St
New York, NY 10014
Website: Click here
Phone: (212) 620-5575

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


NYC Museum School
New York, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT